We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have used this hotel on two occasions while working away on business. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and chatty - a strong Australian cohort for some reason? The rooms I have stayed in are large and generally clean. The food available in the restaurant is very good quality (a little expensive). The mains fed shower is very powerful, which is nice :)

If I had any criticism it would be that the single glazed windows are a little draughty and dripping with condensation on a cold morning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a linking door between them - ask for one that doesn't if you are sensitive to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh_caller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    143
    53
    28
    17
See reviews for
111
257
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago on on a two night special deal with secret escapes. It was fantastic value for money.
We stayed in a standard room which was absolutely fine for our stay - spacious with a large comfy bed, excellent hospitality tray; the only niggle was the bathroom which was looking a bit tired and could do with an update. However it was spotlessly clean and the toileteries provided were lovely.
Our two meals in the restaurant during the evenings were absolutely fabulous. They have a rule that over 90% of their supplies come from within a 30 mile radius which reflected in the tasty and well presented meals.
Breakfast was equally as good although on our second morning we did wait a while as three large parties all arrived at once. Food is cooked to order and is therefore fresh so well worth waiting for.
The biggest asset of this lovely establishment is the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. In particular we had such a lovely waitress both evenings and for breakfast each morning; she couldn't have done anymore to make our meals both pleasant and enjoyable.
Thank you The Priory Inn. We will be back someday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinklady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My Wife and I have just had a brilliant mid week break at the Priory Inn, Tetbury. Although the room was somewhat tired and in need of some TLC, this was the only down side though as we were later to find the food and the staff were second to none.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel as though they had known us for ages. the age old statements "is everything alright for you and if there is anything you require just let us know" took on a whole new meaning with Becky and the rest of the Staff and nothing was too much trouble(The owner is a very lucky man to have staff like these). They even managed to produce food that wasn't on the menu many thanks again from Karen as she was able to keep to her diet plan.
All the Staff at this hotel greeted you with a smile and a good morning that was meant and not as though they were going through the motions.
Once again Many Many thanks to the staff, especially Becky for making our week such an enjoyable one

Room Tip: Room 12 The room and the hotel were kept spotless it was just the room looked like it could do with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimGreenCTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just a short note to express our thanks for a super stay in March 2014. We could not have wished for better service from the friendly staff who were very knowledgeable and multi-skilled. All round comfort and superb food completed a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timroberts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had my first experience of The Priory Inn on 23.03.14, we hadn't booked a table and popped in on the off chance during a very busy lunchtime, the staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to help us. Everyone was friendly and the service was excellent.
The 30 Mile Food concept is fantastic and offers some of the best culinary treats out there! The menu has a lot to offer and is also great for children.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone although book in advance if you can as it was very busy and clearly popular.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here for the Cheltenham festival last week and and was very pleasantly surprised by how good it was! My parents and I shared the family room, which was great value. It has a separate childrens area (tho I am a slightly older child :-)) so everyone had privacy and if you did go there with little ones you would be able to relax and enjoy your evening once they're in bed. A massive bonus in my book!
We ate dinner in the restaurant in the evening and the food was great. Tasty burgers and pizzas.
The room was spotless and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.
The only minor irk I had, but which is probably beyond anyones control, is the noisy floorboards. It was rather loud when anyone walked past in the corridor and did sound like they were in the room with me. It was only a bonus for me though really as gave me a much-needed kick to get me out of bed!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winglesscreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just stayed here for one night on a great dinner, bed and breakfast deal for 2. Whilst it's not the lap of luxury, the reception ladies are very welcoming and the bedroom was clean and comfortable. In a quiet extension at the rear of the building, our room (15) was spacious and included easy chairs, a table, desk, large wardrobe, tv, comfortable beds and an iPhone Dock/clock radio. A few nice touches included home made shortbread, plenty of tea and coffee, complimentary bottled water and really nice toiletries. Nice big bath towels to boot! Breakfast was generous with high quality produce showcased - do try the muffins!!!

Room Tip: No 15 is the furthest away from reception - upstairs and through 2 sets of doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene_Place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Property: The Priory Inn
Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing