We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, relaxed romantic stay in a great part of the Cotswolds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quality, relaxed romantic stay in a great part of the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at the Hare & Hounds on a Friday night on a dinner, Bed & Breakfast special offer. Having stayed at a few other Cotswold Inns hotels we had good expectations & we were not disappointed. We booked the executive room which was located in a courtyard just behind the old hotel facade. The rooms here have an apartment feel & we had a huge bedroom & decent bathroom. Usual cotswold Inn decor - tasteful, trendy & new.

The hotel bar is small but has a friendly atmosphere which gets better later on.

The restaurant was fantastic. Excellent location/setting & the best food we have had at any of the Inn's so far. They were really helpful in providing a veggie option where there was none on the menu.

It is only 30 minutes into Bath form here which made a good day trip. All in all I will definately book the Hare & Hounds again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    280
    110
    39
    28
See reviews for
147
571
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

My husband and i have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Hare & Hounds hotel in the Cotswolds and we had a wonderful time. We went for our 2nd wedding anniversary and we decided on the Cotswolds as I've been before and always loved it, we searched a few hotels online and found that this hotel was offering superb deals on a 2 night stay which included, free room upgrade, cream tea, a 3 course meal on both night and breakfast on both mornings. We had read a few reviews on here before our stay, some good and some not so good, so we went with an open mind, but i have to say this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in, in the UK. We were upgraded to what looked like a bridal suite, the room was huge and very clean and modern, it was situated in it's own little enclosure within the hotel grounds not in the hotel itself, the enclosure was called "Silver something" i cant quite remember the full name but i would recommend asking to be put in this area if you can.
The food in the Hotel's restaurant is absolutely sublime, on our first night however, the staff on duty in the restaurant didn't really seem to be on the ball as much as we'd liked, we were seated, given a menu and not offered any drinks, the waiter then came over and asked to take our order (we'd only been there for 2 minutes) we asked if we could order a drink first and he took our order for wine and a jug or water, we never got the water and was never offered any bread either even though there was butter already on the table, a new waiter spotted this however and from then on we had nothing to complain about, he made sure we got everything we needed.
Our next night was completely different with different staff working and they couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, when they found out it was our anniversary they gave us a complimentary glass of champagne after our meal so the evening was really lovely.
The whole stay was a real pleasure and we'll definitely be going back to this hotel again, the only nag i would have is they need to keep the music going in the Bar and restaurant area, it was very quiet when we were there and sometimes you felt like you had to whisper because there was no background music, it made it feel a bit too formal, but when they did play music it made a huge difference. Other than that we had no complaints at all, the staff were brilliant, friendly and very helpful, the rooms was lovely and food fantastic - A great find!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkEgg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Just retuned from 2 nights at the Hare and Hounds on a Spring break room for disabled guests excellent large an extremely well equipped the best we have experienced Staff were all very polite and helpfulFood good could do better vegetarian selection.Would definetly visit again.Lovely gardens.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzybEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay,the room was clean and large and the bathroom had plenty of hot water at all times.Breakfast was wonderful but the quality of the bread used was very poor,the sort you would find in the value range at the supermarket.For a hotel with so much going for it a simple and inexpensive change of bread would be a major improvement.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed here for two nights B&B plus dinner. The room was big, well-appointed and clean. The bed was big and comfortable but the furniture was in low-grade painted wood and badly designed. In this large 'luxury' room we had a single small wardrobe (built in) and four tiny (12in x 3in x 10in) drawers. Pull a drawer out more than a few inches and it falls on the floor. As bedroom drawers they were completely useless; the hair dryer filled one of them, which gives an idea of the size. Electrical sockets were in all the wrong places. Drying your hair in front of the dressing table mirror meant hauling on the electric cable from somewhere off on your left and below the table level to a position above your head and will give you terrific arm muscles after a few days. The mirror was too small; if you were a short person you would see only the top of your head, and if you were a tall person you would be looking at your chest. It was screwed to the wall so there was no adjustment. There were no water glasses in the room (or in other rooms we noted), but to be fair these were delivered within minutes of asking for them. The bathroom was basic. The single row of tiles around the bath gave it that lovely 1950s look, the rest of the bathroom having been done in light green paint! A Vent-Axia extractor fan in the ceiling sounds like a 747 on take-off, and if you are foolish enough to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night the extractor fan comes on as soon as you open the door wakes up most of Gloucestershire.

Dinner on the first evening was excellent. Not so good on the second evening. The hotel tried to cater for a wedding that day which ran on into the late evening, and the kitchen staff were probably overloaded. The food was of good basic quality but was let down by poor preparation and poor presentation, just as one might expect from an overwrought chef. Things were not helped by the constant movement through the dining room of wedding guests stumbling back and forth between bar and function room with full-to-the-brim glasses of wine and pints of lager.

Breakfast was buffet style and decent quality, but there should have been at least one waiter watching to replenish trays as and when required. On the first morning it seems the first guests finished off the eggs, and none appeared for 30 minutes after that. I asked specifically for one and it was produced in about five minutes - but not quite cooked. Once again the impression was of an overworked kitchen staff. There was some sort of coach party who all came to breakfast at the same time and I suppose this was the cause. Staff were also catering for overnight wedding guests who all arrived for breakfast at the same time, still in party mood.

Now for the one accolade. The staff (waiters and general hotel staff) were excellent. They could not have been more charming or helpful.

Overall, this was a disappointing stay, considering the cost. If it had been a Marriott, at Marriott prices, it would have been acceptable. But this used to be a very fine hotel (according to some locals we met) and it's a pity to see it becoming little more than an up-market conference/coach party/wedding venue.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImpartialJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

My husband and I stayed 3 nights on a brief stop off in the Cotswolds. We found the building and room glorious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was just heaven and I can't speak high enough of the gorgeous pub.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmjephson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Having stayed at other Cotswold Inns hotels I was very much looking forward to a visit to the Hare & Hounds with my partner.

However, this hotel did not live up to its image as described on the website, nor to the standards of other Cotswold Inns Hotels.

The bedroom we stayed in was of a very low quality - uncomfortable bed & pillows, marks all over the walls, cheap melamine furniture and 70s wall lights and pictures, certainly not in keeping with the historical nature of the hotel nor representative of the pictures/description on the website.

Unfortunately the bar (Jack Hare's) was being refurbished and so was closed (no mention of this on the website). We therefore ate in the formal restaurant. The food was very good, however my partner was up during the night with a horrendous stomach upset. To be fair to the hotel, at this stage we don't know whether this can be attributed to food eaten at the hotel.

My partner did not want any breakfast as he was still suffering however I decided to brave it. Unfortunately the hot breakfast on offer was not cooked to order (as in other hotels from this chain) but was served in a buffet style. Sadly the food was stone cold and could not be eaten. Even the toast I was served was cold.

On checkout we attempted to discuss the issues with the receptionist however she was totally disinterested in what we were saying and was more concerned with charging a fee for paying on a card and also charging for a "complimentary" newspaper.

We wrote an email to the hotel on the same day and unfortunately received a very lame standard response from the manager which did not address any of our concerns.

Sadly I will not be going back to this hotel. However I can heartily recommend another hotel in the group, The Bay Tree at Burford. As long as this has not deteriorated in the same way, you will get a fantastic experience of Cotswold Inns if you experience the Bay Tree.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekendawayBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Westonbirt, Tetbury GL8 8QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare and Hounds Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel set in beautiful gardens and woodland - ideally located with excellent road links to M4 and M5 motorways. The hotel offers 44 individually furnished bedrooms and suites. There are two spacious lounges plus a choice of dining. The elegant Westonbirt Restaurant offers a fine selection of dishes utilising seasonal and local produce wherever possible. The informal menus in Jack Hare's are also seasonal and are served in traditional pub surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Tetbury
Hotel Hare And Hounds
Best Western Tetbury
Tetbury Best Western
The Hare And Hounds Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing