We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our weekend stay at Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our weekend stay at Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had an extremely enjoyable stay at the Snooty Fox at the end of January. The staff in the hotel reception and restaurant were very friendly, extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and we were lucky enough to have a jacuzzi bath in our room. The breakfasts and dinners we had were delicious and such a varied selection to choose from. We would definitely visit the Snooty Fox again and to this end, have already recommended the Snooty Fox to our friends as a delightful place to stay in a gorgeous part of the country.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu25071970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    196
    67
    35
    23
See reviews for
60
383
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We love this place. The town is an old fashion delight and the hotel lives up to it. All the staff are excellent, especially Richard, and the food outstanding. Only one issue and that is the quality of the bed (or mattress). We had one of those beds where you roll toward each other in the middle, whether ou want to or not! Put that right and The Snooty Fox is 5 star as far as we are concerned.

Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Initially met with a lukewarm welcome, but things improved over the next few days. This is NOT a disabled friendly hotel, no lift and long stairs. Food in the dining room was in very small 'designer' nouvelle cuisine portions, beautifully presented and expensive. Food from the same kitchen was cheaper and more plentiful when served in the hotel bar. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the room provided very nice, overall an above average but not to be repeated experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed over-night (January 17th/18th 2014 ) and were extremely pleased with our choice.
Our room was pretty quiet, which was very important as my husband had to sleep well before day surgery at Tetbury Hospital. It was clean, and had good tea/coffee making facilities (even filtered coffee!) This hotel is agood place to stay when exploring the delights of Tetbury.
The breakfast was excellent and very pleasantly served by Richard Burton, who works hard and looks after customers well in all areas. Good evening menus available at reasonable prices. Overall The Snooty Fox is well run and offers amazing value for money. We are coming back in early February. Easy Online Booking System which is a bonus. Thankyou.

Room Tip: Select room carefully, as the ones over the bar can be a bit on the noisy side at the W/E Lovely lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_and_AnthonyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for just one night in Dec 2011 (Only just signed up to Tripadvisor and it won't let me set a date further back than Feb 2013). My partner and I travelled to the area for a Christmas visit to Westonbirt arboretum which is just a short drive away.

I chose The Snooty Fox after browsing their website, because I much prefer a homely style inn than a soulless chain hotel. Being able to have an evening, pub style meal (and lovely ale) was without leaving the building was also a high point. The whole place had so much character - worn, polished wood panelling, interesting nooks and crannys; the bedroom made us feel like we could have been in a period drama, real attention to detail in furniture and furnishings.

We also had the good fortune to stumble onto the Christmas market literally outside the pub the next day too.

The breakfast was amazing as well - proper poached eggs! (which try as I might, I can't replicate). Recommended to various friends, and will definitely be visiting again in the future - perfect place!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We decided to stay overnight at the Snooty Fox to help clear the January Blues.We were very impressed we stayed in room 12 with the four poster bed and our package included dinner and breakfast the following morning.
The food was fantastic qualityand the portion sizes were generous, i enjoyed the beetrot mouse,,and the service was excellent.and professional.
After our eveing meal we passed the remainder of the eving in the comfortable lounge with a glass of red wine.
The room was comfortable and very clean with plenty of tea and coofee making facilites..
The bed was super and we both enjojed a comfortable nights sleep and woke up to enjoy the lovely town of Tetbury

Room Tip: Room 12 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went to the Snooty Fox for the New Year with high expectations. Unfortunately it did not live up to its reputation. The two day New Year Package was expensive and disappointing. The New Years Eve Dinner, although seven courses was small to say the least, there was no bread provided and no coffee after the meal unless we wished to pay extra for it! The disco started really well and everyone was enjoying it until we were joined by those who had obviously not paid for the package and the music changed to cater for those young people. At midnight there was no champagne to toast in the New Year, except for the staff even though this was listed as being part of the package. This really was out of order. All through the night the Manager did not once come in to see if we were having a good time or to ensure that everything was going well. The next day (New Years Day), some of the choices for starters and mains were taken off the menu as they hadn't enough to go around (they must have been aware of numbers staying as part of the package). Coffee and truffles were part of the menu and these did not materialise. The waiting staff were friendly and helpful and did their best in poor circumstances but were left to deal with complaints with what appeared to be no back up from management. The Management was invisible for the two days and there seemed to be no connection between the Package as described on the website and the reality of what was provided. The food was good, the receptionist was helpful, the staff were obliging but this didn't make up for a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not over the bar or restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
25.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Property: Snooty Fox Hotel
Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing