We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub supper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pub supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

We were recommended by the owner of ourB &B. to try the pub side of the Hare and Houndswe found the service excellent and unobtrusive, the two lads working were quietly efficient.we had a very good meal with fast service,well cooked and tasty,would recommend .

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Jack Hare's Bar. The team work very hard, so it is good to know that we are striking the right note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    275
    108
    39
    28
See reviews for
144
566
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Fantastic night away. Hotel warm and friendly (lovely log fire) food excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for £118 - Sunday lunch (three courses with glass of wine) then bed and breakfast.Would go there again.

Room Tip: We were in the front of the main part of the hotel, although the road to Bath was outside it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
I am so pleased you have discovered Sublime Sunday. It is one of our unique offers which gives you a real 'get away from it all' feeling. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Set in an almost perfect rural spot close to the Westonbirt Arboretum, The Hare and Hounds never fails to impress with its warm friendly service, and a menu and wine list to satisfy everyone.
The gamekeepers Lodge offers that extra something, but for preference I have now stayed in room 14 on four occasions and never been disappointed. I just love this room !
This year we are booking our fourth successive annual company Christmas weekend at the hotel, and can honestly say that none of my 80 or so guests have ever had anything but compliments and appreciation of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for your recent review. You have given a very clear picture of the Hotel's ambience and offering which is sure to be very helpful to guests on the lookout for a welcoming country hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Excellent value, friendly staff and quality food. I enjoyed my stay, comfortable and relaxing. I shall be back.
I had an exellent meal in th ebar and breakfast was outstanding. The staff were brilliant, so friendly I was moved to fill out a card and say so.
Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Fotofart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in early January. I have passed your 'wow' on to the staff who definitely deserve the praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

From when we first arrived, we were greeted with a warm efficient welcome, and shown to our beatiful room. It overlooked the gardens at the rear and had a wonderful huge bed! The ensuite was immaculate with a massive bath and the water was always boiling and loads of it! The surrounding areas were also really picturesque and there were places to see no matter what the time of year, as we only came back today (Saturday between Christmas and New Year). The gardens had lovely seating areas and a lovely gazebo. The breakfast was perfectly cooked and plenty of choice; nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were all polite and helpful.
We would definately recommend this hotel to our friends and family and definately would go back for another stay, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: it really only depends on how much you want to spend. friends that we went with had a suite, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_jones29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
I am very pleased that we were able to contribute to the sucess of of your Birthday weekend away. It is great to be able to look back on these special times with pleasure, so I hope we will get the opportunity to repeat the experience at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for work meeting, I was in one of the front rooms overlooking the entrance, a nice room although a little cold and noisey in the morning due to the traffic. Room was clean tidy and I keeping with the building, bathroom was nice and Morton brown toiletries is a nice touch. We had our Christmas dinner here which was very nice and the service was great, overall the staff here are very polite welcoming and friendly. I liked the room with the book wallpaper but all the public rooms where beautiful. The only thing I would say is that the breakfast was overpriced in my opinion for what you get even though its freshly cooked.

I would stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank alain2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is really good to know that you would recommend our hotel to friends.
I am sorry that you feel our Breakfast does not represent good value for money. We try to emphasise that our offering includes a comprehensive choice from the buffet, plus a full cooked Breakfast and as much tea, coffee and toast as you would like, but perhaps we need to make this clearer. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth. UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Once again another first rate stay at this superb hotel.
To be recognised by the staff is always welcoming.
The atmosphere was warm and the Christmas spirit was there in plenty.
The hotel's proximity to Highgrove makes any visit easy and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road side are quieter, views overlooking the garden even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKAdmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for your December review.
It is just as nice for us to recognize returning guests. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
3.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing