We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Using the 2 conjoining "barns" was ideal for our...”
This is Doughton Barns, for 17, and can be all yours for the week or  weekend, in our quiet hamlet.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is Doughton Barns, for 17, and can be all yours for the week or  weekend, in our quiet hamlet.
Dining area and fully equipped  kitchen,range cooker, marble worktop.Under floor heating throughout. `Wow`!, a common reaction to the huge but cosy living area at the centre of Doughton Barn. .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This is Doughton Barns, for 17, and can be all yours for the week or  weekend, in our quiet hamlet.
Dining area and fully equipped  kitchen,range cooker, marble worktop.Under floor heating throughout.
`Wow`!, a common reaction to the huge but cosy living area at the centre of Doughton Barn. .
West end of Doughton Barn; southern garden with original well (safety grill);chairs/table on patio
East end of Doughton Barn at sunrise .
The oak table laid for your atmospheric dinner.It can extend to seat 20 comfortably.
Doughton Manor  [front page Country Life, May 2012]  beyond the barns private drive and parking area
Light,spacious with cosy log fire; great location for your large group or extended family gathering.
The loggia groundfloor  twin bedroom,very spacious,ideal for wheelchair access.
The loggia twin has a large ensuite wetroom,  wheelchair friendly.
The groundfloor `Blue room` with a kingsize double bed and window looking out to the south garden.
The `Blue room` with ensuite shower.Top quality fixtures, as in all bathroom/showers.
Spacious loggia family bedroom with 3 singles. Oil fired radiator heating in all 1st floor bedrooms.
The gallery k/size bedroom,full of character with original beams.It leads to the minstrel`s gallery.
The rolling Cotswolds. Enjoy walks from your front door across the surrounding farmland
The  eastern end offers a second  sitting/dining/kitchen room if you want some peace and quiet!
Light and spacious it leads out to the patio and south garden.Also a cosy log fire for winter nights
The `red` twin bedroom with gabled roof , overlooks the south garden.Large bathroom/shower next door
The `brown` twin, with  a special view of the Elizabethan Manor house.Bathroom/shower close by.
King size bedroom with quality ensuite bathroom/shower . Beautiful view overlooking the moat/garden
Loads of room in the king size ensuite
Groundfloor kingsize double with ensuite wetroom. Wheelchair access
St Mary`s steeple soars over Tetbury, a historic  market town. 1 mile drive or beautiful 1/2 hr walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Tetbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tina53OT
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Using the 2 conjoining "barns" was ideal for our large family weekend!”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a wonderful weekend in the Doughton Barns for my husbands 60th. We took up the caterer recommended by Sue & Robin and had a relaxing meal whilst the 4 kids slept upstairs on the Saturday night - perfect!
Beware not to take the 1st turning after the "Doughton" sign into a farm track - (2 of my sons did & one got his car stuck in the mud. Thankfully Robin brought round the tractor & got him out!)
We would heartily recommend this holiday venue for any large group - the communal space is large and airy - and if you have both sides you get 2 living/kitchen areas. (The smaller one was used by the parents to give early breakfast to their kids without disturbing the rest of us!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open living space with log fires
Liked least: Maybe needed 1-2 more containers to go in microwave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
yes I have now amended the warning about satnav! - directions are very clear now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EimLey
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, great location and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in Doughton Barns in mid-March to celebrate my mum's 50th birthday. There was a large group of us ranging from 4 months to 80 years. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The barns are comfortable, immaculately clean, spacious and homely. Sue and Rob were brilliant hosts- they were great with contact and also left us out a delicious cake. As there was a young baby, they were very kind and quick to offer us additional amenities such as a travel cot. The layout is ideal for a large group. The oldest member of our group is disabled with regards to his sight and mobility but the availability of down-stairs rooms with en-suites made his stay very comfortable. We booked in with Peter Vepers, a local chef, for a 3 course meal on the Saturday night which was also fantastic! We were very pleased with our stay and would most definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious layout and homeliness of the barns
Liked least: The upstairs room (over the living room) is not soundproof (however maybe this is saying something about our family rather than the room!!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIZZ C
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommend!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We chose Doughton Manor Barns through its excellent reviews for a big family gathering for my father's 80th and it totally lived up to expectations. Immaculately clean. Fantastic location and enough space for 18 of us to really enjoy the gathering. Thank you Sue. If you are thinking of booking you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic large dining room in The Pantiles
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldrob
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We had a fantastic time in a wonderful property. Our family party ages ranged from 1 year to 84 years and the property and surrounding farmland met all our needs. Sue and Rob were excellent hosts and Sue's cake on arrival was delicious and soon eaten. The family can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: A sharper meat carving knife would have been useful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
Thank you for reviewing our property. we will always take care to make your stay as good a time as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charliean...
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest, but excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

As a group of friends we have been having new year get togethers for over 20 years. For 2014/15, 15 of us occupied Doughton Barns and the accommodation is excellent and well thought out. Very good local walks scenery and although Doughton itself has no facilities, nearby Tetbury has everything one needs.

I would say that this is the best accommodation we have had for new year celebrations

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General condition of the property - not done on the cheap
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewarkMou...
newark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house for family gatherings”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Warm welcome when we arrived checking that we had everything we needed.Gorgeous cake which was very nice after our journey. We were a party of 18 from 0 to 70 years celebrating the 70th birthday The two houses were perfect for all the family so much room that you could always find a quiet room if needed. The dining area in Pantiles was so large we could all eat together.
Great location plenty of walks ,minutes from Tetbury ,Westonbirt Arboretum.
Only thing missing in laundry room was a tumble drier as we had small children with us would have been useful. The older children were disappointed with uneven level of pool table .
Would thoroughly recommend these cottages to anyone planning a celebration

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2014
Thank you for writing us a good review We are greatly encouraged. We will try to level up the snooker table but the full size table tennis table takes pride of place there!
We have found that clothes will dry overnight as the heating is good in those laundry rooms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa R
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday Rental”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

To celebrate my 90th birthday, my family, extended family and friends stayed a week at Doughton Barns. From the initial enquiry to the end of our holiday, the owners could not have been more helpful and the stay more of a success. The Barns easily accommodated 20 of us for a week and on the Sunday a party in the delightful gardens for 50 catered for magnificently by Peter Vepers, who we would highly recommended. The Barns are spacious, well designed, comfortable and very well equipped to make the stay extremely pleasant. The surrounding area offers a great deal for all ages to enjoy exploring. A wonderful and very memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No music system
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing