We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK.. but could be great!”
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Rickmansworth, Herts. UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK.. but could be great!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here during Badminton....Lets first focus on the positives. The pub is great, the restaurant food is really not bad at all and the staff are very friendly and really nice people. Its also very dog friendly, which for me is a major plus. The hotel itself simply needs updating in its decor. The neutral brown matted carpet up from the main lobby itself makes "day guests" think that the decor all around the hotel is equally neutral and well maintained. Not so - as soon as you head into the communal areas you step back 40 years (the carpets themselves may even be that old!). The room we had was OK - large, with a comfortable bed and sofa. The bathroom was fine - although the over bath shower was weak and the main taps leaked. The carpet again needed some attention. Now I have stayed at other hotels such as Whatley Manor and even the Hare and Hounds (Westonbirt) which allow dogs and you cannot blame them for causing additional wear and tear on the place. It simply needs investment to bring them up to a good standard.
Overall the pub is friendly and the restaurant (whilst the service can be slow) is good - but it only gets a 3.4* /5* average from me as the place needs investment to bring the hotel up to standard. Do that well - and you get a 4.4*....... look forward to staying with you again, when !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boycey0ycey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking time write a review and for your custom over the years. The Snooty is starting to show its age and the refurbishment of the rooms and is in the planning stage as I write this. I do believe our rates reflect this when you compare them to the competition you mention.

I look forward as you do to when.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    203
    69
    35
    25
See reviews for
62
396
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed at The Snooty Fox last night as a last minute getaway.

We arrived just after 4 so only had to pay for 2 hours parking - it's free on Sundays.

Check-in was easy, evening meal was out of this world - I tried Guinea Fowl for the first time and it was amazing. Every course of both of our meals was beautiful to the eye and even better to the palette.

Social club didn't keep us awake and we were back in our room just after 10pm - we stayed in room 4.

Sorry, didn't check out the curtains or braiding - was too busy enjoying my wine in the Jacuzzi bath!

The little touches such as the bath robes and every kind of tea possible were fab.

Breakfast was perfect, plenty of toast and tea/coffee. Gloucester Old Spot sausages were literally spot-on!

Service was great at every turn.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsIMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visited on Easter Monday for a cream tea. There was one person working in the bar and serving in at least three areas. Our scones were soggy and too warm and there was not enough cream.

Given it a slightly high score as the atmosphere was nice and the food was well presented, but I would personally give another place a try when seeking out scones, jam and cream.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your scones. Naturally if you had asked for more cream this would have been forthcoming. We do endeavour to serve the highest standard of scones and bake them on site. Sometimes there are slight differences. I hope you will return shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just returned from a weekend stay at The Snooty Fox and following the reviews here, I had great expectations. Unfortunately, I was very much underwhelmed. The rate we paid (£130 for Friday and £160 for Saturday, B&B), I feel did not represent good value for money. The decor of the rooms is very tired and dated - so much so that the room felt a bit 'dirty' even though it had obviously been cleaned.

We stayed in Room 3, which was classed as a 'superior' room with a sofa and a jacuzzi bath. The bath was lovely and a very nice touch, as was the sofa. The unfortunate thing about this room, however, was the it overlooked a local social club which (we found) was incredibly lively on a Friday and Saturday night. Both myself and my husband were kept up until approx 2am every night from the noise of drunken clubbers next door. I appreciate there is very little the hotel can do about this, which is why I did not mention it to the manager when we checked out - but those thinking of staying here should take note - prepare for a sleepless night!

The breakfast was acceptable, apart from the sausages which were grissley and mine even had a small bone! The coffee was far too strong (and I like strong coffee!) and we were never once offered toast, despite the other tables in the breakfast area having an abundance!

Finally - there is no hotel parking! I emailed the hotel two days before we arrived asking if there was a car park nearby, but I did not receive a response - which I thought was poor. When we arrived, we discovered there was a SHORT STAY car park behind the hotel, which was fine if you don't mind popping out every three hours to top up the ticket (it is free overnight)! There is a long stay car park further down the road, but it has a gate which is locked at 8pm - not much good if you're going out for dinner!

We came for a romantic weekend away and sadly were very disappointed. We love the area, but will not go back to the Snooty Fox.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you taking the time to review your stay.

As you rightly highlight the bulk of the issues you experienced are out of our control. I do want to clarify for other readers though that the long stay car park is accessible 24 hours a day from several other entrances and in fact despite the notice on the gate in my time it has not actually been locked (although you would not know this).
The sausages are made by Jessie Smiths the butcher in Tetbury and I will be raising the fact that you found his sausages not up to scratch. I am sorry that you feel the room was not up to scratch and that you were not offered toast. I will look into this.

I regret that you will not be returning to The Snooty Fox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Pros: Our room (Cottesmore) exceeded expectations. Large, with sofa & table. Bathroom very nice with robes included + spa bath. Tea/coffee tray very comprehensive. Bed/pillows comfy. Free DVDs library.
The staff were very pleasant and the bar area is a nice traditional area.
The breakfast was very good.
The location is excellent - right by the Market Hall in the middle of Tetbury.
The B&B rate we paid was value for money.
Cons: No parking. We were very lucky to find a free spot nearby. The nearby Pay & Display had a daytime maximum stay of 3 hours (8am - 6pm). There is a free carpark about half a mile away though.
The state of the carpets in the public areas upstairs are rather offputting but our room was clean.
The bar food we were served was sub standard - cold & tastless. The young waitress did not deal with the problem at all well - in fact I would score her 1/10 for customer service. However, a more senior member of staff dealt effectively with this issue on check-out.

Room Tip: Cottesmore room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesisterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for the review. As I have commented to the previous reviewer who I understand was with you we did not live up to our usual standards in the delivery of service or the quality of the bar food. I apologise for this and the fact it was not put right on the spot.

In terms of the rest of the review you correctly highlight the pros and cons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great room @ Snooty Fox which included breakfast( which was fine). Debated about eating elsewhere on the evening but we eventually ordered the fish pie @ £12. It was fairly awful & tasteless & my sister's was actually still cold! Would not recommend( we eventually went to another hotel to eat). However on checking out the cost of the 2 fish pies was removed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
I apologise for the poor experience and subsequent poor handling of your complaint. It is always disappointing that we do meet the standards and on this occasion we fell short. I hope this has not put you off visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A traditional pub steeped in history in a central position. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room large, providing everything we needed. The jacuzzi bath was a lovely surprise. The food was excellent and the chef a real star; he even went to the trouble to print off a recipe for me! We had the added bonus of being there on April 23rd (St. George's Day) so we were entertained by the Gloucester Morris Men who, after dancing outside, went into the bar for a singing session. Lots of songs to join in with and again, all were very friendly and welcoming. I would certainly stay there again. A good base to explore from. We spent one day in Bath and used the "Park & Ride" which was very easy to find from Tetbury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186349Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury-food-lover, General Manager at Snooty Fox Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I hope you have had a chance to try the recipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
504 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
562 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
710 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Property: Snooty Fox Hotel
Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing