We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morning visit”

Westonbirt Arboretum
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Morning visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Staying at a local hotel we thought a good idea to Arboretum while we were in the area. A lovely place for walking good laid out paths and all on the flat. well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    481
    140
    59
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good Day Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent about three hours here while waiting for the Italian Gardens across the road to open.

Parking was a shambles but the facoilities were good and the various walks were well sign posted with routes to suit all.

We did find the restaurant to be expensive and the food was fairly average, but it could be that we arrived at a bad time as we had to select our cakes etc.

Overall it is clear that the Forestry Commission are working hard to make this a worthwhile attraction whilst also [preserving the woodlands in the spirit of the Holfords.

Toliet facilties are good, but don't make the mistake of driving to the plant centre as they do not have any such facilities and it is necessary to go back through the arboretum entrance and convince the person on duty that you have already paid etc.

This is supposed to be rectified with the opening of the visitors centre but the staff did not seem convinced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryBusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Guided Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We are Friends of the Arboretum and make occasional visits. This time we decided upon a Wednesday guided walk conducted by a Friends Volunteer. Lasted a little under 2 hours and was really interesting. Lots of snippets of information, tales of the Holfords, etc.
The entrance is being completely reworked with new welcome centre. This will open later in June 2014,
After the walk we had a very nice lunch in the revamped Restaurant. Choose a table, note the number and go to the till and order from a reasonably varied menu of mains, cakes, drinks and the like, pay and it is served at the table. I note that some have considered the restaurant expensive. Can't agree when offset by decent quality rarely found in locations like this.
Will make more use of my membership now that the restaurant has improved so much.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnB042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gruffalo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to celebrate the Gruffalo's birthday, loads of Gruffalo activities to do, nice food in the restaurant if a little pricey, nice walk around the Gruffalo trail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank natalie239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

As tree/garden enthusiasts, Westonbirt was one of the top priorities on our UK trip, and we weren't disappointed. We set out to spend a few hours there, and spent the whole day. Undoubtably one of the highlights of our trip so far.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westonbirt Arboretum also viewed

 
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Westonbirt Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing