We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, plush country inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful, plush country inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here in June '13 for my birthday. Initially, parking was a problem as we had unfortunately booked at the same time as a wedding.
However, the staff were excellent, the room was beautiful, we stayed in the Pear room in one of the annexes which I believe was a Silkwood Double, and we booked as part of a dinner and champagne deal. Everything was perfect, the food was delicious, the lounge area and library was a lovely place to relax in the day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you chose the Hare and Hounds for your Birthday celebration and had such an enjoyable time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    280
    110
    39
    28
See reviews for
147
572
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were a medium sized family party on our first visit to Jack Hare's Bar for lunch, which is the more relaxed restaurant in the Hare & Hounds Hotel. The setting and food was good, but the service, whilst pleasant, was slow and inattentive. We also waited ages for both our starters and main course, without any explanation or apology. Despite the fact we arrived promptly for our 12.30pm Sunday lunch booking, we had to wait until 2pm to be served our main course - twice as long as should have been necessary. Mysteriously, despite having butter served on the table, we were also not offered any bread to go with it, which may have prevented a few rumbling tummies during the over long wait for food - another oversight perhaps? From earlier reviews, the snail-like food delivery and distracted service has been criticised before - what a shame that this lets down what would otherwise be a very good gastro bar restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderqueen145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and ambience of the bar. I am disappointed that we did not give you the level of service which you as a guest should happily expect and that we do, in fact ,strive for. I hope you will give us another opportunity to do the job properly at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Came here after a shopping trip in Tetbury. Was expecting usual pub fare but was pleasantly surprised. Had mackerel which was beautifully cooked and asked for extra horseradish which came and added that extra kick. Goats cheese salad lovely. Husbands ham egg & chips excellent. Poached pear with chocolate sauce & creme fraiche was delightful - perfect balance with hint of spice. Service was friendly and quick and efficient. Will come again for an evening meal because we were so impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I am delighted that you have discovered the Hare and Hounds, and that you would like to return .
The small but dedicated team in the bar do their best to make everyone feel at home so they will enjoy recieving your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontlliw, Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I made a complete botch of the booking at this hotel and turned up a day late having just received an email outlining charges for a 'no show'. The receptionist hardly laughed at me at all (not in view anyway), waived the no show charge and switched the booking to that night. There was absolutely no need for her to do that as the error was entirely mine so I am very grateful. On top of that, my wife and I were allocated an extremely comfortable dual aspect room with a four-poster bed which we discovered the following morning was just the 'standard room' quality. Evening meal in the Jack O'Hare bar was very good as was breakfast. We highly recommend this hotel and will most definitely stay there again, looking forward, next time, to the 'fine dining' Beaufort Restaurant.
Faultless!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brillo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
I can confidently say that we were delighted to be able to help. Without a doubt, most of us can identify with that predicament, so it was good to be able smooth the way. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The stay was just amazing! We were upgraded when we got there to the Holly cottage which was lovely, very spacious and clean. We stayed there for two nights. The first night we had a bar snack delivered to our room. The second night we ate in the restaurant which was 5 star!! The food was delicious and throughout the whole of the stay the service was brilliant!! I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We are all very pleased that you had such a good stay at the Hare and Hounds. Chef is particularly delighted with your response to his food, so thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed one night to visit Westonbirt, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hare & Hounds. Our room was comfortable and a good size, the staff were all friendly and attentive, and the food in the Beaufort Restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast. Can't fault it. We're looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ex-golfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. The team are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed their service and that you found dinner and breakfast to be a good standard.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford herts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in one of the rooms in the cottages at the back. Comfortable room. Only noise was one of the other doors shutting. Very good staff. Pleasent and helpful. Good food and beer. No negatives. Visit the arberetum just along the road. The "Cat and custard pot" pub, about three minutes drive is worth a visit. We went on a Tuesday lunchtime and it was nearly full. Not bad for being off the main road.Good food, beer, service and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Your excellent review is sure to be useful to people staying in the Cotswolds and travelling around the area. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing