We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top wedding location with first class staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
malmesbury town
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Top wedding location with first class staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just married our eldest daughter and all i can say is the organisation at the hotel is fantastic, the food was also fantastic and the grounds are the best you will find for many miles, a special mention to all of the staff they are very efficient and professional, Julia is the wedding organiser and she done a fantastic job, the head waiter could not do enough and the waitresses were very fast at bring food out and clearing tables, we could not have wisghed for a better location and service a real credit to the hotel ,
just one more mention for Mark the dj, Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanuknewnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
I am very pleased to hear that we did a good job and that you were pleased with the day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review at a time when your life has surely been very busy indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    275
    108
    39
    28
See reviews for
144
566
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed one night at the Hare and Hound. The first room we were given was very poorly cleaned (dirty toilet seat!) and smelled, so we were 'transferred' into one of the cottages. The room was spacious and well designed, but even here, it wasn't a top notch in terms of cleanliness and state of the decor. The taps were leaking, the bed could have done with a mattress topper.. But apart from this, the setting is great, ambience too, so we still recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for your frank review. I am sorry that standards fell short. Our Housekeeping team were very annoyed at themselves for letting things slip. I do appreciate the fact that you would still recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

room was fantastic had the game keepers suite. best bed ever for a great nights sleep, wet room was great and the hot tub would stay here again only problem i had was checking in at midnight no one on reception had a uncle staying and he come let me in and told me ow to contact reception .

Room Tip: game keepers suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fred83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you loved our Gamekeepers cottage, but sorry that you had an issue getting in. We have a phone by the front door for late arrivals to contact the Night Porter, but perhaps you didn't spot it. I hope you were able to enjoy the hot tub in the garden. We agree with you, one night is definitely not enough - so we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Made a reservation and visited the hotel prior to start date. A lovely old property with great charm BUT then found that it had a very poor food hygiene rating from the Council. Only 2 out of 5 which is not at all good. As a result, they switched our reservation without problem to another hotel in the Group - The Swan Hotel at Bibury which was really lovely. Sorry Hare & Hounds!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Trip Advisor is a great forum for sharing, and our consistently positive reviews from guests is recognized with a Certificate of Excellence for 2014.
I have noted your comment regarding the hygiene rating and would like to reassure our guests that the information held there is over a year out of date, however, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Swan , it is one of my favourites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here overnight whilst seeing a concert at Westonbirt Arboretum. Picturesque, comfortable and lovely breakfast. Hotel was full so service at breakfast was a bit slow but otherwise no negative comments.

Room Tip: Room 32 overlooked front of the hotel. spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your brief stay with us after a concert at the Arboretum. We are very lucky to be in such close proximity to Westonbirt Arboretum with its wonderful seasonal changes and varied events. I am glad you enjoyed Breakfast on what would have been a very busy morning, and I am sorry if you were kept waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I suppose you might call this a country house hotel. It certainly has a lovely feel to its public areas and our bedroom was very comfortable. Though we were in a small block of four rooms quite close to the main road, we weren't disturbed at night by traffic noise. The room was well appointed with two quite comfy armchairs, a good bed and the choice of a walk-in shower or a bath. The availability of Molton Brown toiletries was a nice touch. We had some issues with a radiator that couldn't be turned off and this wasn't dealt with during our stay, not ideal in very warm weather. We enjoyed a good' prix fixe' two course meal in the bar dining area for about £16 a head. Others have mentioned the excellent breakfasts. We can thoroughly endorse their comments. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

my partner brought me here for a night, stayed in the game keepers lodge and ate the taster menu...... food was absolutely amazing and the lodge we stayed was the best place I've ever stayed. hot tub in the private garden was brilliant. can't fault everything here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andycadd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing