We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godd family hotel”
Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Godd family hotel”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is the second time we have met up with my son's family and stayed stayed here. It is a small welcoming country hotel which claims to source all its resources within a 30 mile radius. Certainly out of season, its rooms are very competitively priced. Not having stayed at other times I cannot comment on their in-season prices. We have found it is a very child friendly place and would certainly recommend it for parents with young children. The food we had was excellent, but apart from the Pizza list, was a little limited in choice, mainly because all food is locally sourced and hence tend to be what is in season. The staff were good, very pleasant and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay there again. Tetbury itself in a very attractive Cotswold town and an el dorado for antique lovers and all within easy walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wab-pcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    156
    57
    27
    17
See reviews for
121
267
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at The Priory whilst visiting family who recently moved to Tetbury. We had just driven 160 miles from Sheffield and upon arrival the 2 staff in attendance on reception were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Anything we required was dealt with immediately, even directions to my sister's house in Tetbury.
The accommodation was excellent with everything we needed. Man sized bath towels and even a small sack of things that we could have forgotten to bring. I forgot my razor. Thanks
We had a meal in the restaurant/bar on our second night inviting my sister and her husband. They had never eaten at The Priory before, but they will in the future. The Priory has its own pizza oven. The best pizzas in town. The menu catered for all tastes. The Priory is a very child friendly hotel. Which we liked. Breakfast tables were set with colouring books and toys. Well done.
We will obviously return to the Priory Inn when next visiting family. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We fancied spending New Year in the Cotswolds and looked for a nice hotel, log fires, country walks and good food with reasonably priced wines. That is exactly what we got!

Small hotel, just 14 rooms, our room (17) was a very nice size, with tea, coffee, biscuits & bottled water. The white bed linen looked extremely fresh, with towels of good quality & thickness. Toiletries were provided, along with hair dryer & iron. Bathroom was on the small size & looked a bit tired here & there but was very clean with plenty of hot water.

We were on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast basis & a table had been booked for us in the restaurant, next to the open log fire. Our three course dinner was chosen from the full menu, with choices available from the specials menu too. Service was extremely good, quick & staff very attentive. Our meal was fantastic, very tasty, with all produce locally sourced.

A small area of the restaurant was cleared at 10pm, with music & lighting, in readiness for dancing. Party poppers and balloons were provided, to end off a very enjoyable New Year's Eve. Excellent breakfast choices, with breakfast available until 10.30am.

All in all a lovely stay, which we shall very much like to do again in the future.

Room Tip: Although lovely to look at, perhaps requesting a table away from the log fire, may be a comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeys-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and 9 yr old son. We booked half board and stayed one night. Staff on reception and in the restaurant very friendly and welcoming. The evening meal was lovely and exceptional value for money. We also had a lovely cooked breakfast the following day.

The room was large, clean and comfortable. There were age appropriate children's books available for my son to read. My son was grateful of the free wi fi!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel was very comfortable and the food was superb, however, what really made the weekend for us was the attitude of the staff, nothing was too much trouble no matter who we spoke to. We did not have to wait for service but the staff still had the time for a chat and a joke.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the Priory on the dinner bed and breakfast deal
The menu and food was outstanding.
All the staff were very friendly and really seemed to enjoy their work
Our room was comfortable and the complimentary biscuits were lovely

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Got it at a corporate rate and it was good value at that rate. Not sure I'd pay full rate but the rooms are a good size and the bed was quite comfortable. Bathrooms may need a little updating but still better than quite a few hotels I've stayed in. Car parking is plentiful and the hotel was carrying out work to its front garden when I stayed.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
381 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
645 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
701 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Property: The Priory Inn
Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing