We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night stay”
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel stay was fine but somewhat overpriced. We booked a superior room and dinner B&B which after including for drinks and a bottle of wine cost us £250 for one night. It was fine but not £250 worth in our view. The hotel is adjacent to a busy junction so expect some traffic noise. The room was quite nice but the bed rather noisy and the "whirlpool" bath was no larger than a normal size bath. Evening dinner menu was a little limited but as per that published on the website so take a look. The breakfast menu was very good. The quality of the food and service was good but nothing special. All in all a nice friendly hotel if you get a good deal but rather expensive for what you get if you pay the full weekend rate.

Room Tip: You probably get traffic noise during the day and evening in most rooms but it does go quiet late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I spent 3 brilliant nights on the champagne break advertised on their website. We had a superior room with a seating area, very comfy and large bed. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath. A tv in each area (not the bathroom). the room was very clean and smart. The maid did an excellent job each day although we never saw her.
The food at all meals was worth waiting for, at busy times we had to wait a bit but it was freshly cooked when it came. The staff including the manager were helpful and cheery at all times. It was certainly a happy place to be and we felt that our stay was appreciated.
Tetbury is good place to stay and is central for many tourist attarctions. I think the only down side was the high outside temperatures at night but that wasnt the fault of The Snooty Fox, air conditioning is unusual in this country especially in small hotels such as this.
This Hotel can be recommended and we will return for our usual Xmas shopping trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed one night on business.was given the best room-a lovely four poster bed.had a nice meal and then borrowed one of the free loan DVDs!superb cooked breakfast,just a shame I had to go to work!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We checked-in after taking one of the many walks in the area. The staff are amazingly friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing. We had a few beers in the bar, one of which was a little past its best, but this was courteously rectified by the bar staff. The room and jacuzzi were excellent to relax in after the walk earlier. We ate quite late in the dining-room and the food was very good, even better than the last time we stayed here. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice for a relatively small establishment. Smooth check-out and a quick goodbye to Fred, I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have just returned from a weekend at the Snooty Fox, the staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, the location is brilliant,Tetford is a very pretty village. The room was spotlessly clean and very adequate for our needs even with the added benefit of a current tv guide! If I had to make a criticism there are two very small ones, the first being although we had a premium room it had no shower just a whirlpool bath which obviously takes a little longer than a shower in the morning. The second small criticism is there is no on site parking, which didn't cause a huge problem just a small added expense using the public car park behind the premises. The food was superb and the service at both breakfast and dinner was exemplary, the twice baked chees souffle was too die for! I wouldn't hesitate in giving this establishment 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikloriham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at The Snooty to celebrate my 30th birthday and it was fantastic. The staff are friendly, rooms and location are great, and the food is excellent. Our 2 night stay was one of the offers on the website which included b and b, evening meal, champagne on arrival, and a picnic lunch and it was really good value for money. Tetbury is a lovely town and the snooty is it's best feature. Fred is ace too!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonisterP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just enjoyed another night at this lovely hotel. Its a very welcoming place with friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere.
The bar area is cozy and lively and the food is good quality and value.
Arrived on a Monday afternoon and were given a room upgrade for no extra charge which we really appreciated. Breakfast is outstanding.
We shall return!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valleysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 7 in Tetbury
536 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 7 in Tetbury
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
886 reviews
13 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £68 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing