We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed but not for the better”
Review of The Close Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Redecorated in tomb colours. The once lovely garden room has been replaced by a dark cave. Dirty table. Distracted waitresses. Although one was doing a great job. Fish platter had a good selection of.fish. nice prawns and white bait. No lemon to squeeze over the fish. Terrible weak latte. Soggy toast.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your meal and the level of service. We receive many positive comments regarding the team and our food offering which is reflected in our reviews.

I am disappointed that you do not like the style and colour of the refurbished restaurant however that is personal preference and on the whole the feedback regarding the refurbishment is positive.

I hope you will visit us again and enjoy the experience fully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

What a shame that a few very important areas reduced the review from excellent to average. On the plus side the welcome from the reception team couldn't be faulted as was the overall service levels. The bedrooms were a delight, light, airy very spacious and newly decorated and furnished to a high standard. Comfortable king size bed with quality pillows, all good so far.
On the minus side the real problem was the catering, it started with the afternoon tea which was ruined by a severe portion control and value issue which any well trained chef should have picked up and not allowed.
The evening dining experience was similar, the cheese course simply insufficient for the cost and the sweets the same, this was off the Brasserie menu where you can choose from a limited selection of starters etc
The hotel does have a "Fine Dining" menu but the drawback to this is that it's an all inclusive cost, no good for those who cannot eat their way through the menu choices.
We all felt that the hotel was trying to be upmarket for dining in the town but in it's pursuit has totally misjudged what the guests and diners were really looking for when eating in the hotel. Revamp the menues, by all means have a "Brasserie" sticking to grills etc and offer a proper "a la carte" menu where diners can choose from the various courses. Combine this with chefs who are allowed to be imaginative, creative and supported by properly trained staff will enhance the overall quality that the hotel seeks to provide. Unless changes are made the hotel will not entice it's guests to return.

Room Tip: The newly decorated rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calonge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Close is just a stone's throw and is handy to pop in for an impromptu Sunday Lunch. The hotel was refurbished at the end of 2013 and the new colour scheme takes a little getting used to as does the revised layout in the bar and library. However the food and service remain at a high standard and we enjoyed a very good traditional Sunday Lunch. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your Sunday Lunch experience.

I am delighted with your comments regarding the food and service and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently stayed at The Close Hotel on Friday 14th February and took advantage of the valentines package which was bed and breakfast as well as a 3 course meal. I had done a lot of shopping around and felt that this hotel would suit all our needs and wanted the evening to be special.

The hotel itself is stunning both exterior and interior. We stayed in the Jacobean Room which unfortunatly isnt one of the newly refurbished rooms however I was advised when I booked that this would be to the same standard just minus a few of the new soft furnishings. I was a little dissapointed when I saw the room as there was visable signs of damp on the ceiling and also the plasma tv was held on by cable ties which is not only dangerous but meant that the tv could not be moved from the position which it was in, the tv signal in the room was also poor which meant that it was not watchable. Also I know not all of the upgradable rooms were not booked however was not offered the option to upgrade despite having emailed the day before to ask if this would be a possibility.

The meal which was served on the evening was presented excellently unfortunatly some of the dishes were a little bit of a let down, it was as if they had not been tested or tasted beforehand and that more time and effort had been put into the presentation rather than the taste. This again was a little dissapointing. The meal experience itself was however enjoyable there was no rush inbetween courses which was nice.

The thing I cant fault at all was the breakfast in the morning this was lovely and cooked hot to order with a great array of pastries, cereal and yohghurts to accompany.

Overall we had a lovely time however, I dont think we will be returning which is sad as Tetbury is a lovely little town.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms to avoid any dissapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickandGemFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay here with parents. The two rooms we were allocated overlooked the gardens and were blissfully peaceful. The Tudor room was newly and smartly refurbished and suited my parents as it was up a very small flight of steps with its own entrance; ours, the Rose room, was roomier, with a magnificent bathroom although not refurbished as yet. It was still smart and had a kingsized bed which was really comfortable. The public areas of the hotel looked great, and a designer had clearly put a lot of thought into colour, paintings and lighting which created the right atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent- a wonderful range of good quality items on display with lots of choice of cooked options. The dinner was good, although the service was a bit haphazard (some items didn't arrive until well after the main courses were served, and the mini burger buns were rather stale.) The bar was very pleasant to relax in, although the cocktails were incredibly weak, making them rather expensive, and they had some trouble with logs on the open fire which created a smokescreen! The staff were efficient and friendly, and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel, and feel I'd like to try some others in the small group they run.

Room Tip: ASk to have one overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delius17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed in the Spire room. Refurbished to their usual high standard.
We had our own stairs and landing. Felt like we were staying in a high rollers suite.
The food in the restaurant was simply fantastic. Well done chef.
We have stayed in all of the other hotels in their chain over the last four years and this is the best one. Great location, brilliant staff, well refurbished.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had a sublime Sunday Break at the Close Hotel , My wife and I had a beautiful 3 course Sunday Lunch with Wine everything cooked to perfection. Following this we checked into our room and it definitely had the wow factor. It had the appeal of cotswold olde world with timber beams , it was spotlessly clean and a Super king size bed that was very comfortable and gave a wonderful nights sleep , We had a lovely breakfast the following morning which was plentiful and well cooked . Would we visit again, Yes most definitely

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulthefisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
20.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
0 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
858 reviews
0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Close Hotel

Address: 8 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £106 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Close Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful Cotswold market town of Tetbury, The Close Hotel and Restaurant holds the enviable reputation of being one of the finest 16th century town houses in the Cotswolds. Originally built in 1535 during the reign of King Henry VIII for John Steede a local Yeoman, the house has had many owners including Sir Thomas Estcourt, a wealthy wool merchant of the period. Since becoming a hotel in 1974, the Close Hotel has developed a reputation for excellence in hospitality by creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere, combined with the efficiency demanded by today's business world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Close Hotel Tetbury
The Close Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing