We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snooty Fox Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Priory(Horsley)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
337
216
76
38
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
337
216
76
38
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathdvd librarysuperior roompublic car parkfour posterevening mealgreat atmospherewell worth a visitcream teamarket placeantique shopsroom was largeroaring firefull englishlovely towneggs benedictenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

i have stayed at the Snooty Fox many times for the past 3 years and what a great place to stay, the staff, food and drinks are excellent and i would recommend it to anyone ok so it doesnt have a car park but there were no cars when it was built and its only a very short walk from the public car park

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We didn't stay at the Snooty Fox, we just had Sunday lunch in the bar area. It was all a bit Fawlty Towers. They looked like they were short staffed, the place was full but they only had one server behind the bar who clearly couldn't cope with the number of people who were there; when we arrived there was a waiter wandering around with two plates of food going from table to table - they had obviously lost track of who had ordered what; the tables were dirty, we had to ask for ours to be cleaned; and they had run out of one of the dishes we wanted to order. The food arrived after about 40 minutes- they had warned the person who had ordered before us that there was a wait, but not bothered to tell us - it was decent enough but then it's quite difficult to mess up ham, egg and chips. Maybe it was an off day, we probably won't bother to go back and find out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PiscoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to us. On very rare occasions, the sheer volume of walk in guests in a short period of time can place pressure on the service. We do plan to have adequate staff levels for the anticipated level of business but on this particular day, the numbers far exceeded expected numbers of casual diners. A full restaurant of pre-booked guests, as was the case on this day means it can be difficult to release someone to assist without affecting service to those that have booked. I’d like to mention that on days such as these, guests do move to different tables after ordering, if a more preferable table becomes vacant. Having served guests myself on those days, it can certainly be a ‘challenge’ re-locating them. I’m very proud of our offer at the Snooty Fox but quite obviously, we were a source of disappointment to you on this day. I’m not sure if this was your first visit to us or not, from your comments, so I’d like to invite you back for lunch, with my compliments. Perhaps you could call or email at your convenience, so that I can arrange this for you. I very much look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a thoroughly enjoyable break at the Snooty Fox thanks to a lovely (superior) room with a choice of different teas/water/coffee, bathrobes and Neutrogena toileteries. The staff were all extremely pleasant and very helpful. The food was wonderful - we tried wood pidgeon, vennison, chicken and sea bass, all of which were excellent. The only down side was the lack of parking though we did find some not too far from the hotel. Having said that it certainly would not stop us from recommending this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: A superior double at front of hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candiloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food here at the Snooty Fox. The team will be thrilled to know that their efforts have been recognised by you and I'll certainly pass on your comments. Unfortunately, with the Snooty Fox having been around since at least 1594, the provison for parking at a town centre Inn wasn't considered at the time. However, there's two long stay car parks (one of which is free) and on street parking. We'll be only too pleased to point out the best areas to park when you pull up outside to unload next time you stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Snoots' soon, I hope. Thank you again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed just one night for bed,breakfast and evening dinner to visit Westonbirt Arbouretum. Staff were exceptionally efficient and friendly. Room (3) was clean,comfortable and spacious. Food in the evening and for breakfast was well above average in quality. Only gripe was that they have no car park and we had to park in the street, which wasn't a problem, but it could have been.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay at the Snooty Fox. It's kind of you to mention how much you enjoyed the food and the service you received. The team and I take great delight in making visits to us as relaxed and pleasurable as possible for guests and they will be delighted to hear your comments. When you come again, which of course, we hope you do, pull up outside to unload and we'll direct you to the best parking for the time of day. Once again, thank you so much for your kind words and I very much look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

In the heart of the town perfectly placed, the room was Very much in the style of the hotel and with a huge inviting bed. We had dinner in the bar area and the food was of an excellent standard, the perfect relaxed atmosphere and surroundings only added to the attentive service we received. The following mornings breakfast was again to a very high standard and set us up well for the day ahead. Definitely would recommend if in the area, from start to finish a superb experience, and Fred( the dog) was a bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotterssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews