We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Very nice accommodation, very comfortable. Nice relaxing bar and lounge areas with good local beer and very pleasant gardens to enjoy it all in. Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    285
    112
    41
    30
See reviews for
153
586
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

we found the Hare and Hounds to be a fine base for visiting this wonderful part of England. We stayed in the main building and our room was of a high standing - comfortable and quiet. All in all a great choice on all counts, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmonangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
I am very pleased that you found the hotel peaceful and relaxing. As you say, this is a most beautiful part of England and we all enjoy working in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hare and Hounds in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We will be back! Had a lovely relaxing stay, dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the service we received was excellent from all the staff.
The room was beautiful, with great views of the gardens. Peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkwood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for your review. I will pass your kind comments on to our hard working team, and hope to welcome you back to the Hare and Hounds in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed for a one night break to celebrate my birthday ahead of the birth of our first child due in a couple of months.
The hotel is very clean and the grounds are very well maintained. We stayed in a lovely, well furnished room with a view of the grounds and a very old pear tree. The room was very quiet and the location very relaxing. Just what we were looking for!
The staff were pleasant and service in the bar (we ate there) was efficient and we would recommend the food.
All in all a lovely relaxing stay :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to relax and unwind. I hope all goes well for you when baby arrives. You must bring him/her to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Fantastic rooms with good food. Not the cheapest but good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMember06192012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank you very much for your review ( short and to the point) much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here with our dog following an engagement in the local vicinity. The hotel and grounds are simply beautiful and our room was very well appointed and comfortable. We were expecting something less salubrious for a 'dog friendly' room but thank god this hotel appreciates that dog owners like to live in some luxury and not in a hotel equivalent of a smelly dog basket. Dinner was wonderful, service excellent and more than worthy of the AA Rosettes the restaurant holds. Have raved about the hotel since returning home and will hopefully return again for pleasure with some friends later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigerfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review of your recent stay with us. We feel that some dogs are so much a part of their owners families, it is automatic to include them in travel plans.
I am very pleased that you found the hotel comfortable and that everything including the food, fulfilled your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Visited for coffee and biscuits for U3A Groups (x 26 on each occasion) from Hampshire, June 2010, June 2011 and July 2011 prior to tour of Highgrove. Pricey at £4.25 per head. It is in a lovely setting, nice garden, good coffee, delicious homemade bisccuits but the staff are something else. They certainly haven't attended charm school! They are rude, unwelcoming and we were made to feel it was an honour to be there!

Such a shame, the Manager handled all complaints both by telephone and e:mail very well only to be let down by her staff on all three occasions.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarmiteHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and your morning coffee and shortbread, however, I am equally sorry, and also surprised that you found there to be a shortfall in your expectations of my staff. I can say without hesitation that they are normally charming, helpful and professional, and this is confirmed by the feedback which I recieve on a daily basis. I apologise most sincerely that you had an unsatifactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
645 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
495 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing