We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chavenage House Tetbury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chavenage House

Chavenage House
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: CHAVENAGE HOUSE is a privately owned Elizabethan Manor House open to the public. It has been used as a TV location for many productions and is at present playing Trenwith in the popular Poldark. There is so much more to see and enjoy. Guided tours by members of the family.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Chavenage House Tetbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent visit. The tour is conducted by the members of the family so you get some interesting insights. The house is facinating with some very unique features. If you are into country house visiting this is definitely one not to miss. The house is open 2-5 and they do a circular type tour in which you just join the group and drop out when you get to where you started. Takes about 2 hours so you are best advised to arrive promptly. There are fair few stairs to negotiate, nothing too dramatic but not for anyone who is not reasonably mobile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Went with a group to have a tour of this wonderful old house. On the day we went filming had just finished for the remake of Poldark. The family, who live in the house, showed us their wonderful home and gave us a very informative and amusing talk. We were in the Cotswolds for five days and this has to be our most favourite place ever.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Lel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous tour, fabulous house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second time to visit Chavenage House. Again it was our favorite house and favorite tour in all of the Cotswolds. The owners love their home, and show this love in their tours. Our guide was the daughter of the owner(Caroline). She is a wonderful guide. Very humorous family stories and anecdotes of their life at Chavenage. The house is close to Tetbury, and well sign posted. This was the highlight of our trip!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank sy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Worth every minute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a real treat - a personal tour from a member of the family who knows every nook and cranny and has a good line in amusing stories alongside the key facts. The house is historic as well as very lived-in, and the whole informal experience is so different from many other places where perforce the official guide tells the official story.

Our visit happened to coincide with the end of one filming of a major new BBC series and the setting up for another - we were in the middle of the set and had to tread carefully! The fact that so much of the usual contents had had to be moved to accommodate the filming kept Rona's brother (so sorry - do not recall your name) on his toes and added to the interest ('Oh I see that's been moved too!').

Do make time to go to this lovely house - you will really enjoy it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank martico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were lucky enough to visit during the Easter weekend. When we arrived we were greeted by George, Dad of the family outside the main house, and once parked up our tour began!

George gave us a fascinating tour of the house (some areas were set up as a film set so not as normal) briefly handing over to Grandfather David (during the half time rugby break!), who was equally full of fantastic stories. The house was wonderful to visit as the front part has remained unchanged, and unmodernised since early 1600's. What a treat to see a home like this. The "Cromwell room" including the bed he slept in untouched by time. Wonderful tapestry in this room. I wouldn’t want to include any spoilers, as George’s enthusiasm and storytelling will cover all you would want to know about the house and its history!
Other visitors arrived at the house as we toured, and just joined in, with George taking them at the end of our tour to the other parts of the house they may have missed. An incredibly personal service and a joy to see the house and meet the family. I would recommend a visit if you are in the area during its limited opening times. I will certainly be returning!

It was £8 per adult for the tour, parking was directly outside the house. I believe its open May - Sept on Thursday and Sunday afternoons, between 2pm and 5pm. However they also open Sundays/bank holidays I think, so its worth emailing them to check. I recieved a response from Caroline within a day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank lovetoholiday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chavenage House also viewed

 

Been to Chavenage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing