We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, staff and food”
Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value, staff and food”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Reading the small number negative reviews I can't believe these people stayed at the same place as us. Though we usually go for Spa or Country House Hotels but were tempted by a "Secret Escapes" offer.

Good welcome by the owner and everything was explained. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive without being grovelling or patronising. The meal we had on Saturday evening was excellent as was next days breakfast.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend "The Priory Inn" to anyone needing to stay in the area or visiting "The Cotswolds".

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillside3144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    153
    55
    28
    17
See reviews for
117
265
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have dined here a couple of times over the last year and the food is always excellent. Staff are friendly and attentive. The Priory has a nice relaxed atmosphere. I look forward to returning, hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraQGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a one night stay. Absolutely loved it. The staff were friendly and welcoming, hotel was clean and modern and breakfast was delicious. The children were made to feel welcome with toys in the room and children's meals in the restaurant. Despite it being family friendly I would also recommend it to couples and friends as hotel would suit everyone. Lots of interesting shops, cafes and wine bars nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusspot40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked into this hotel for one night as a "random choice" to break up our trip down to our holiday in Devon. On arrival we found the staff very helpful and friendly, our room was very comfortable and clean. The food was extremely good, and they had some very nice guest ales.
I have stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the UK (including some very famous London hotels) and, quite frankly, I would rate The Priory higher than some of these (and no bell boy following you into the room, fluffing up a couple of pillows and then waiting for his tip). The owner and staff can be proud of their standard of hospitality, service, and food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had dined at The Priory Inn on another visit to Tetbury, but on our last visit we decided to spend a couple of nights a this hotel. We had a very comfortable and clean room and the rate was very affordable. The hotel is located very conveniently for exploring this historic market town and all its speciality shops, including Prince Charles' Highgrove Shop, and the surrounding towns and villages.

The restaurant at the Priory Inn is very popular and on all occasions that we have dined there we have thoroughly enjoyed our meals. They usually have some unusual items on the menu, which we love to try, such as smoked pigeon, and make excellent pizzas too. As it is a pub the offer a good range of drinks.

Off road parking is available.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshMaiden_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as on business in Cirencester and my usual hotel was fully booked. When I arrived on first impression it looks lovely from the exterior and the restaurant and bar looked very quaint. I checked into my room and the bathroom smelt or urine, my colleague also advised this is who her room smelt. Bed was hard and windows weren't great as condensation. Bar staff lovely but when we sat down for dinner it took over 15 mins for our order to be taken. We both asked for our steaks to be medium, after 45 mins of waiting they arrived cremated. The waitress offered to make fresh but we were so hungry at this point we refused so she offered to remove them from the bill, which was lovely. We asked for mayo and ketchup, both homemade. The mayo had no taste at all and the ketchup was very over powering. Breakfast was lovely, I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davo_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at the Priory Inn on Bank Holiday Monday at the end of May. Excellent value for money, we had booked a family room and were placed in room 10, which was very spacious, bathroom a little small for the size of the room. Room very clean and staff extremely helpful and friendly. Only stayed one night whilst visiting relatives nearby, and we had our evening meal in the restaurant. Food was excellent, but a little on the pricey side. Breakfast next morning was beautiful and there was plenty served up. All produce used is locally sourced and you could tell that the quality of the food was very high. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Priory Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Property: The Priory Inn
Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing