We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee and lunch with friends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welcome Chair

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Welcome Chair
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Tetbury
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coffee and lunch with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

It was ok. Tea and coffee were good. Lunch was good and fresh but a little on the "basic" side. Quiche and salad. Salad consisted only of a small amount of lettuce,2 slices of tomato and cucumber.the quiche and home made pudding was very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madcatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They don't want kids”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We had our lovely, well-behaved daughter with us. But NO! No pushchairs allowed! We couldn't even get in the door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WeightonSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely looking restaurant. shocking quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Called in to this restaurant. It looked really nice from outside, welcoming and a bit quirky with all the chairs.
Ordered a ploughmans, it arrived with 2 bits of cheese a leaf of lettuce and a tomato. all presented on a side plate!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lunch at Granny's house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Take a trip back to the 70s and enjoy lunch at your Granny's! The place is very retro indeed, but is clean and tidy.

No facilities at all for children - in fact they seem to actively discourage them with a sign up about 'no buggies' etc. However, we took a 2 year old (no buggy) and they were very kind and chatted to her and did her some ham and a few chips for herself on a plate. We were made to feel more welcome than I thought we would, given the tone of the sign! Perhaps they got fed up with inconsiderate people blocking the aisle with pushchairs and letting children roam around - it does happen :-D However, if this was my cafe I think I'd take that sign down...

Ham egg & chips is just like my Granny made me for Saturday tea. The bread and butter served on the side (hehe how quaint) is amazing, with a thick coating of butter.

They have lots of regulars - little old ladies out on trips etc and the service is friendly, swift and warm. The decor is a bit strange and the fittings are definitely from the 60s/70s.

However, the food is proper home cooked meals and the best value you'll find in Tetbury. If you want a fancy restaurant meal, then this isn't for you. If you want plain, well cooked old fashioned food cooked and served up by Granny and a favourite Auntie (I bet they do scampi in a basket!) then the Welcome Chair will be for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madcowbeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you are wandering around Tetbury getting increasingly desperate to find somewhere for a light snack and spot empty tables in this cafe, there is a reason. Expect the service to be rude, patronising and aggressive. Expect to wait nearly half an hour for 4 plates of sandwiches and when they arrive, expect the fillings to be sloppy, unseasoned and taste vaguely of perfume. Should you ask for white bread and the bread is very fresh, expect it not to turn up in slices but in odd bread shaped shavings that look like a chimp has cut loose with an electric carving knife. Finally expect to pay for all of this in cash only and don't expect a receipt. Supermarket sandwiches in the car would have been a distinct improvement on this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Welcome Chair also viewed

Tetbury, Cotswolds
Tetbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Welcome Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing