We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the heart of Tetbury”
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Tetbury”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We haven't stayed at this hotel but have called in for a drink on a couple of occasions. It is an interesting old building and is very cosy inside. It is right in the centre of Tetbury township, directly opposite the old market place. Not sure if it would be noisy staying there are it is on the intersection of four roads, but it is worth a visit for a drink or a meal. You would need to check reviews from people who have slept there.

Helpful?
Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback regarding the Snooty Fox. I’m delighted that you found us to be cozy and worth a return visit. With regards to staying here, I do understand the concern of the road, but aside from the rush hour there’s not a time when traffic noise intrudes to a point of nuisance. All rooms have secondary glazing, which does exclude all exterior noise in the cooler months. You’re quite right about anybody researching via tripadvisor to look at other guest comments. Aside from the clock annoying someone once, I don’t recall many comments regarding traffic.

I do hope that we’ll see you again, and hopefully for an overnight stay. I’d be delighted to take the booking and ensure your stay was just as relaxing as your visits to our bar.

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    199
    67
    35
    24
See reviews for
60
387
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Snooty is a perfect country inn in a charming Cotswold town, and nicely central. The hotel staff is more than helpful and friendly. The rooms are charming, and the superior doubles have beds that rival the BIg Bed of Ware. Breakfasts are hearty. A great place to stay if you are visiting this area

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. My staff and I are always delighted when guests acknowledge that they’re had a great stay. It really does give us an awful lot of pleasure to know that we’ve achieved our goals in making it such a lovely experience for you. I do very much look forward to seeing you again.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here last week on a family recomendation and throughly enjoyed it. The location, the food the service, everything was of a high standard. Excellent location for exploring the Cotswolds. Staff were pleasant and the place was extreamly clean. My lack of one more star is only down to the fact that we booked a superior room which was large tastefully decorated and very clean. My only gripe was that although quite clearly these rooms are advertised with a whirlpool bath it doesn't mention that there isn't a shower which to be honest I always prefer in hotels. There was a mixer tap over the bath but no shower screen or hook to establish the fundimentals of a shower, and the bath for a 6ft plus person would mean you sitting upright with the bath water running round you (don't expect jacuzzi bubbles its a whirlpool bath not a jacuzzi). however this was overcome by the other half of the team assisting and so order was partially restored. Also to note that like so many places around the cotswolds there is no dedicated parking for the hotel, so its find a space just down the road in the sqaure where you can park for aslong as you like. I have also been informed you can park down side streets near the hotel without too much bother but this is untested. Other than the above I would still highly recommend a short break here and the food I must mention again as this was as good as any you would find in 4-5 star hotels.

Room Tip: Room 7 is large with a lower lounge floor and three step steps up to bathroom and bed area. Overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy1976WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay. Whilst the vast majority of our rooms have stand up showers and screens, there are two that have feature baths, which both have occasional shower heads for hair rinsing. As no two rooms are the same, we are always delighted to find exactly the right room for you when you book direct with us. You’re quite correct in mentioning that we don’t have a car park, but there is a lot of space on road and in the pay and display car parks. The best option is always to pull up in front of the hotel to load and unload and then we’ll give instruction on how to get to all the spaces. Having run the Snooty Fox for ten years, I have failed to find a free space only once. I’m also unaware of any car crime in the locality, in my tenure here. I do very much look forward to seeing back here at the ‘Snooty Fox’
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

spent 2 nights at the snooty over the period of a week on our way down and back from Cornwall and can honestly say it just gets better . George is adorable , Mark & Richard are stars and all the staff are wonderful. Weller our Patterdale terrier just loves it there and even got his own sausage for breakfast . As always we will be back !!!!! Big thank you for keeping the surprise from my parents

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for the comments. You know that we absolutely love it when you and the family are here. It’s always a delight looking after you, and of course, seeing Weller too. We’ll see you all soon, and thank you once again for leaving feedback.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Called in for a quick lunch with friends. It is a beautiful old coaching inn type building with high ceilings. The walls are in local stone. Featured a good selection of beers and a wide menu. The staff were very friendly and just made an average lunch very enjoyable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I’m disappointed that you thought the lunch to be only average, so please, do feel free to give me a call to go through your visit with me. Hopefully we’ll speak soon, but otherwise, I very much look forward to seeing you at some point in the near future.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
287 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we did eat there. This well-located gastro-pub is in the heart of the charming little Cotswolds town of Tetbury. We ate in the snug pub area rather than in the restaurant, but the menu was varied and the food arrived quickly and was tasty. But the big draw here in this typically dog-friendly Cotswolds country pub, however, is Big George (“not the largest dog we’ve had”), the black Great Dane who approaches each pub table silently, his big sad face begging for snacks – which you shouldn’t give him, because the barkeeps sneak him dog-biscuits. But Big George does not mind a gentle pat on the rump. Forget about those mechanical “greeting cats” in sushi restaurants – Big George is the best greeter a pub could have. Well-recommended for location, food, and dog-friendliness. Or friendly-dog-ness.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Snooty Fox. I’m glad that you like George too. He’s such a draw, as was our much beloved Fred and does add an element to the business. We do keep a big stack of gravy bones behind the bar for George and any other visiting Dogs, which is the only food any dog should really be given in our bar. As you mention, we do discourage George being encouraged to eat from diners at the table as he’s been trained to ignore people eating. We do feel it’s unfair on other diners to try to encourage feeding, so a big thank you for the understanding. For any potential guests reading this, George is very aware of the other boundaries too, so he’ll venture to the bar, outside or ‘Fred’s room’ opposite the bar only.
Hopefully, we’ll see you again soon.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIDEFORD
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We loved the room, very fresh and clean, new television, lovely jacuzzi, great choice of tea and coffee in the room and a lovely bar and restaurant downstairs. Difficult to find somewhere as good for the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSnootyFox, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for the absolutely lovely comments that you have left. I’m delighted you enjoyed yourselves and I know that the staff will be pleased that you have recognised their efforts. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
25.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Property: Snooty Fox Hotel
Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing