We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced food, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
598 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 747 helpful votes
“Overpriced food, poor service”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We met family here one evening before Christmas. It is in a great location and we had a lovely table right in front of a roaring log fire, which created a lovely atmosphere. Alas the overpriced foo, which came in small portions and was accompanied by very slow, unfriendly service meant that whilst it was a good meeting point it was not one we would use again. Shame.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry and disappointed that you found service slow and unfriendly. The image we strive for is welcoming, friendly and professional, so I am very sad to hear that we failed on all counts. Your sensible feedback does serve to highlight the importance we all place upon the manner in which we are treated. I hope you may re-consider at some point and try a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    286
    112
    41
    30
See reviews for
153
586
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As a wheelchair user it is a real pleasure to find that a hotel that claims to be Accessible and truly is! Our bedroom (#51, also known as "Lime") was a really good size - plenty of room for me to manoeuvre my chair, a very comfortable 6' ft wide double bed (suspect they could also do twins but didn't ask), a clothes rail I could reach and a terrific wet room (see photos). The unit beside the loo was on wheels so eminently moveable, and the make up/ shaving mirror in the bathroom was equally portable to become a dressing table mirror in the bedroom. We were attending a wedding nearby so didn't have dinner but just made it to Sunday breakfast in time...10.00am. In a packed dining room (are we the last to discover this hotel?) a table was reserved for us from which they had already thoughtfully removed a chair so I avoided the usual embarrassment of the fuss associated with just being seated at a table. Part of the breakfast was Help Yourself and a member of staff was very attentive and discreet offering to help me reach the yogurts etc. and by the way, the food was delicious! Lots of home made goodies (drambui marmalade :)) and freshly cooked delights.... Although the restaurant was packed, the poached eggs were still fresh and perfectly cooked! And the site seemed accessible too.... Some gravel in the car park, the odd slope (well it is the Cotswolds) but only very minor door lips to navigate everywhere we needed to go. Great place, for able bodied and disabled alike!

Room Tip: Room 51 "Lime" is definitely accessible. There may well be others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Your review is sure to be very helpful for travellers looking for a venue which is genuinely accessible in thought and deed, and if we encounter a challenging situation, we will always put our guest first and do all we can to make a stay stress free and enjoyable. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend. Fabulous hotel - really beautifully presented with comfy areas to sit and a great restaurant. Rooms were lovely and bathroom was epic. Enjoyed it immensely. I would recommend to everyone and anyone. Will certainly be heading back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I always put these up for our staff to read and reflect upon. It helps them to understand that guests really appreciate warm clean comfortable rooms and a polite and friendly approach from staff, and that the way guests are treated is of huge importance to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Wedding on 11/12/13 ..everything was Fabulous....atmosphere relaxed and made very welcome.. Nice grounds..plenty of room for 'quiet' time too. The food was excellent.
My only criticism was that to get back in to the venue (when the restaurant was in use) we had to go outside around the building in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madcatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review of the time you spent with us when attending a wedding at the hotel. It is really good to see things from the point of view of a guest attending a large event here and very useful to other travellers attending similar events in and around the area. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel is extremely overpriced for what is it! It is so expensive to stay here, but we thought we would treat ourselves and have a night away in the Cotswolds unfortunately this hotel does not live up to it's price.

Negatives:
-Our bathroom had two ladybirds and ants living in it
-The bedrooms are very outdated, small, dark, and dingy, run down, paint work is peeling, the bed was so small my feet poked out the end of it.
-The television is tiny
-The toilet roll holder fell off on first use
-Bathroom hooks fell off
-No dressing gowns available
-NO wifi connection anywhere in the hotel
-If you take toiletries home they charge your card you paid on without warning you!!!!

Positives:
-Friendly staff
-Good location for Westonbirt and Tetbury
-Nice food
-Board games for children

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for letting me know your feelings regarding a recent stay at the Hare and Hounds. I am very sorry that you had an uncomfortable night.
Our standard double rooms all have a five foot width bed as a minimum, and all are of standard length. I apologise that you encountered a number of maintenance issues in the room, and trust that our maintenance staff responded promptly once you had reported these.
A few small TVs have just been replaced with much larger sets, which we hope will help to enhance a guests stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Will never forget the experience. Thought if we managed to eat the firdt course we might get two meals to take back into the jungle. Presentation dreadful. Taste appalling. Cost very high for the terrible meal we recevied. Would never return. Would never recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I do understand your point of view and accept that the style of our restaurant will not be to everyone's taste. A typical example would be one of our favourite dishes 'Bonfire Duck' which combines the flavours of Cherry wood smoked Duck with Rhubarb, Prune and Malt, presented in a simple container which delivers a drift of delicate smokiness as it is opened, reminiscent of the Autumn garden. Our talented team of Chefs are really disappointed that you did not enjoy the food which takes hours of hard work and huge committment to prepare and deliver. Likewise, our dedicated Restaurant team members are disappointed that the dishes which they are so proud to serve, failed to bring you pleasure. We all take your comments very seriously, and appreciate that some of our dishes will challenge the palate and the imagination. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

There is nothing I can find to criticise about the Hare and Hounds. We spent two nights on a winter warmer deal which was good value. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were efficient and friendly. Fine dining in the restaurant was a real treat with imaginative food of the highest standard. We needed to chill after a difficult few months and this hotel ticked all the boxes allowing us to do just that.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road which is quite busy during the day but little traffic at night. We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
If peace and quiet is what you need, our lovely hotel is just right. I am very pleased that you were able to relax and and enjoy some stress free time. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and giving other travellers a little insight into the qualities which you found were right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
380 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
645 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
496 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing