We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, average food & odd service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We continue to pop in for coffee and the occasional drink, but each time we've dined here we found the food to be disapointing, the menu reads well but never delivers..The service is quite odd, often sultry, almost all foreign with little care or attention to customers, comes across that they don't enjoy their job! Such a shame, as lovely location, very attractive building, lovely gardens, a superb wedding location. Our suggestion is to give it a try at least, and try to ignore the poor service..

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MR9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Than you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Hare and Hounds. I am very sorry to hear that you get the impression that our foreign staff are uncaring. I know them all quite well, they are all good people who try to do a good job every day. It seems that this is not coming over to everyone and needs addressing. Thank you for encouraging other travellers to'give it a try' , it does give us a chance to work on our customer skills and improve our service standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

just back from hare and hounds .3 night stay .we booked this due to its close proximity to high grove. the hotel is excellent with very friendly and efficient staff.we ate in the restaurant and the jack hare bar and both were very good although i would advise ordering extra side orders when in the restaurant as by even fine dining standards the portions were very small. had cooked full english breakfasts in the mornings which on every occasion contained 1/2 a mushroom. never plucked up courage to ask for a full one. joking apart would not hesitate to book again.room we had was outside no46 larch. comfortable and clean we had no problems but i think some people would as there was minimal noise from the hotels storage unit next door. being super critical there were several cigarette ends outside our door for the duration of our stay either from staff visiting storage place or previous guests.

Room Tip: ask to stay in main hotel or away from the storage unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbb1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you very much for all your observations. Yes, the hotel is in a great location for a visit to Highgrove and other lovely places like Westonbirt Arboretum and the city of Bath. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the dining room and apologise about the lack of mushrooms... an unusual issue which has now been addressed, so thank you for that. We look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Hare' in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We booked the stay through Secret Escapes and our accommodation was located in one of the Silkwood Court Rooms.
While we stayed at the Hare and Hounds we found all the staff most helpful and friendly.
We booked our anniversary evening meal at the restaurant at the Hare and Hounds. The food and service was second to none, a fine dining experience. The menu was varied and we enjoyed the food immensely.
We both thank you for helping to make this a most memorable anniversary.
The gardens were very well kept; it was such a shame the weather was not the best to be able to sit in the sunshine and enjoy them.
One minor suggestion would be to point out the short cut into the hotel from the Silkwood Court rooms, as it did rain quite often during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Chef and staff are all delighted that we were able to play a part in an enjoyable Anniversary stay for you. As you say, a shame that the weather was gloomy, but it seems you made the very best of your time with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel offers first class service and comfort in the most magnificent Cotswold countryside.
The staff are friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere is very welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKAdmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Your description of the Cotswolds as a destination is brief and beautiful and is sure to encourage people who have yet to discover its charms. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and service, I like to pass these reviews on to them as it is great for them to see that their hard work is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hare and Hounds we went to for some lunch, It was on Tuesday and was busy in the jack Hares Bar, We had a Drink and was sat in the lounge relaxing waiting for a table, 20 Mins later we went back to the bar and it was still full, we sat down and a lady asked us if we would like to eat here, It was very nice to be taken care of even tho the bar was full, The food was great, so was the service and we must say the Hotel was so clean we could not fault it at all, Many thanks and we will be seeing you again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royaloakcromhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for your recent review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. It doesn't have to be grand or complex to be pleasant, and the welcome is just as important as a good meal. It is good to hear that you would consider returning at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Sadly,the meals in the bar are no longer of the standard we have come to expect as regulars.Braised beef was a chopped up burger on mash swimming in brown water & utterly tasteless, some of the puddings are tiny & don't justify the inflated prices.
The service,although courteous,was very slow. Since receiving a glowing review in Cotswold Life,there is evidence of complacency as well as pretentiousness.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to read your comments and would be most grateful if you would consider contacting me. Our Chefs work very hard and would not knowingly allow a dish which was below standard to be served.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Hare and Hounds is more than a Hotel, it's a place to relax. The grounds are well kept and are excellent for a short stroll to take in the fresh air. Inside, there is sizeable reading room with an open fire where guests can relax in the peace and quiet that can be found there. The dining room is large with high ceilings and large windows overlooking the garden. The room we booked didn't have any view, so I asked if there was an alternative and a room was made available immediately. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only part of the stay that wasn't enjoyable was the evening meal. The food was over-complicated and took far too long to arrive. The waiting staff were rushing around doing little apart from spoiling what should have been a relaxing evening in a beautiful hotel. That apart, I would recommend the place and I would go back there again, but I'd definitely consider eating out in town or in the pub next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or for a room in one of the cottages in the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hare and Hounds.
You have painted a very comfortable picture of the hotel which will certainly help people looking for somewhere peaceful to spend some time. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the style of food in the Restaurant , unfortunately we have to accept that we cannot please everyone, but our Chefs are dedicated and hard working, and always try to do just that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
442 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
887 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 7 in Tetbury
684 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 7 in Tetbury
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £93 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing