We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality and Value”
Review of Snooty Fox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Snooty Fox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We had just come from London and so the Snooty Fox was a much needed break from characterless corporate hotels.
Sited in the centre of the beautiful town of Tetbury the hotel has a lot of history and character. The service was excellent, the room well appointed and the restaurant was excellent.
We would recommend this hotel to everyone whether it be for a business or leisure stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobskiite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2010

We had an overnight stay at the Snooty Fox and really enjoyed it. The location is good, being right in the middle of Tetbury. We stayed on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed, a well stocked tea tray and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was nicely fitted with a jacuzzi bath and plenty hot water.
The food at both dinner and breakfat was excellent, well cooked and presented.
We will be sure to have a return visit. Oh and dont forget Fred the resident Great Dane, big, soppy, friendly and loveable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IG2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We were a party of four passing through, looking for a stopping place after a long drive...
We were easily accomodated with two rooms. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, with appealing decor. The service was friendly, and the food in the restaurant was very good. We did have a room facing the town, and on the occasion could here the clock go off in the town centre, but it wasn't a problem. It just added to the quirkiness of the accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toto04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

First things first - the Snooty Fox is a lovely hotel. The rooms are massive, as is the bed, which is super comfortable. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It's located bang in the middle of the village. And the massive great dane is an added bonus. The breakfast was huge and tasty. Everything was great, except there were an unpleasant amount of flies. In our room, there were three or four big old buzzy flies which we couldn't get rid of, and at breakfast there were a good five or six flies hassling us as we ate. I can only imagine this was an isolated incident, but it did affect both our sleep and the breakfast. Assuming this isn't usually the case, I still recommend the hotel on every other ground. One other thing - the Chef's Table restaurant down the road is one of the best that I've ever been to anywhere in the world. Magnificent food prepared in front of you by a sensational chef. It is stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuilArTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were in the area for a wedding, and had a fantastic visit to this charming Cotswolds town. We weren't sure what to expect, as we had the kids with us, but The Snooty Fox was anything but snooty. We were made to feel like regulars, and not the first time visitors that we were.

Great food and drink (with an emphasis on traditional British fare,) with a very friendly staff and a mix of colorful local characters in the public bar. The kids enjoyed meeting Fred the Great Dane who held court by the fireplace in the lounge, and were able to choose a movie to watch in the room (letting Mom and Dad sneak in a glass of after dinner bubbly in the pub...) The hotel manager (Mark, I believe,) really went out of his way to see that we were well wined and dined, although in the morning, I was glad that I did not take him up on his late evening offer of sampling his collection of exotic French Calvadoses...

The room was comfortable, spacious and surprisingly quiet considering that the hotel is in the heart of the town. In the morning, Mom was able to soak in the large bath, while the kids and I feasted on a very generous breakfast, before exploring the beautiful (but seemingly still sleeping) town.

We will be back to "The Snooty" and I look forward to another opportunity to explore this beautiful and interesting corner of The Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoobarbandMustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I can only comment on the food as we did not stay the night, but it was poor. The restaurant was full of flies, the food greasy, swimming in oil. The salad was limp and the cheesecake dry. They also seem unable to seat a group on one table. Not good.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaSmith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Found hotel on trip advisor for 2 night break in Cotswolds with my wife.Absolutely great! We had a superior room on dinner b and b.The room was large and cosy.The food-dinner and breakfast was superb couldn't fault it. We found all the staff unfailingly polite and helpful with excellent dining room service.Location is brilliant but only small problem is lack of hotel parking although public parking is close by if you get lucky-we did.Overall a fantastic break in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LianYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
515 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
584 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
741 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snooty Fox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snooty Fox Hotel

Address: Market Place, Tetbury GL8 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £111 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snooty Fox Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Famous coaching inn at the heart of Tetbury’ ‘The Snooty’ is all that a quintessential English inn should be. Its 12 bedrooms are intimate and stylish, while its ground floor boasts a very popular bar and restaurant. British food and an excellent wine list complete the picture. Feel free to make a fuss of Fred, the resident Great Dane as you pass by. Tetbury with its royal heritage, is ideal for browsing for antiques and exploring the local area. ‘The Snooty’ is located at the heart of this bustling market town and is a popular destination for many locals and day visitors to the area. The bar offers a tempting range of real ales, local ciders and a selection of Ports, Cognacs, Calvados and Armagnac’s all personally selected by the manager. The hotel is renowned locally for the quality and variety of its food offer, from coffee and cakes in the morning, leisurely lunches, traditional afternoon teas to candlelit dinners and wholesome bar snacks. The Grafton Room located towards the rear of the hotel is an ideal venue for private dining, family celebrations and small discreet meetings.Yet one reason why The Snooty Fox is a great favourite with visitors to this most Royal part of Gloucestershire is the intimacy and style of the bedrooms. All different in shape and size they have been dedicatedly refurbished to allow you to be refreshed from a good night’s sleep and enjoy another great day in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Snooty Fox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snooty Fox Hotel Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing