We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sleep due to noisy boiler/kitchen extract”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“No sleep due to noisy boiler/kitchen extract”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I will leave a separate review of the food/restaurant!
Firstly I must start with a positive. The staff we met during our stay were all lovely and helpful and really tried to make our stay nice, even under the difficult circumstances.

What’s important with a hotel is simple. A comfy bed, a decent hot shower and a good night’s sleep. That’s it; the rest is what adds value to an experience in my opinion. So with these reasonable expectations it’s such a shame to score a hotel so badly.

The style of the hotel is an odd mix of generic modern and dull. You feel that in such a lovely area, it should offer some character, but there is nothing at all. The art work in the halls and rooms is awful block colour canvas stuff, none art just wall filler stuff... just nothing of the beautiful area, history etc. Nevermind…
The room was mostly clean, but dated and rough in places. The bed was two twins pushed together, and it felt like it. The bed was not comfy and the pillows were the worst I have come across for a long, long time. Wafer thin and no spares in the wardrobe. A very thin quilt on top, literally 1/2 inch thick. An awful brown, stained and crumpled linen strip across the bed – yuk. For decorative purposes? Basic tea and coffee, Tetley bags and little uht jiggers, all pretty basic generic travel lodge stuff.

The main problem with our room was the awful noise. We were room 16 and above a boiler room (i can only assume). The noise was very loud, audible above the TV, and there was a mild vibration to the corner of the room and bed. The staff did try to help, I called about 10.30pm and was told that the noise was from an exhaust and they would shut it off. The staff member was very kind and also suggested we could move room if it didn’t work, to let her know. Still awful noise at gone eleven I rang her back and asked to change room, to the only other room they had available. When we visited the new room, it was less noisy, but had a loud whistling boiler/radiator pump noise! So I said perhaps we were as well off staying where we were! Not much point moving from one noise to a different one! However trying to sleep on the hard bed, with wafer thin pillow and the noise was too much. I was sooo tired but couldn’t sleep. I would liken it to sleeping on an airplane. We finally decided after Midnight to switch room, and I took my pillows too, the total of four was just enough and trotted off down the corridor to the other room. We had a very poor night’s sleep, even though the bed in the new room was slightly more comfortable. We woke exhausted and tired eyed. Upon returning to our room at 7.30am the radio alarm clock was screeching loud music, not sure what time iy had started, but again something housekeeping should check.

The rooms have an annoying roman blind which the pulls are located on the wrong side, really fiddly. You are also opposite another wing, so no privacy, you could see into many other windows.
We packed up and wished we had slept in our campervan, as it would have been quieter and much more comfy.
I would not stay here again. I think the Dinner bed and Breakfast rate is very steep based on the room quality and should be compared locally, as there are many nice hotels, with a bit of character at a lower room rate.

Room Tip: NOT room 16!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetoholiday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    151
    54
    28
    17
See reviews for
114
262
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

From the moment we stepped into Reception we were made to feel special and very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the young staff who were all, without exception, charming, thoughtful, well trained and interested in their guests. We had downstairs rooms that were spotless (if a little dull) with comfy beds and loads of hot water with thick towels etc. We ate in each night and the food was fine. Each evening the restaurant was full. Breakfasts were high quality and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent position to explore Tetbury and the surrounding area. Parking on site was a real bonus. Would love to stay again.
Well done The Priory.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely place to stay ,staff welcoming and food very good .Excellent choice at breakfast .Shame about the room allocated to us ,room16 overlooking back yard and kitchens,and interconecting room with room17 .We asked to be moved and we were given room room 19 ,worse view of kitchen roof but a little quieter (less noise from extractor fan ) but spotlessly clean and many thoughtful touches .Bathroom tiny but clean and lovely fluffy towels .We would stay again but hopefully not in either of these rooms .Staff pleasant and helpfull . bikerboya10

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking kitchen if you dont like smells of cooking and extractor fans (rooms16 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Loved everything about our stay here. We were attending a local wedding with our 2 children so just needed somewhere to sleep for the night. My wife checked in on her own in the late afternoon and was helped with carrying the bags in.
The family room we had was great, clean and spacious but perfect for the 4 of us. There was a large room with 2 single beds for the children, and a large double room for us connected by a family size bathroom. Was good to be able to put the children to sleep and then close the door on their room while we got changed.
Breakfast was included and it was a nice touch to find a table layer out ready for us complete with high chair and colouring books/crayons.
To summarise we would usually stay at the cheapest place possible for an overnight stay like this, however this was excellent value for money especially considering breakfast was included, and was well worth the few pounds extra for having such a nice comfortable room and to stay in such a friendly place that catered so well to meet the needs of our small family.

Room Tip: Family room was perfect for ourselves (2 adults, 2 children 4&2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We received a warm welcome, all the staff were great. Room 11 just looked rather tired and for the price was a shame. We ate in the restaurant, my husband had the venison which he loved. I had the burger which was ok,a bit dry. The location was fine, great for exploring Tetbury.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank getoutmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have used this hotel on two occasions while working away on business. I have always found the staff to be very friendly and chatty - a strong Australian cohort for some reason? The rooms I have stayed in are large and generally clean. The food available in the restaurant is very good quality (a little expensive). The mains fed shower is very powerful, which is nice :)

If I had any criticism it would be that the single glazed windows are a little draughty and dripping with condensation on a cold morning.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a linking door between them - ask for one that doesn't if you are sensitive to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh_caller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago on on a two night special deal with secret escapes. It was fantastic value for money.
We stayed in a standard room which was absolutely fine for our stay - spacious with a large comfy bed, excellent hospitality tray; the only niggle was the bathroom which was looking a bit tired and could do with an update. However it was spotlessly clean and the toileteries provided were lovely.
Our two meals in the restaurant during the evenings were absolutely fabulous. They have a rule that over 90% of their supplies come from within a 30 mile radius which reflected in the tasty and well presented meals.
Breakfast was equally as good although on our second morning we did wait a while as three large parties all arrived at once. Food is cooked to order and is therefore fresh so well worth waiting for.
The biggest asset of this lovely establishment is the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. In particular we had such a lovely waitress both evenings and for breakfast each morning; she couldn't have done anymore to make our meals both pleasant and enjoyable.
Thank you The Priory Inn. We will be back someday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinklady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
3.2 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Property: The Priory Inn
Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing