We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent ladies weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent ladies weekend away!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Fabulous hotel for our short break. The hotel is located just outside of Tetbury and provided an excellent base for our visit to Lacock Village and Dyrham Park. The hotel has plenty of parking and the rooms are tastefully decorated. We were in the more modern block and not in the original old building which was a shame but the room was beautiful and wonderfully quiet and very very clean. We had a little outside seating area and were able to walk around the grounds.
We ate in the Jack o'Hares restaurant and were served by friendly staff. The menu selection was good and food was reasonably priced and very nice.

Molton Brown toiletries in the rooms was a nice luxury as were the biscuits and hot chocolate!!!

Only downside was that there was very poor mobile phone coverage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdoch123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
How nice that you chose the Hare and Hounds for your Ladies weekend.... we take that as a great compliment. I am sorry about the poor mobile signal - it is somewhat hampered by the large trees surrounding us, so communication can be difficult at times.... maybe a blessing on some occasions !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    289
    115
    42
    30
See reviews for
159
597
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malmesbury town
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just married our eldest daughter and all i can say is the organisation at the hotel is fantastic, the food was also fantastic and the grounds are the best you will find for many miles, a special mention to all of the staff they are very efficient and professional, Julia is the wedding organiser and she done a fantastic job, the head waiter could not do enough and the waitresses were very fast at bring food out and clearing tables, we could not have wisghed for a better location and service a real credit to the hotel ,
just one more mention for Mark the dj, Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanuknewnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
I am very pleased to hear that we did a good job and that you were pleased with the day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review at a time when your life has surely been very busy indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed one night at the Hare and Hound. The first room we were given was very poorly cleaned (dirty toilet seat!) and smelled, so we were 'transferred' into one of the cottages. The room was spacious and well designed, but even here, it wasn't a top notch in terms of cleanliness and state of the decor. The taps were leaking, the bed could have done with a mattress topper.. But apart from this, the setting is great, ambience too, so we still recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for your frank review. I am sorry that standards fell short. Our Housekeeping team were very annoyed at themselves for letting things slip. I do appreciate the fact that you would still recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

room was fantastic had the game keepers suite. best bed ever for a great nights sleep, wet room was great and the hot tub would stay here again only problem i had was checking in at midnight no one on reception had a uncle staying and he come let me in and told me ow to contact reception .

Room Tip: game keepers suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you loved our Gamekeepers cottage, but sorry that you had an issue getting in. We have a phone by the front door for late arrivals to contact the Night Porter, but perhaps you didn't spot it. I hope you were able to enjoy the hot tub in the garden. We agree with you, one night is definitely not enough - so we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Made a reservation and visited the hotel prior to start date. A lovely old property with great charm BUT then found that it had a very poor food hygiene rating from the Council. Only 2 out of 5 which is not at all good. As a result, they switched our reservation without problem to another hotel in the Group - The Swan Hotel at Bibury which was really lovely. Sorry Hare & Hounds!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Trip Advisor is a great forum for sharing, and our consistently positive reviews from guests is recognized with a Certificate of Excellence for 2014.
I have noted your comment regarding the hygiene rating and would like to reassure our guests that the information held there is over a year out of date, however, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Swan , it is one of my favourites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here overnight whilst seeing a concert at Westonbirt Arboretum. Picturesque, comfortable and lovely breakfast. Hotel was full so service at breakfast was a bit slow but otherwise no negative comments.

Room Tip: Room 32 overlooked front of the hotel. spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harehounds, General Manager at The Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your brief stay with us after a concert at the Arboretum. We are very lucky to be in such close proximity to Westonbirt Arboretum with its wonderful seasonal changes and varied events. I am glad you enjoyed Breakfast on what would have been a very busy morning, and I am sorry if you were kept waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I suppose you might call this a country house hotel. It certainly has a lovely feel to its public areas and our bedroom was very comfortable. Though we were in a small block of four rooms quite close to the main road, we weren't disturbed at night by traffic noise. The room was well appointed with two quite comfy armchairs, a good bed and the choice of a walk-in shower or a bath. The availability of Molton Brown toiletries was a nice touch. We had some issues with a radiator that couldn't be turned off and this wasn't dealt with during our stay, not ideal in very warm weather. We enjoyed a good' prix fixe' two course meal in the bar dining area for about £16 a head. Others have mentioned the excellent breakfasts. We can thoroughly endorse their comments. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
797 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
653 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing