We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very inviting place to stay”
Review of Oak House No1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oak House No1
Ranked #4 of 15 Tetbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We made a last minute booking a night away in Tetbury and were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful place that Oakhouse is. Gary and Nicola make you feel very welcome and it's easy to unwind in the house, which is adorned with a wonderful selection of antiques and superb works of art in all areas of the house. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfy with a nice clean bathroom ensuite.
The breakfast was too die for and all of it was very much to our liking, the full English was very good and as I'm a breakfast fan that was good.
All in all a faultless stay and we will come back again for sure.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

After visiting Oak House in Tetbury for a few days in March, we took the opportunity to return in May. Could it really be as good as we remembered? It was better! We were welcomed back by hosts Nicola and Gary like old friends, we couldn't have asked for a kinder welcome. The house is unbelievable - fabulous decor, amazing antiques and artwork, beautiful spotlessly clean rooms so tastefully decorated and wonderful warm hosts who can't do enough for you. We had a wonderful high tea in the blue library whilst leafing through the amazing collection of books. There was complimentary whisky or brandy and chocolates for the evening and the best cooked breakfast the next morning you will ever taste. Nicola had remembered our favourite tea and made sure there was a good supply in our room and in the kitchen. A wonderful trip. Tetbury is a lovely place to visit and well situated to explore further afield and the only place to stay in Tetbury is Oak House No 1.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fay1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Fantastic house, with all the rooms so well decorated and the service so well presented. Nothing chain-y about this place at all.
Like all the other reviews have said, the hosts were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast not only tased good, but looked like a magazine shoot too. The one aspect I was worried about - there not being a shower in our room, the Garden room, was unfounded. It worked as well as I could have wanted. So, all in all, a very real 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms were great, even the more "budget" Garden room. The other rooms though, have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davelovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Good lady wife said she would like to be in Tetbury for her birthday... Not difficult really.

I eyed up the obvious nearby country house hotels but thought better of predictable costly capture and sought a hidden gem which is often what we prefer.

Bingo - Oak House delivered the goods and all other Trip reviews are justified.. Both of us loved it.

Art lovers heaven which is what Tetbury tries to offer - Oak House however delivers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillbilly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have just come back from a weekend at Oak House No1. It is one of the most amazing bnbs/hotels we have ever stayed in. Lovely hosts, the most beautiful house with stylish and quirky rooms, delicious home-baked tea time treats and a yummy big breakfast in the morning. Thanks so much to Gary and Nicola for their great hospitality - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This bed & breakfast is very special, but let me get the usual review essentials over with first:
* Location – perfect! It is located in the middle of a beautiful town with nice restaurants and unique shops. There is parking right by the house.
* Décor – Stunning and one of a kind. For those that enjoy arts and interior design, this is simply heavenly! Every suite and every room decorated in its own theme; everywhere you look there were details to feast your eyes on.
* Facilities – everything you need is here. The bed is comfortable, showers are great, TV has sky, free Wifi throughout the house. Being an OCD, this place is lovely and spotlessly clean!
* Service – exceptional! The owner Gary and Nicola are pure delight, they are friendly, warm and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
* Breakfast – Apart from the stunning dining room, the breakfast is simply scrumptious. All food cooked beautifully with eggs cooked to your specs to perfection!

In detail:

We felt so lucky to have found this gem. There are two things that made No. 1 Oak House extraordinary: (1) the interior design; (2) the owners Gary and Nicola.

The interior design:

We stayed at the Prince’s suite. The room was spacious, airy and light. The four poster bed was large and very comfortable with lovely bed linens. There are lovely armchairs, a desk with homemade cookies presented beautifully on, kettle, lovely teapots and china. The bathroom is light and spacious. The shower is powerful. This room has a lovely country feel to it.

If you look at the photos from the website, I am sure you can see the striking “Blue” sitting room. The room is beautiful with velvet chairs and a perfect setting for gold gilt frames around the room presenting beautiful arts.

The dining room was our favourite! Along with the grand chandelier dangling in the middle of the room on top of the dining table, there are famous Mark Brazier Jones ‘Atlantis’ and ‘San demas’ chairs dotted around, and Andy Warhol prints on the wall! Although the room is full of iconic design pieces and brilliant art works, they harmonise so well together, we always find something new in the room to admire.

The Owners:

Gary and Nicola were just perfect. They made us feel very welcomed right from the start; they greeted us by our names before we even walked through the front door! They gave us recommendations for lovely restaurants (tried and tested) and a recommended route to see the surrounding picturesque towns. Apart from being a really handsome family, they are really interesting and charming people and we were really lucky to get to spend some time with them, who shared some wonderful and amazing stories with us!

For those that adore dogs, you would absolutely fall in love with Woody the Dachshund! He was so friendly and charming and full of character. As I have a couple of dachshunds myself, this makes the place feel just like home! For those that are not used to dogs, Nicola and Gary are very great, and they would ensure that Woody stays away 

Out of all the reviews I have written, No.1 Oak House is the only one that I ever worried that I may not do it justice! This is a house that I would come to stay just for how lovely the interior is and how amazing Gary and Nicola are. My fiancé and I have already put this on our yearly visit list.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazehail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at Oak House No1 for three days in March. From the moment we arrived, we were bowled over with the house and our hosts. A wonderful warm welcome and an amazing house with beautiful and quirky rooms and furnishings. After 10 minutes, we felt we had known Gary and Nicola for years. They were fantastic hosts, nothing too much trouble and our stay was over far too quickly. To describe it as simply a B&B is wrong, the three days was a wonderful experience and we felt as if we were staying with friends. The best home away from home you could wish for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fay1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tetbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
443 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cat and Custard Pot Inn
Cat and Custard Pot Inn
#3 of 15 in Tetbury
33 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Glasshouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
777 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 7 in Tetbury
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak House No1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House No1

Address: Oak House NO1 The Chipping, Tetbury GL8 8EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tetbury
Price Range: £392 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oak House No1 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak House No.1 is a stunning Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Tetbury and is just moments walk from many designer boutiques and Prince Charles' famous Highgrove shop.Oak House No.1 has been visited by rock stars and royalty and you will be welcomed like a favourite house guest here not simply a customer.A super fine art collection including original Andy Warhol and Grayson Perry pieces ,sit amongst treasured antiques and classic contemporary furniture.New designer bathrooms with TV's, Molton Brown toiletries ,soft robes all await. Stay,relax and enjoy.Afternoon tea can be taken in the sitting room or in the summer in our private walled garden,Nicolas scones and cakes are second to none ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oak House No1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak House No1 Hotel Tetbury
Oak House No1 Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing