We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to explore the area ...”
Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

From the moment we stepped into Reception we were made to feel special and very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the young staff who were all, without exception, charming, thoughtful, well trained and interested in their guests. We had downstairs rooms that were spotless (if a little dull) with comfy beds and loads of hot water with thick towels etc. We ate in each night and the food was fine. Each evening the restaurant was full. Breakfasts were high quality and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent position to explore Tetbury and the surrounding area. Parking on site was a real bonus. Would love to stay again.
Well done The Priory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tricia049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely place to stay ,staff welcoming and food very good .Excellent choice at breakfast .Shame about the room allocated to us ,room16 overlooking back yard and kitchens,and interconecting room with room17 .We asked to be moved and we were given room room 19 ,worse view of kitchen roof but a little quieter (less noise from extractor fan ) but spotlessly clean and many thoughtful touches .Bathroom tiny but clean and lovely fluffy towels .We would stay again but hopefully not in either of these rooms .Staff pleasant and helpfull . bikerboya10

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking kitchen if you dont like smells of cooking and extractor fans (rooms16 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved everything about our stay here. We were attending a local wedding with our 2 children so just needed somewhere to sleep for the night. My wife checked in on her own in the late afternoon and was helped with carrying the bags in.
The family room we had was great, clean and spacious but perfect for the 4 of us. There was a large room with 2 single beds for the children, and a large double room for us connected by a family size bathroom. Was good to be able to put the children to sleep and then close the door on their room while we got changed.
Breakfast was included and it was a nice touch to find a table layer out ready for us complete with high chair and colouring books/crayons.
To summarise we would usually stay at the cheapest place possible for an overnight stay like this, however this was excellent value for money especially considering breakfast was included, and was well worth the few pounds extra for having such a nice comfortable room and to stay in such a friendly place that catered so well to meet the needs of our small family.

Room Tip: Family room was perfect for ourselves (2 adults, 2 children 4&2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We received a warm welcome, all the staff were great. Room 11 just looked rather tired and for the price was a shame. We ate in the restaurant, my husband had the venison which he loved. I had the burger which was ok,a bit dry. The location was fine, great for exploring Tetbury.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank getoutmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have used this hotel on two occasions while working away on business. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and chatty - a strong Australian cohort for some reason? The rooms I have stayed in are large and generally clean. The food available in the restaurant is very good quality (a little expensive). The mains fed shower is very powerful, which is nice :)

If I had any criticism it would be that the single glazed windows are a little draughty and dripping with condensation on a cold morning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a linking door between them - ask for one that doesn't if you are sensitive to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh_caller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago on on a two night special deal with secret escapes. It was fantastic value for money.
We stayed in a standard room which was absolutely fine for our stay - spacious with a large comfy bed, excellent hospitality tray; the only niggle was the bathroom which was looking a bit tired and could do with an update. However it was spotlessly clean and the toileteries provided were lovely.
Our two meals in the restaurant during the evenings were absolutely fabulous. They have a rule that over 90% of their supplies come from within a 30 mile radius which reflected in the tasty and well presented meals.
Breakfast was equally as good although on our second morning we did wait a while as three large parties all arrived at once. Food is cooked to order and is therefore fresh so well worth waiting for.
The biggest asset of this lovely establishment is the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. In particular we had such a lovely waitress both evenings and for breakfast each morning; she couldn't have done anymore to make our meals both pleasant and enjoyable.
Thank you The Priory Inn. We will be back someday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinklady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My Wife and I have just had a brilliant mid week break at the Priory Inn, Tetbury. Although the room was somewhat tired and in need of some TLC, this was the only down side though as we were later to find the food and the staff were second to none.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel as though they had known us for ages. the age old statements "is everything alright for you and if there is anything you require just let us know" took on a whole new meaning with Becky and the rest of the Staff and nothing was too much trouble(The owner is a very lucky man to have staff like these). They even managed to produce food that wasn't on the menu many thanks again from Karen as she was able to keep to her diet plan.
All the Staff at this hotel greeted you with a smile and a good morning that was meant and not as though they were going through the motions.
Once again Many Many thanks to the staff, especially Becky for making our week such an enjoyable one

Room Tip: Room 12 The room and the hotel were kept spotless it was just the room looked like it could do with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimGreenCTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 7 in Tetbury
529 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 7 in Tetbury
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
437 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
11.4 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £56 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing