We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
674
319
121
51
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
319
121
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beaufort restaurant westonbirt arboretum silkwood court game keepers gamekeepers cottage the main hotel molton brown toiletries magnolia suite lovely hotel sublime sunday lovely grounds single room busy road sunday lunch lounge area cotswold inns fine dining
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed as part of a business meeting with a Christmas meal

Room was welcoming and nothing was to much trouble fir the staff

Meal was taken in the library which was an excellent setting for a very enjoyable Christmas meal

Would hope to return for a short break to more fully appreciate the hotel and area

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mulberry room which is in an annex in the hotel grounds
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

It is really helpful to get a view of the hotel from a business person's angle, and good to hear that the warmth and welcome reaches all of our guests in equal measure. I do hope you find the opportunity to come and stay privately, and take some time to enjoy the lovely countryside and beautiful little towns in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A beautiful hotel! Dog friendly, customer friendly, charming staff. Great food. Planning another visit ASAP! Can't wait! Thank you for huge hospitality! The grounds are beautiful as well.
Close to Tetbury, The Arboretum and the rest of the best of the Cotswolds. We did 1200 miles
in total, driving around for simply a few days. I recommend wholeheartedly for a stay in one
of the most beautiful part of Britain. So much to see, and so nice to get back to the Hotel!

Room Tip: We had dogs with us. One on her last legs. We had a ground floor room outside. It was perfect! The staff brought them water and, wait... Treats for breakfast! The most charming Hotel in England? Quite possibly it is. The Library is the finest place to simply relax with a coffee in the afternoon. Going back as soon as possible! Hopefully next month....
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

The staff here are all delighted that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Cotswold countryside. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is good to know that we were able to add to your comfort and relaxation. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We met family here one evening before Christmas. It is in a great location and we had a lovely table right in front of a roaring log fire, which created a lovely atmosphere. Alas the overpriced foo, which came in small portions and was accompanied by very slow, unfriendly service meant that whilst it was a good meeting point it was not one we would use again. Shame.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry and disappointed that you found service slow and unfriendly. The image we strive for is welcoming, friendly and professional, so I am very sad to hear that we failed on all counts. Your sensible feedback does serve to highlight the importance we all place upon the manner in which we are treated. I hope you may re-consider at some point and try a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As a wheelchair user it is a real pleasure to find that a hotel that claims to be Accessible and truly is! Our bedroom (#51, also known as "Lime") was a really good size - plenty of room for me to manoeuvre my chair, a very comfortable 6' ft wide double bed (suspect they could also do twins but didn't ask), a clothes rail I could reach and a terrific wet room (see photos). The unit beside the loo was on wheels so eminently moveable, and the make up/ shaving mirror in the bathroom was equally portable to become a dressing table mirror in the bedroom. We were attending a wedding nearby so didn't have dinner but just made it to Sunday breakfast in time...10.00am. In a packed dining room (are we the last to discover this hotel?) a table was reserved for us from which they had already thoughtfully removed a chair so I avoided the usual embarrassment of the fuss associated with just being seated at a table. Part of the breakfast was Help Yourself and a member of staff was very attentive and discreet offering to help me reach the yogurts etc. and by the way, the food was delicious! Lots of home made goodies (drambui marmalade :)) and freshly cooked delights.... Although the restaurant was packed, the poached eggs were still fresh and perfectly cooked! And the site seemed accessible too.... Some gravel in the car park, the odd slope (well it is the Cotswolds) but only very minor door lips to navigate everywhere we needed to go. Great place, for able bodied and disabled alike!

Room Tip: Room 51 "Lime" is definitely accessible. There may well be others.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Your review is sure to be very helpful for travellers looking for a venue which is genuinely accessible in thought and deed, and if we encounter a challenging situation, we will always put our guest first and do all we can to make a stay stress free and enjoyable. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights over a weekend. Fabulous hotel - really beautifully presented with comfy areas to sit and a great restaurant. Rooms were lovely and bathroom was epic. Enjoyed it immensely. I would recommend to everyone and anyone. Will certainly be heading back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I always put these up for our staff to read and reflect upon. It helps them to understand that guests really appreciate warm clean comfortable rooms and a polite and friendly approach from staff, and that the way guests are treated is of huge importance to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews