We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have just returned from spending a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend in this lovely hotel.
I can not praise the staff enough, the standard of service was spot on in every department. The fact that our room was upgraded to a suite made our stay even better; we felt very spoilt!
The main hotel is an old building with plenty of character and real log fires. We stayed in the newer building which is set in the grounds and beautifully decorated.
We enjoyed a particularly fine dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night and I can not recommend the fillet steak enough; thank you chef.
Breakfast was also very good although it would be nicer if it was served later than 10.00am at the weekend but that is a minor quibble from a non morning person!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandDave3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for recognizing our staff in your review, they are our greatest asset and all nice people as well. Chef is very pleased that you enjoyed dinner in the Beaufort Restaurant, his team put a lot of hard work and care into their food so it really helps morale when guests are good enough to let us know when they have great experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    289
    114
    42
    30
See reviews for
158
597
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel, from chequing in to departure is a very enjoyable experience. Beautifully furnished rooms are either in the main hotel or in separate lodges, very close by. There is a fine dining restaurant, or you can eat in the Bar. There a two local keg beers and a good range of ciders and bottled beer. There is an extensive wine list and prices are very reasonable. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable.
The hotel is on the main Bath road and there is a little noise of course but nothing to disturbe sleep
We only stayed for one night but overall a most enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The lodges further from the main road would be worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your balanced review. I am very pleased that you decided to try the Hare and Hounds and that we did not disappoint. Lots of useful information for other travellers, so your feedback is very much appreciated. I hope you will find an opportunity to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay here as a romantic valentines getaway.

My husband had stayed here and had dinner previously with his work. He remembered how nice it was and suggested we try this as a nice treat for valentines day.

When we arrived straight away we received a warm welcome from reception and they could not do enough for us to make sure we were comfortable. We stayed in the Magnolia suite which was away from the main hotel building and in the gardens. It was absolutely stunning and had a hallway a bedroom which opened through seperate doors a large bathroom with large freestanding bath tub and a 2 person shower and lots of lovely Molton Brown goodies. It also had a spacious living room with a tv and coffee making facilities. It also had another tv in the bedroom which had a very large and comfortable superking bed. I can also imagine it being very nice in the summer as it has French doors from the living area into an outdoor area.

We were very comfortable in our room and the hotel had provided everything possible to make our stay nice.

When we arrived we were running a bit late due to traffic as we came from Reading. When we informed the lady at reception we would struggle to make our 8 o clock dinner booking she was so accommodating and said we could change the time or she could mention it to the staff in the restaraunt that we would be a bit late. This then gave us some extra time to get ready.

When we arrived for dinner we were greeted by the most attentative and polite restaurant staff I have had the pleasure to deal with. We were offered pre dinner drinks and the wine list to select prior to our dinner. We were also shown a copy of the valentines his and her menu and it was explained we could swap things if necessary. We were then offered some lovely olives whilst we relaxed and waited to be seated.

Once seated we were directed to one of best seats in the whole restaraunt in a private corner by candle light. The whole restaraunt had been laid out well and we felt very comfortable excited about our 6 course menu. We had an amouse bouche followed by a further 6 delicious courses. My only gripe on the whole meal was the Pinot Noir that I had selected was very cold which I didn't expect for such a nice restaraunt and this did effect the taste of the wine. The staff were of course apologetic and offered to put it in the warm kitchen for a bit until it was a better drinking temperature. The cheese on the cheese and biscuit course was also far too cold to the point it hurt my sensitive teeth. They had obviously pre arranged the cheese plates which the biscuits, chutney and butter etc and put them all in the fridge but the cheese we over cold and hard which shouldn't be the case for really nice cheese. It would have been a lot more delicious if it had been slightly less cold but these 2 points were minor in the overall experience and everything else about the meal and experience were perfect.

At breakfast we were again pleased with the food and they had a great selection of delicious local produce.

When we went to check out we were also given plenty of useful advice about the local and surrounding areas as we live quite far away and wanted to find things to do.

The staff were so friendly and attentive and I can hand on heart say that out of all the hotels I have stayed in (including some very well known supposedly upmarket hotels) the staff were the best unanimously that I have ever come across. There were no bad eggs and every single person that works for Hare and Hounds goes out of there way to make the customer experience perfect. They are a real credit to the owners and the experience will stick in my mind.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and cannot wait for my next trip to the Hare and Hounds in Tetbury.

Thanks to all the staff for a perfect Valentines getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahHipgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Your review will be so helpful for travellers looking for a great Cotswold location for a quick break or to celebrate a special occasion. We are all delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and hope that you will find time to return to see this lovely area in a different seasonal dress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The hotel catered for my daughters wedding with about 100 guests , most booked in at the hotel for two nights. We could not have asked for more before and during our stay. The hotel was warm and welcoming with log fire on a wet cold weekend. The food excellent and the staff very friendly , efficient and helpful. The wedding function was organised like clockwork with no fuss and the guests enjoyed the complete experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acoustico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write following a family Wedding here at the Hare and Hounds. It is usually a bit of a whirlwind for everyone involved, so I really appreciate your review. Weddings are always such happy occasions and our staff quietly enjoy the proceedings along with the guests. Thank you for choosing the Cotswolds and our hotel for your special family occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We came across this hotel by chance, and how lucky were we? It exudes comfort and charm, our room was cosy and spacious and definitely warm enough despite the original windows which were a little draughty. We were at the front of the hotel and there was a bit of road noise, but nothing bad enough to disturb our sleep, as the traffic diminished in the evening. The full sized Molton Brown toiletries were a real treat. The staff couln't have been friendlier, particularly the lovely lady in charge of breakfast. Although 'only' 4 star, the breakfast was miles better than many 5 stars we have tried, with homemade bread and preserves, and even a home mixed winter cereal. Evening meal in Jack Hares bar was lovely and reasonably priced, and it was a treat having this facility on the premises, not having to venture out in the cold. There was a choice of seating areas back in the hotel in which to relax with a drink. The lounge area, the drawing room and library all had their own character. Didn't have much chance to explore the grounds due to the weather, but what we saw was lovely. Nice location between Westonbirt Arboretum and Highgrove House (which you can't see from the road). Would definitely stay again and spend more time exploring the area.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pacajose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
So glad you have found us. Our staff are very committed to giving great service so I am really pleased to hear that they continue to deliver that to our guests. The team in Jack Hares bar work hard to please a wide variety of tastes and requirements, so I will make sure they get a copy of your review. Thank you for your tour in words of our hotel, it will be very useful to other travellers looking for a good location for exploring the beautiful Cotswolds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is amazing!we loved everything about it,the room was perfect,large, lovely view,such a comfortable bed,beautiful gardens to walk around,gorgeous lounge to relax.Best of all was our dinner...it was fantastic..please just book this hotel and enjoy..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for your review . I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel so much and thank you for being so encouraging, I am sure that travellers looking for a lovely country retreat will find your comments very helpful. We all hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We love the Hare & Hounds as it's one of our favourite places to come for something to eat and this time we were once again delighted. The atmosphere in Jack's Bar is always warm and friendly and cosy, but still light and with plenty of space. I wanted a light meal so I ended up having a selection of starters, and they were all delicious: the calamari with light and crispy and perfectly complemented by the paprika aioli; tian of aubergine, tomato and mozzarella was lovely and the crab salad delicious on the toasted brioche. And the onion rings, well, what can I say. I will never want 'ordinary' onion rings again - these light and fluffy creations were absolutely delicious, and I could have easily eaten two portions (but then where would I be with my light dinner?). Full thumbs up again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
The team in Jack Hare's kitchen love your photographs. Thank you very much for your positive review which I have posted on the staff notice board. It is really helpful to know that the style and quality of the food is pleasing our guests. I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
393 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
653 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing