We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Pangbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This is a very pleasant Hotel in the heart of the town that has a great restaurant and bar with friendly service. Being pet friendly is a big plus, the resident Great Dane ‘Fred’ is a wonderful dog. All in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    203
    69
    35
    25
See reviews for
62
396
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I have stayed at 'The Snooty Fox' more times than I care to remember - in fact I call it my second home! The general manager Marc Gibbons is a truly top bloke where nothing is ever too much trouble and his resident hound 'Freddie' the great dane, is an absolute delight! The Snooty is a great place to enjoy a relaxing break located in an area of beautiful english countryside. When I want to get away from it all this is where I come.

I cannot recommend the Snooty Fox high enough, try it for yourself. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddjjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

we were made very welcome by all the staff .we had a prolem with our car and mark soon had it sorted for us.the food and wine is very good .tetbury a very nice market town ,nice to see no big name shops in town .many thanks again for looking after us.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2010

from arrival to departure we were looked after by the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food was wonderful, rooms were of a very high standard and the whole experience was the best i have had in ages . I would recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pir8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Great welcome and an amazing building, much bigger than we thought. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We ate dinner on Sunday night and breakfast on Monday. The food was wholesome but not exceptional. The location is ideal as a base if you want to discover the area. The staff are pleasant and have lots of information of local attractions. Oh, and don't forget Fred with whom my wife became besotted!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Late booking. Staff, especially male waiter very pleasant and helpful. Food was of a good quality. However, having the top four poster room proved, I thought, not to be of the best quality for price paid (£250 for dinner, bed and breakfast) The carpet was grubby and blackened at the edges from dust. There was dust on the fabric chairs. Dust behind the tea/coffee making facilities, cobwebs behind the radiator and the coffee table and windowsill were also in need of a clean. One of the bedside lamps could not be used as it did not have a power point. The bathroom was very clean, although we could not get the jacuzzi to work and the shower proved to be a bit of a problem. The bed was huge with comfortable bedding. As only 1 night stay, problems reported at checkout.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmoneypenny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Staff very friendly and welcoming, room comfortable and food great. A relaxing short stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bus22Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
567 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
718 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Property: Snooty Fox Hotel
Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing