We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
A walk in the woods

With an unseasonal weekend warm winter week my wife and I went to Westonbirt Arboretum, the tree... read more

Reviewed yesterday
idcarmichael
,
Bristol UK
Great place to spend a day

Wow, what a fabulous place. So many different species. Beautifully kept and so interesting... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Chrissy C
,
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Read all 2,164 reviews
  
Reviews (2,164)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveller rating
1,197
625
203
78
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
625
203
78
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews autumn colours silk wood enchanted christmas forestry commission tree walk treetop walkway gruffalo trail car park beautiful trees japanese maples dog owners half term annual membership dogs are allowed mobility scooter dog walkers lovely place
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2018

Having been twice before, we decided to go again and we booked a 7.40pm trail start time which is the last one of the day. We arrived earlier so that we could get some food before setting off on the trail as previous experience as told us if you wait until the end of the later trial, there is no food left! Having grabbed a bite we set off and although there was a new attraction - lights set to music in one corner, the amount of interaction with the children had diminished - no smoke bubbles that the kids try and reach as they glide over the pathway and the smoke hoop machine was pointing down wards so none of them really got off the ground. Really disappointing to be honest. Also a cup of mulled wine was extortionate - 4 cups cost us £15.20! By the time we finished walking round, the fake snow machine had been stopped and was being packed up as were almost all the attractions included anyone that had been dressed up as part of the activity scene. So we really didn't feel the Christmas vibe - nor felt we got our money's worth this year. We won't be bothering again - sad as it used to be really nice but this year they added a small funfair (at extra cost) and I think they have gone the maximum money route rather than the 'wow' factor it used to be - simple and effective. Shame.

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank JulieJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Sorry to read that you were disappointed. But, thank you very much for your feedback, which will be passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love Westonbirt - perfect for kids, always plenty to look at & different activities to participate in along the way. We walked for over 2 hours and with 2 children under 6, that was an achievement.

However, food is restaurant is nice but very pricey. I opted for a roasted red pepper & mozzarella toastie. What I got was an over cheesy toastie with a touch of red pepper. I like cheese but it was way to much and where had the red pepper gone? For what it was, it was basic. Thrown together. Not cheap either.

Would defiantly recommend taking a picnic with you - if you are on a budget or don’t want to spend a lot. Other than that, kids meal deals are good and there is a good range of food to choose from, including lots of yummy ice cream!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank msage18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

Visited in mid-November and had missed the last of the maples in colour. There was a little left of the oaks and sweet chestnut colour. Would recommend that the price change to 'off-season' could be felixible and be dropped with the leaf colour. Beautiful place and the planting is obviously amazing, but expensive one off entry when the colour had virtually all gone and you've travelled a distance.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank will722018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Sorry to hear that you missed the last of the maples in colour. Thank you for your comments on seasonal pricing, which have been noted and will be passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

We love it here. Yes you need to remember your membership if you have one but that's just common sense!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank melc891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018

I can't say enough about Westonbirt as a wonderful place for a family day out. It is quite fascinating and beautiful, even if you don't share my passion for trees. The overhead walkway added fairly recently is fantastic. Autumn colours when we visited were amazing, and we even saw Japanese visitors admiring their own japanese acers!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 52Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestonbirtArb, Marketing Officer at Westonbirt Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad you enjoyed the trees, the colours and the Treetop Walkway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews