We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Priory(Horsley)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveller rating
626
306
120
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
306
120
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaufort restaurantwestonbirt arboretumsilkwood courtgame keepersgamekeepers cottagemolton brown toiletriesthe main hotelmagnolia suitelovely hotelsublime sundaylovely groundsbusy roadsunday lunchsingle roombetween coursesfine dininglounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
673 - 678 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The stay was just amazing! We were upgraded when we got there to the Holly cottage which was lovely, very spacious and clean. We stayed there for two nights. The first night we had a bar snack delivered to our room. The second night we ate in the restaurant which was 5 star!! The food was delicious and throughout the whole of the stay the service was brilliant!! I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are all very pleased that you had such a good stay at the Hare and Hounds. Chef is particularly delighted with your response to his food, so thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed one night to visit Westonbirt, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hare & Hounds. Our room was comfortable and a good size, the staff were all friendly and attentive, and the food in the Beaufort Restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast. Can't fault it. We're looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ex-golfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review. The team are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed their service and that you found dinner and breakfast to be a good standard.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the rooms in the cottages at the back. Comfortable room. Only noise was one of the other doors shutting. Very good staff. Pleasent and helpful. Good food and beer. No negatives. Visit the arberetum just along the road. The "Cat and custard pot" pub, about three minutes drive is worth a visit. We went on a Tuesday lunchtime and it was nearly full. Not bad for being off the main road.Good food, beer, service and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Your excellent review is sure to be useful to people staying in the Cotswolds and travelling around the area. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband, 2 dogs and I stayed here on Sunday for one night on the Dinner, B&B package. From reservation through to check-out on Monday I cannot fault a single member of staff, all were very knowledgeable and friendly.
We stayed in the Beech room which was in the coach house. Plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 lurchers. Very large bed, lots of space for lounging dogs, good sized bathroom, dog bed provided (take your own dog bedding), water bowl and mat provided and lovely Molton Brown toiletries.
As I don't trust my dogs(!) we made arrangements to have dinner in the bar so we could have them with us. Nothing was too much trouble, a table arranged in a quiet corner, very dog friendly staff and exceptional food.
Breakfast was also excellent the following morning. Really great quality and plenty of it.
I mentioned on check-out that we were going to the Arboretum that day, another fantastic dog-friendly place, and the receptionist informed me that they have pre-paid tickets for hotel guests at a reduced rate. How brilliant!
All in all we found this an ideal place to stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWebbersSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Many of our guests get great pleasure from spending leisure time with their dogs, and as we like to welcome everyone and enjoy their company, including those with four legs, a little extra care is easy to give.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel about 10 years ago for a murder mystery weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. It has changed hands since then, but in fact it has improved with new rooms and a larger bar area. We stayed here for a two night stay and were given a very large comfortable room in the new block (Silkwood Court). It had two double beds, a seating area, two televisions and a large bathroom. The first night we ate in the main restaurant, the Beaufort, and the food and service was first class.(this was included in our break) The second night we decided to eat in the Jack Hare's lounge bar and again the food was superb, but very relaxed and less formal. It is very near the arboretum, which we had planned to visit, but it was poring with rain. It is not far from some of the lovely Cotswold villages and close enough to Bath for some good shopping.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Silkwood rooms which are new and ours was very big.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanley1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

I am so pleased that you approve of the new look Hare and Hounds, and that you enjoyed your 2 night experience with us. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews