We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such high hopes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Close Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Close Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Such high hopes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were just stopping for lunch and I had such high hopes for an enjoyable time, unfortunately , although we loved the hotel and the staff were very friendly, the food was a great disappointment. The sharing menu had been recommended to me by friends, so I shared a fish platter, there was hardly any fish, and I was still hungry after I finished it. Try and put some more on the plate - be generous. My friend had a salmon salad, and it was only 4 inches in diameter. It cost over £11. Still starving.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear AntoniaTrip,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at The Close Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food served and that you left feeling hungry.

The sharing dishes from our bar and garden menu are very popular and we receive many positive comments. It appears on this occasion we failed to deliver the dish to our usual high standard. I have passed along your comments to the kitchen team and emphasised the need for consistency. In regards to your friends salmon dish I am unsure of what dish you refer to as we offer only a smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel priced at £7.50 or a smoked salmon starter served with capers, lemon and brown bread priced at £7.95.

I am delighted with your comments regarding the hotel and the staff and hope that you will visit again in the future to give us a second chance.

Kind Regards
Clare Steward-Gadsden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    81
    33
    9
    10
See reviews for
36
236
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a 2 night deal dinner bed & breakfast. Hotel is on the main road but generous car park at the back of the building with entrance through the delightful garden which is quiet & peaceful. We had a room on the second floor which overlooked the garden. Perfectly clean, comfy bed & spacious bathroom with good shower. Plenty of cooked options for breakfast with no supplements charged. We had the choice for dinner of the Braaserie or the Dining Room & did one each night - had a very disappointing steak in the Brasserie but otherwise the food & service was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Gerry P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your comments relating to the accommodation and our beautiful garden.

I apologise that you were unhappy with the quality of the steak eaten in our Brasserie, your comments have been passed to our butcher. I am pleased you did however enjoy our wholesome breakfast and Dining Room offering.

Kind Regards
Clare Steward-Gadsden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My parents and I stayed here over Christmas. I could not fault it - beautiful rooms, all unique as you learn to expect with the Cotswold Inns chain of small, personal hotels.

The staff were all delightful, they were friendly, helpful and professional team who clearly loved their jobs and loved working together. Apologies for taking so long to tell you how great you all were!

The dining and ambiance was all faultless and I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear SianIng,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your Christmas break.

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay, the festive atmosphere was wonderful, one of my highlights being your family and some of our other guests enjoying mulled wine and mince pies after Midnight Mass.

I hope you and family will visit again soon!

Kind Regards
Clare Steward-Gadsden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived in Tetbury last week with no plans to stay, that is until we stumbled on the Close Hotel & ended up staying for 3 very enjoyable nights. The hotel itself was wonderful, built in the 16th century, the decor was lovely, & the atmosphere was so relaxing. The staff were so nice, friendly & attentive & to be honest they couldn't do enough for us. The food was in keeping with everything else about the hotel, excellent, especially the bar food...try the cream teas..yum!!! Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated & most important of all spotless. We cant wait to return to The Close Hotel again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish_colleen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Irish_Colleen99,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent unexpected stay at The Close Hotel.

I am thoroughly delighted that you chose to have an unexpected break with us and enjoyed the experience so much!

Your kind words have been passed to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards
Clare Steward-Gadsden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This place is in a great location, the building looks very impressive and the garden is wonderful in the summer however I do think the place needs a bit of a revamp, it does look slightly dated and I can’t help but think if they made these improvements the place would be fabulous. the food is good with service to match but not great, quite nice for a drink and lunch in the garden in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Olivia H,

Thank you for your review of your visit in August 2013.

Since your visit the hotel has undergone a dramatic refurbishment which includes the re positioning of the bar area, redecoration throughout the public areas and bedrooms.

Along with that the hotel has recently been awarded 2 AA rosettes and 3 *'s.

I am glad you enjoyed your luncheon in our beautiful garden and hope you will return to see the changes made to the interior.

Kind Regards
Clare Steward-Gadsden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Close hotel and would thoroughly recommend it on all counts. The staff without exception were courteous , professional , efficient ,knowledgable about the area and a credit to the hotel. Our room had been recently refurbished , it had a very big and comfortable bed and as the room overlooked the garden it was very quiet( we could hear the church clock strike the hour and half hour which we feel added to the ambience ).
We were particularly impressed by the flavourful dishes and the freshly baked bread was delicious." The only minor problem was an issue with the heating but this was very quickly remedied. I would urge anyone to try this hotel for themselves , going by our experience they won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyandcassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Rubyandcassie,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Your kind comments relating to the hardworking team and food have been reiterated.

I am glad we resolved the heating issue promptly and that it didn't inconvenience your stay too much.

I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best Regards
Clare Steward-Gadsden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was the first time we have stayed at the Close Hotel since the new owners took over and refurbished the hotel .. and it is even better than before. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff and the food was outstanding. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a Superior Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Julia G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am delighted with your comments and will pass on your praise to the staff.

After 10 months of new ownership we are all very pleased with the refurbishment and are happy that it brings much enjoyment to our guests.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Best Regards
Clare Steward-Gadsden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
20.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Close Hotel

Property: The Close Hotel
Address: 8 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Close Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful Cotswold market town of Tetbury, The Close Hotel and Restaurant holds the enviable reputation of being one of the finest 16th century town houses in the Cotswolds. Originally built in 1535 during the reign of King Henry VIII for John Steede a local Yeoman, the house has had many owners including Sir Thomas Estcourt, a wealthy wool merchant of the period. Since becoming a hotel in 1974, the Close Hotel has developed a reputation for excellence in hospitality by creating a warm and welcoming atmosphere, combined with the efficiency demanded by today's business world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Close Hotel Tetbury
The Close Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing