We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you want a B&B...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak House No1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak House No1
Ranked #3 of 14 Tetbury B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great if you want a B&B...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

...but not if you prefer hotels, which we do.

The room was beautiful, as was the bathroom but we agreed afterwards that we're just not sure we like bed and breakfast accommodation generally: being in someone's house just isn't our thing and this is, obviously, like being in someone else's (perfectly nice, if not a bit overdone on the decorating front) house.

Things we liked: huge comfortable bed, swanky bathroom, central location, friendly people (not that we go to hotels to make friends, generally we're visiting friends)

Things we didn't: being asked to take our shoes off; being told we had to be in by midnight. We're adults, at £225 a night - which is a hotel, not a b&b rate - surely you can lend us a key?

Perfectly nice but not for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarratt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked Oak House, No1, as a 10 year anniversary treat and it did not disappoint. The owners Gary and Nicky were very friendly and Nicky recommended some fabulous restaurants and great places to visit. The house is very comfortable and has a very eclectic design. We stayed in the Garden room, which was very tastefully decorated and had everything you could wish for including home-baked biscuits! The bed was very comfortable and the pillows and linen very soft. The bathroom was immaculately clean and looked as though it had just been installed ! If I had to make a comment it would be that the TV, which was a bit old, was placed where it made it difficult to watch, if you were lying in bed. There is a large breakfast menu and everything is delicious from a full English breakfast to fresh fruit salad and homemade muesli. Nicky also provides a lovely afternoon tea, with a variety of delicious home-baked cakes and if you are lucky to stay there on a lovely sunny day, it's nice to have tea in the garden. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Nicky, she was always happy and smiling. However, probably the best part for me was Woody, the resident dog - an adorable wire haired large dachshund that constantly wagged his tail and was full of character - I seriously wanted to take hime home ! I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Oh, lastly if you're looking for somewhere casual to eat, I can highly recommend "The Trouble House' it doesn't look much from the outside but the food is fantastic !

Room Tip: Personally I don't like four-poster beds that's why I chose the Garden room, I also liked th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskiaSarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Staying here was the highlight of my trip around England! The decor and the house itself is just amazing and so quirky and fun! So nice to find a home away from home! The hospitality was amazing, the rooms were huge and completely luxurious. Had such a fantastic time here, cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephmcnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We made a last minute booking a night away in Tetbury and were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful place that Oakhouse is. Gary and Nicola make you feel very welcome and it's easy to unwind in the house, which is adorned with a wonderful selection of antiques and superb works of art in all areas of the house. Our bedroom was very spacious and comfy with a nice clean bathroom ensuite.
The breakfast was too die for and all of it was very much to our liking, the full English was very good and as I'm a breakfast fan that was good.
All in all a faultless stay and we will come back again for sure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

After visiting Oak House in Tetbury for a few days in March, we took the opportunity to return in May. Could it really be as good as we remembered? It was better! We were welcomed back by hosts Nicola and Gary like old friends, we couldn't have asked for a kinder welcome. The house is unbelievable - fabulous decor, amazing antiques and artwork, beautiful spotlessly clean rooms so tastefully decorated and wonderful warm hosts who can't do enough for you. We had a wonderful high tea in the blue library whilst leafing through the amazing collection of books. There was complimentary whisky or brandy and chocolates for the evening and the best cooked breakfast the next morning you will ever taste. Nicola had remembered our favourite tea and made sure there was a good supply in our room and in the kitchen. A wonderful trip. Tetbury is a lovely place to visit and well situated to explore further afield and the only place to stay in Tetbury is Oak House No 1.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fay1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Fantastic house, with all the rooms so well decorated and the service so well presented. Nothing chain-y about this place at all.
Like all the other reviews have said, the hosts were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast not only tased good, but looked like a magazine shoot too. The one aspect I was worried about - there not being a shower in our room, the Garden room, was unfounded. It worked as well as I could have wanted. So, all in all, a very real 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms were great, even the more "budget" Garden room. The other rooms though, have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davelovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Good lady wife said she would like to be in Tetbury for her birthday... Not difficult really.

I eyed up the obvious nearby country house hotels but thought better of predictable costly capture and sought a hidden gem which is often what we prefer.

Bingo - Oak House delivered the goods and all other Trip reviews are justified.. Both of us loved it.

Art lovers heaven which is what Tetbury tries to offer - Oak House however delivers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillbilly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.4 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak House No1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House No1

Property: Oak House No1
Address: Oak House NO1 The Chipping, Tetbury GL8 8EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Oak House No1 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak House No.1 is a stunning Georgian Townhouse in the heart of Tetbury and is just moments walk from many designer boutiques and Prince Charles' famous Highgrove shop.Oak House No.1 has been visited by rock stars and royalty and you will be welcomed like a favourite house guest here not simply a customer.A super fine art collection including original Andy Warhol and Grayson Perry pieces ,sit amongst treasured antiques and classic contemporary furniture.New designer bathrooms with TV's, Molton Brown toiletries ,soft robes all await. Stay,relax and enjoy.Afternoon tea can be taken in the sitting room or in the summer in our private walled garden,Nicolas scones and cakes are second to none ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oak House No1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak House No1 Hotel Tetbury
Oak House No1 Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing