We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel offers first class service and comfort in the most magnificent Cotswold countryside.
The staff are friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere is very welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKAdmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Your description of the Cotswolds as a destination is brief and beautiful and is sure to encourage people who have yet to discover its charms. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and service, I like to pass these reviews on to them as it is great for them to see that their hard work is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hare and Hounds we went to for some lunch, It was on Tuesday and was busy in the jack Hares Bar, We had a Drink and was sat in the lounge relaxing waiting for a table, 20 Mins later we went back to the bar and it was still full, we sat down and a lady asked us if we would like to eat here, It was very nice to be taken care of even tho the bar was full, The food was great, so was the service and we must say the Hotel was so clean we could not fault it at all, Many thanks and we will be seeing you again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royaloakcromhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for your recent review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. It doesn't have to be grand or complex to be pleasant, and the welcome is just as important as a good meal. It is good to hear that you would consider returning at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Sadly,the meals in the bar are no longer of the standard we have come to expect as regulars.Braised beef was a chopped up burger on mash swimming in brown water & utterly tasteless, some of the puddings are tiny & don't justify the inflated prices.
The service,although courteous,was very slow. Since receiving a glowing review in Cotswold Life,there is evidence of complacency as well as pretentiousness.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to read your comments and would be most grateful if you would consider contacting me. Our Chefs work very hard and would not knowingly allow a dish which was below standard to be served.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Hare and Hounds is more than a Hotel, it's a place to relax. The grounds are well kept and are excellent for a short stroll to take in the fresh air. Inside, there is sizeable reading room with an open fire where guests can relax in the peace and quiet that can be found there. The dining room is large with high ceilings and large windows overlooking the garden. The room we booked didn't have any view, so I asked if there was an alternative and a room was made available immediately. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only part of the stay that wasn't enjoyable was the evening meal. The food was over-complicated and took far too long to arrive. The waiting staff were rushing around doing little apart from spoiling what should have been a relaxing evening in a beautiful hotel. That apart, I would recommend the place and I would go back there again, but I'd definitely consider eating out in town or in the pub next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or for a room in one of the cottages in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hare and Hounds.
You have painted a very comfortable picture of the hotel which will certainly help people looking for somewhere peaceful to spend some time. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the style of food in the Restaurant , unfortunately we have to accept that we cannot please everyone, but our Chefs are dedicated and hard working, and always try to do just that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a lovely hotel, my husband and I joined my mum and sister, we had a double room, room 14, which was at the front of the hotel, and it was beautiful, lovely Molton Brown products in the bathroom having them in such large bottles makes it feel like a real luxury, (one thing I would have preferred would have been a mug rather than a small tea cup to make coffee). We ate a few times in the bar and were not disappointed, there is a very good wine list, the restaurant looked very good but we did not dine there as it was ony possible to have 2 courses or 3 and, none of us fancied that much to eat. The staff were fantastic and very hard working. The communal rooms are gorgeous and very relaxing we in particular loved the library. I personally was very disappointed with breakfast, my husband enjoyed the full english each morning and said it was great, I chose different things from the menu and was disappointed each time, scambled eggs made powdered eggs are just not nice and I think unacceptable, but this would not stop me from returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy_Reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay and for all your observations both good and bad.
I am very glad that on the whole you had a positive experience and have been fair in your reporting of it. Its such a shame that your experience of breakfast fell short of your expectations. By way of explanantion, we never use powdered egg; my thought is that it sounds as if it was overcooked and a bit dry and definitely not up to our excellent Breakfast chef's normal standard. Perhaps on your next visit you could bring it to our attention, and we will do our utmost to make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is such a beautiful hotel. Stayed here on a special deal in March, when we arrived at the hotel unfortunately the door to the room did not open so the receptionist offered us a free upgrade and this was no trouble whatsoever. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, they couldn't do enough for their guests. We ate on our first evening at the pub adjoining the hotel and the food was great. The room and our ensuite was clean and comfortable. There were Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom, and a kettle to make tea/coffee, and a flat screen tv in our room. The view from our room was simply breath-taking. Breakfast in the grand hall was fantastic, and the hotel grounds were beautiful. Tetbury is such a beautiful place to visit nearby, you are really in the heart of the Cotswolds and I would definitely recommend the hotel to stay at for a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Try booking directly through the hotel and check out their special deals via their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Very many thanks for your fair and honest review. I put a copy on the staff board which resulted in lots of smiling from the team. I am very pleased that we made you comfortable and it is good to know how much people enjoy the Cotswolds. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Hare & Hounds. We had the Gamekeepers Cottage- and I would recommend it to anyone looking to book some time out. It was immaculate, the food was fantastic and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

Hoping to return sooner rather than later!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adults2Children3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
430 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
858 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £96 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing