We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had dined at The Priory Inn on another visit to Tetbury, but on our last visit we decided to spend a couple of nights a this hotel. We had a very comfortable and clean room and the rate was very affordable. The hotel is located very conveniently for exploring this historic market town and all its speciality shops, including Prince Charles' Highgrove Shop, and the surrounding towns and villages.

The restaurant at the Priory Inn is very popular and on all occasions that we have dined there we have thoroughly enjoyed our meals. They usually have some unusual items on the menu, which we love to try, such as smoked pigeon, and make excellent pizzas too. As it is a pub the offer a good range of drinks.

Off road parking is available.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    143
    54
    28
    17
See reviews for
111
257
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sharston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as on business in Cirencester and my usual hotel was fully booked. When I arrived on first impression it looks lovely from the exterior and the restaurant and bar looked very quaint. I checked into my room and the bathroom smelt or urine, my colleague also advised this is who her room smelt. Bed was hard and windows weren't great as condensation. Bar staff lovely but when we sat down for dinner it took over 15 mins for our order to be taken. We both asked for our steaks to be medium, after 45 mins of waiting they arrived cremated. The waitress offered to make fresh but we were so hungry at this point we refused so she offered to remove them from the bill, which was lovely. We asked for mayo and ketchup, both homemade. The mayo had no taste at all and the ketchup was very over powering. Breakfast was lovely, I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davo_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at the Priory Inn on Bank Holiday Monday at the end of May. Excellent value for money, we had booked a family room and were placed in room 10, which was very spacious, bathroom a little small for the size of the room. Room very clean and staff extremely helpful and friendly. Only stayed one night whilst visiting relatives nearby, and we had our evening meal in the restaurant. Food was excellent, but a little on the pricey side. Breakfast next morning was beautiful and there was plenty served up. All produce used is locally sourced and you could tell that the quality of the food was very high. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Priory Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is local to where I live and I avoid it as much as possible as I have NEVER had a good or reasonable experience here in 8 years and cannot understand how they get good reviews here or anywhere else. In the past I and various dining companions have put up with underdone steaks, burnt on the outside and raw in the middle fish cakes and burnt, hard chips, haddock mornay that was raw in the middle (2 portions of and had to be sent back twice). Staff are rude, are not interested in providing service, they just want their tips.... it goes on and on. The latest saga relates to a takeaway pizza on a Friday lunchtime, bought because we had visitors and little time. Stood for ages at the bar trying to order food, then staff member didn't know how to use the till properly. The pizzas made were not what we ordered, tasteless and were very expensive. REALLY? This is pizza not Michelin star food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistyweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were in Tetbury for two nights (but not staying at the Priory Inn). Our B&B host recommended Priory Inn, and we ended up eating there both nights, and thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. They are a "30 mile" restaurant, with all the food fresh and local. You can read all about where they locally source all their ingredients. We thought the bread was excellent, we had it as a starter both nights (once with tapenade, once with goat cheese). We had pizza both nights too, it was so good. Ambiance is nice, servers are friendly and knowledgeable. On Sundays they have live music, and we enjoyed that on one of the nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We're here for wool sack, terrible customer service, are you a bar or restaurant?? Happy to have customers drinking then tell them to go outside because you have diners in at 7??? Shut in the day then. And tell potential customers your only interested in diners in the evening?? Second time we have been made to feel uncomfortable here despite the fact we live here and spending money in your establishment. Won't make that mistake again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighAtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Regularly go here, is worth the money, have also had takeaways for work lunches. Favourite is the pork pizza, garlic bread could do with improving. But we'll worth the food and atmosphere, shame can't park here on nursery run anymore though :-(

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Property: The Priory Inn
Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing