We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Upon arrival, we received a room upgrade and were accommodated in a very pretty room - spacious and comfortable, great shower and ensuite. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and accompanied by our dog, we had a lovely stroll around the gardens. Breakfast was very good but eating in the bar the previous evening, was a little disappointing. My husband had the lamb shank with trimmings which was excellent but the steak ciabatta was really disappointing - not much steak, too much bread and the onions failed to materialise. Despite drawing attention to this omission - an apology all that was offered when perhaps a small dessert might have been appropriate given this was not a cheap option! Shame because other than this, it was a lovely visit. Would I go again? Yes. Would I eat in the bar? Probably not.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JML525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel on the whole, but so sorry that you found the Steak Ciabatta lacking. It is such a shame when you have looked forward to eating something, as you say , disappointing. I do make sure our chefs get this feedback. Painful as it may be for them, it is so important that they understand the effect these mistakes have.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the game keepers cottage which is a huge one bed cottage, private garden with a hot tub, a huge walk in shower and huge bed. Staff were brilliant, but even better than all of this, was the best food I've ever had in my life. We had the tasting menu and was paired with appropriate wines. It was stunning. I will be back and for longer. Beautiful cotswolds scenery and exceptional hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We were all so pleased that you had such a good experience and thank you very much for taking the time to write about it. It certaily put a big smile on Chef's face. A copy will take pride of place on our staff noticeboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our basic room was large & comfortable, albeit the ensuite bathroom could have been better as it had a very thing door, was down a step (not so good in the dark) and had a box section to bang the head on getting in/out of the shower (I am 6' 2"). We did get woken by some late night revellers getting back near 2am, and again by vacuuming c7.30am but I guess this could happen anywhere.

Tasting menu and accompanying wine flight were "interesting" - the beef dish and desserts really stood out, although that several dishes featured that modern "clever cold" was a bit weird (frozen lettuce & cold pate anyone?)

Some of the service was a bit hit and miss (partly because of the layout of the rooms downstairs), although Zoltan in the restaurant was a star with his dry sense of humour.

Breakfast was terrific.

Room Tip: The old house rooms are more interesting, but some are near the main road/common areas and therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hare and Hounds. You give a balanced view of your experience, which is really what most travellers want to see, so very helpful. I am glad that you found most of your meal enjoyable and do accept that some of the more unusual modernist dishes do not appeal to everyone. Your kind comments about a member of staff were very well recieved, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

They say you get what you pay for and here you get it in spadefuls. We had the double room Mint which was spacious and had what we asked for, a walk in shower, in fact it had a wet room the size of our lounge at home. The bedroom was big enough for a dance and the King sized bed - was King sized. The room heating needed a bit of tweaking but that was no problem.

The breakfasts were plentiful and varied with a good choice away from "the full English". The two nights we eat there we used the Jack Hare bar and their sharing boards were enough for a main meal but the house burger was a sight for very hungry eyes. The ale and wine prices were eye watering but the readiness of the staff to serve your every need and the quality of the lounges took away any pain.

It was a superb couple of nights which we will repeat I'm sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Look out for our Summer offer, you definitely won't need a second mortgage to come and stay and enjoy the lovely Cotswold countryside. Thank you very much for your recent review. I was very pleased to read that you had a good all round experience, and would be delighted if you were able to visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Bedrooms very nice, comfortable and spacious - we stayed at the Silkwood extension and it was peaceful set away from the main road. The bathroom was scrupulously clean, with Molton Brown toiletries and large fluffy towels - beautiful. Bottled water in the room was greatly appreciated. We ate in Jack Hare's rather than the main restaurant one night - the food was good, but we didn't get what was advertised on the specials board - the roast potatoes weren't, the mixed veg was pak choi and there was no hollandaise at all. Having said that, the swordfish was beautifully cooked. Breakfast was ok - good toast but not enough butter and there was Cointreau marmalade on the table, with an alcohol allergy the only alternative was diabetic marmalade.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Had the same issue that we seem to have in many hotels - the key cards weren't coded for more than one night. You return from a day out, go to your room and have to trail all the way back to reception to get it redone. It was these little things that stopped me giving this 5 stars, but we would go again.

Room Tip: the hotel is very close to a busy main road, for a peaceful night choose the silkwood rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsbicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your balanced review. I am glad that you found the room clean and comfortable, and service from the staff of a good standard. I am sorry to hear that although you enjoyed the food in Jack Hare's bar, the dish you recieved was not correct. I hope you felt able to bring that to the notice of bar staff at the time. I am really pleased to hear that you would consider returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night in the gamekeeper suite- wow! Room was amazing, huge lounge, enormous bed and a rainfall shower big enough to have a party in. The hot tub was amazing too, secluded and romantic. We had dinner in the pub which was also lovely, and if the breakfast is an indication of how the a la carte dinner would be, that would be fantastic too. My only negative is that the wardrobe in the suite was out by the front door and not in the bedroom- which given the size of the suite was quite a long way to walk to get your clothes- thought that was a big weird. But apart from that, we loved it! Definitely recommend it and will be back, hopefully with more time to spend enjoying the grounds as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchieD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

I think it would be hard not to enjoy Gamekeepers Cottage, it has won many friends and admirers since it came into being, so thank you for taking the time to write your review, it looks like you have fallen in love with it as well - apart from the wardrobe. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food, a little praise for our chefs goes such a long way. I am sure your review will be very useful to other travellers looking for a stay with a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have had a few stays in Cotswolds Inns Group hotels and this was our second visit to the Hare and Hounds. We spent two nights in a 'Silkwood' room which was very spacious with a super king bed and two large armchairs, a good sized t.v. and good wi-fi. We could park right outside the room which was very convenient, though it was a short walk across the courtyard to the hotel itself. On the first evening we ate in the formal restaurant and found the food and service near perfect. We had a good bottle of wine for £22 and pre-dinner drinks we reasonably priced. On the second evening we ate in the bar, sharing a fantasic and large seafood platter as a starter, followed by two good mains, nicely served and fairly priced. The staff generally are excellent and professional, enquiring about our day and mixing efficiency with friendliness. Overall a very enjoyable stay in a nice area of the Cotswolds and highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Silkwood rooms are a little more expensive but are extremely spacious and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you very much for your recommendation. The staff are delighted that you enjoyed their care and service, they often say that we seem to be very lucky with our guests who relax and trust us to look after them. I hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hare amd Hounds and the beautiful Cotswolds in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
423 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
518 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,357 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
847 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £102 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing