We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ormond at Tetbury(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveller rating
626
306
120
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
306
120
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeaufort restaurantwestonbirt arboretumsilkwood courtgame keepersgamekeepers cottagemolton brown toiletriesthe main hotelmagnolia suitelovely hotelsublime sundaylovely groundsbusy roadsunday lunchsingle roombetween coursesfine dininglounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed one night at the Hare and Hound. The first room we were given was very poorly cleaned (dirty toilet seat!) and smelled, so we were 'transferred' into one of the cottages. The room was spacious and well designed, but even here, it wasn't a top notch in terms of cleanliness and state of the decor. The taps were leaking, the bed could have done with a mattress topper.. But apart from this, the setting is great, ambience too, so we still recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for your frank review. I am sorry that standards fell short. Our Housekeeping team were very annoyed at themselves for letting things slip. I do appreciate the fact that you would still recommend us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

room was fantastic had the game keepers suite. best bed ever for a great nights sleep, wet room was great and the hot tub would stay here again only problem i had was checking in at midnight no one on reception had a uncle staying and he come let me in and told me ow to contact reception .

Room Tip: game keepers suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

I am very pleased to hear that you loved our Gamekeepers cottage, but sorry that you had an issue getting in. We have a phone by the front door for late arrivals to contact the Night Porter, but perhaps you didn't spot it. I hope you were able to enjoy the hot tub in the garden. We agree with you, one night is definitely not enough - so we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Made a reservation and visited the hotel prior to start date. A lovely old property with great charm BUT then found that it had a very poor food hygiene rating from the Council. Only 2 out of 5 which is not at all good. As a result, they switched our reservation without problem to another hotel in the Group - The Swan Hotel at Bibury which was really lovely. Sorry Hare & Hounds!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Trip Advisor is a great forum for sharing, and our consistently positive reviews from guests is recognized with a Certificate of Excellence for 2014.
I have noted your comment regarding the hygiene rating and would like to reassure our guests that the information held there is over a year out of date, however, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Swan , it is one of my favourites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here overnight whilst seeing a concert at Westonbirt Arboretum. Picturesque, comfortable and lovely breakfast. Hotel was full so service at breakfast was a bit slow but otherwise no negative comments.

Room Tip: Room 32 overlooked front of the hotel. spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your brief stay with us after a concert at the Arboretum. We are very lucky to be in such close proximity to Westonbirt Arboretum with its wonderful seasonal changes and varied events. I am glad you enjoyed Breakfast on what would have been a very busy morning, and I am sorry if you were kept waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I suppose you might call this a country house hotel. It certainly has a lovely feel to its public areas and our bedroom was very comfortable. Though we were in a small block of four rooms quite close to the main road, we weren't disturbed at night by traffic noise. The room was well appointed with two quite comfy armchairs, a good bed and the choice of a walk-in shower or a bath. The availability of Molton Brown toiletries was a nice touch. We had some issues with a radiator that couldn't be turned off and this wasn't dealt with during our stay, not ideal in very warm weather. We enjoyed a good' prix fixe' two course meal in the bar dining area for about £16 a head. Others have mentioned the excellent breakfasts. We can thoroughly endorse their comments. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews