We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Year stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay over New Year! From the moment we arrived on the 30th the pampering began...a lovely afternoon tea in a cosy lounge followed by an excellent dinner later on...I'm going to run out of superlatives very quickly! From start to finish the food was great...some very interesting combinations and imaginative presentation. On New Years Eve the evening commenced with champagne and canapes followed by a 7 course dinner, again served with interesting flourishes.....and the main course beef fillet just melted in the mouth. The live music was very good..it was nice to be able to talk without being drowned out, and most people got on to the dance floor...eventually! Midnight was marked by more champagne and a live bagpipe serenade. When the music finished it was nice to retire to the lounge to finish off our drinks in comfort.
The room was very good with a large comfy bed and nice warm bathroom with big bath towels...so many hotels scrimp on them!
Last but by no means least I can't praise the staff highly enough...they made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. This was our first visit but certainly not our last!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonraker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

I am so pleased that you had a good time during your New Year stay. We try very hard to plan the event from the guests view point, to give the 'Wows' in the right places, and build in quality and fun as well. Food and sevice are clearly paramount, but every small thing matters.Very many thanks for taking the time to write your review, our staff have all been thrilled to read it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel just outside of Tetbury with so much to do in the surrounding area. The hotel staff are outstanding - very welcoming and attentive. Our room was cosy with a lovely view over the garden. The highlight of our stay was the evening meal which was superb. Everything was cooked to perfection and an absolute delight. We certainly my plan to return in the spring and highly recommend the Hare and Hounds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Hare and Hounds.
chef and his team are thrilled that you enjoyed their food so much, and are very proud to have a copy of your review up on their kitchen notice board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited with friends who live near-by, as an antedote to the previous evening's excesses. None of us were quite sure what sort of afternoon tea experience we would receive, but were very pleased indeed with our visit.

When entering the hotel we were greeted warmly, and then shown to the Library, to discover that the room had been set aside just for our party - what a lovely room. Great stuff! We were then asked what hot drinks we would like, and could choose from coffee, 'regular' tea or other teas (fruity, Earl Grey etc.). Having made our choices, a short while later the drinks arrived, together with an extensive selection of sandwiches, all rather yummy. Just as we were working our way through them, numerous fruit scones arrived, together with copious amounts of jam and cream. As all were delicious, the start of the 2014 diet had to be postponed for a few hours. The scones were also accompanied by a selection of small cakes - a chocolatey mousse cake, lemon cake, and a coconuty cake. Suffice to say that, while our party included a couple of characters renowned for doing a good clean-up job whenever food is on offer, some of the scones and little cakes had to be boxed for later.

Service was great - very friendly and efficient. Finally when it came to pay the bill, we were amazed at how reasonable it was for the 6 of us (particularly given what can be charged for afternoon tea in other locations).

So, we didn't stay at the hotel so will leave comments on stays to others. However, if you are craving an excellent, high quality proper afternoon tea when on your travels (or indeed when staying at the hotel) you will struggle to find one better than at the Hare & Hounds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RichardP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you enjoyed yourAfternoon Tea. I am sure your comprehensive review will be very helpful for other travellers looking for good quality food and genuine guest care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Now let me start by saying the room (18) was excellent. Although on the front and within earshot of the busy main road, being New Year's Eve perhaps the traffic was light! The room was warm, the bathroom well appointed.

However the NYE packages should come with a warning that if last night was anything to go by the bulk of the clientele were over 65 and a party atmosphere it was not. The Westonbirt room was cold on arrival and the seating felt like being on a bus! The seven course "gourmet" dinner was pretentious and the portions small. The Butter Poached Lobster and the Champagne Sorbet with Beetroot Granita were the stand out courses. The beef main was well cooked, but the vegetarian option being served with bacon was a huge error. The Dark Chocolate Fondant was an interesting description for a chocolate muffin. One pass on the coffee was not enough

The wine list was reasonably priced, but hardly exciting and you'll find a couple of the bottles on offer in Tesco I believe.

Whilst the piper at midnight was a nice touch, the musical entertainment, (aging singer accompanied by live drummer and backing tracks) strived to enliven the atmosphere but for the bulk of the evening failed to pack the dance floor,and the music finished just after 12.30 at which time the staff began clearing the room when there were still clients finishing their drinks.

A New Year's Day breakfast served from 8 -10 (Sunday hours) was a tad early given the day,but the buffet selection was excellent, and thought it took its time to come the Full English was adequate if not slightly over cooked.

The 11 am check out was not appreciated.

The service was faultless but on the whole this was an overpriced package and I doubt that we will return or recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richardofrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

this was our second visit and yet again it was all round an excellent stay. the room was elegant and well appointed. the staff were knowledgeable, friendly and polite. both dinner and breakfast were good. we would definitely return again, especially to celebrate special occasions.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

I am very pleased that you chose the Hare and Hounds for a second visit and that you will consider us for special celebrations.It will be a pleasure to welcome you for those occasions. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hare and Hounds for four days over the Christmas period including Christmas Day and Boxing Day. We had a suite which was superb, with a brilliant bed and bathroom. We found the food throughout the four days to be truly inspirational. I have seen criticism on these pages about the menu, but in my view the chef created flavours, textures and presentation that was of Michelin standard! and I can honestly say that this was some of the best food that I have experienced. I have to also mention the staff, in a word, Brilliant. Every member of staff we spoke to, could not have been more polite or more helpful. It is obvious to me that the staff take pride in what they do, and the Hotel is extremely well managed.
Tip... We had the hot tub, revelation.
We had a fantastic stay..thank you

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Very many thanks for your recent review. I put all the encouraging ones on the staff notice board to give everyone's morale a lift, but we also take time out to discuss those which reflect shortfalls in our performance, and so, keep everyone's 'feet on the ground'. My feelings about our Chef concurr with your own. He is a very talented person, and sensible enough to listen to all feedback.
I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed as part of a business meeting with a Christmas meal

Room was welcoming and nothing was to much trouble fir the staff

Meal was taken in the library which was an excellent setting for a very enjoyable Christmas meal

Would hope to return for a short break to more fully appreciate the hotel and area

Room Tip: Stayed in the Mulberry room which is in an annex in the hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

It is really helpful to get a view of the hotel from a business person's angle, and good to hear that the warmth and welcome reaches all of our guests in equal measure. I do hope you find the opportunity to come and stay privately, and take some time to enjoy the lovely countryside and beautiful little towns in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
424 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
518 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,357 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
847 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £101 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing