We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Avon Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tetbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avon Cottage
Ranked #14 of 15 Tetbury B&B and Inns
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Excellent location right at the center of Tetbury with car parking opposite. The room was clean and tidy and the beds very comfortable even the pull out bed for my son. The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The shower was powerful. What really makes the stay is the friendliness of Ruth and Nigel. They are fab and breakfast conversations were great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne47852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The review Heather 408 gives is almost exactly the experience we had. Based on the website www.tetburyaccommodation.co.uk I imagined we would be staying in a quaint 17th Century Cottage in the heart of Tetbury. Indeed we were, but the decor was 1980s and the house smelt strongly of stale cigarette smoke. The bedroom was clean, presentable and less smoky than the rest of the house and the owners were friendly but I felt my £70 merited more than the experience we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy123Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's ideally situated right outside a free car park in the middle of the lovely picturesque town. My wife and I had a double room which was spotlessly clean, with a spare bed overlooking the square, and this, very good value at £65. All the facilities we need from a B&B, TV, kettle, shower, bath etc, were there. As soon as we arrived Ruth started warming the room up for us and it was lovely and cosy by the time we got back in after going for lunch in the town. We had a nice cooked breakfast, with good fresh tasting ingredients, a piece of fruit, a choice of cereals, orange juice and a lovely big mug of tea or coffee. Conversation was easy, friendly and good fun, Ruth and Nigel made us very welcome at Avon Cottage and if we're in that part of the country again, we won't hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H1llb1lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Wanted an overnight stay in bed and breakfast accommodation inTetbury and found Avon Cottage. Lovely greeting, lovely room, lovely breakfast and really nice people(Ruth and Nigel). Entertained at breakfast, not rushed and left with a big smile. From me.......highly recommended. Paul Lloyd.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here with my partner and another couple whilst in Tetbury for a friends wedding in March 2013. The wedding was at the Great Tythe barn and Avon Cottage is a stone's throw away so an ideal location! Ruth was very welcoming and really helpful in letting us have the keys straight away so we could go off to the wedding in the morning and not worry about checking in etc during the day! Avon Cottage is a cosy house with lots of character. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay - lovely beds, clean rooms and yummy breakfast! Thanks Ruth (and husband!) for looking after us all.x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently stayed here for one night and although the B&B is right in the heart of Tetbury, we were disappointed with the overall experience. There is definitely a strong smell of cigarette smoke when you enter the property and the downstairs generally seems dirty. The bedroom was clean and tidy however the decor is dated and the shower weak. The owners are friendly but I didn't feel they 'went out of their way' for us and we decided not to stay for breakfast. It's not what we expected for £70 per night and I feel that if they had a webiste with images it would help people to decided whether it's the right place for them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a night to get out of town. We were very suprised to find such a nice place for such a reasonable price, especially being available last minute on a Friday night. The room was very private on the third floor and the decor was fresh and modern. Ruth and Nigel really do go out of their way to make their guests comfortable and Ruth's breakfast was delicious. I never smelled the cigarette smell that someone else complained of and I would normally notice that. Make sure to ask Ruth how to properly operate the shower as the water pressure might seem low otherwise. Great location in Tetbury with bars and restaurants just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tetbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
567 reviews
3.4 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Cottage

Property: Avon Cottage
Address: 6 Gumstool Hill, Tetbury GL8 8DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tetbury
Also Known As:
Avon Cottage Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing