We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time, hopefully won't be last...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First time, hopefully won't be last...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Combined need for a special break with my wife, with a stop over en route to visit relatives in Devon, we selected The Priory Inn, what a great choice.

Forget being treated like a 'number' @ chain hotels, personal service from every member of staff.

Room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

But the real bonus was the quality of the food, the evening meals were superb, well cooked and presented and served by 'the team' with the same attention to detail as everything else they did.

If you are in the area and need somewhere to stay that treats you like 'a guest' with great food, look no further...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    150
    54
    28
    17
See reviews for
113
261
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nice hotel with friendly helpful staff . Good sized room which was showing some signs of wear and a couple of minor items cleaning however overall good .
Food was however excellent , and i liked the 30 mile food source mantra!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed for one night. Great food, great service and a peaceful comfortable night. What more could you want! Well with the Priory Inn I got more, locally sourced food cooked to perfection, very friendly staff and a lovely room. Free wifi, bottled water as well as tea and coffee, home made shortbread in the room etc etc. Well done Priory Inn. If I didn't live so far away I would now be a regular visitor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a special dinner bed and breakfast stay and enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. They even booked us a lovely table in the restaurant which was secluded and romantic by the fire. The food was lovely and very good quality. The room was basic but had everything we needed, including two half bottles of proseco chilling for us. Our only complaint would be the noise we heard from our room, which sounded like building work, but we were told was probably from the kitchens, we could have done without this, but it didn't ruin our stay and we would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not above the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V and N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Priory Inn last Friday night (1st Feb) and had an really lovely time.
We were greeted by a very friendly lady on reception who checked us in and then we went up to our room. Our sink was full of ice with two bottles of prosecco and chilled champagne flutes. It made us feel very special as we were celebrating our 1 year anniversary.
Dinner was absolutely fantastic! Firstly the food was incredible! I had the cured meats, followed by the steak and then sticky toffee pudding and my boyfriend had the parfait, followed by the steak and then sorbets. Every course was faultless and absolutely delicious! The steak was cooked to perfection! The evening was made even better by our lovely waitress, I didn't catch her name but she was from New Zealand I think and had dark hair. Thank you for making it such lovely evening!
The next morning we again had a very yummy breakfast all cooked to order and fresh food. Again our waiter was lovely and he was very attentive.
My boyfriend was impressed with the book with ideas of things to do in the Cotswolds that he read over breakfast and planned to take us on Tandem bikes in the Cotswolds Water Park. Such a idea to have a book for guests to read and get some ideas.
We then sadly checked out and went off for a walk around Tetbury then on bikes.
The whole stay was perfect and very lovely. The food was amazing and it was really nice to know that nearly everything we ate was locally sourced - it makes a different :)

Again thank you very much for a very special weekend.

X

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beth-stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed a Friday night in January and had a wonderful time. The owner greeted us on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Huge attention to detail in room and restaurant. The evening meal is one of the best we have had and we only wish we lived nearer! The staff were knowledgable and enthusiastic.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have had two wonderful stays here. Food is superb. The chef has some imaginative dishes on the menu as well as some very fine pizzas which are popular with locals. A fine selection of real ales provides the finishing touch. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the food, wines and beers. All staff are very proud of the service they provide. The dinner, bed and breakfast package was excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castleman7013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Property: The Priory Inn
Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing