We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of The Priory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Priory Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Priory Inn in Tetbury is situated on the main road and easy to find. It is in an ideal spot for visiting High Grove and The Arboretum. A short walk takes you in to the heart of Tetbury high street. The hotel is clean and comfortable and all the staff very friendly and helpful. There are tables on the front of the hotel for enjoying a drink in the sunshine. The Hotel uses if possible everything sourced within a 30 mile radius. The food is first class. We chose a package and were pleasantly surprised to be able to pick anything off the menu. The beer is from a local brewery and you can choose to have a beer sampler. There were locally made biscuits in the bedroom on the tea tray and the bathroom products were from a local hand made supplier. I would definitely consider staying here again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

A trip to the Westonbirt Arboretum (lovely walks) led to a last minute overnight stay which turned into a great mini break - everything you could want. Staff friendly and welcoming, rooms lovely and clean with a little 'forgotten something' mini bag in the bathroom and the food - AMAZING! All locally sourced and beautifully cooked. Live band in the bar .All this at a fantastic value price ...and breakfast the next morning was just superb. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank organiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend with our 19 month old. The room was basic, clean but the bed sheets smelt of smoke and musty. It was a hot weekend so we had to have the window open overnight which was very noisy from the pub below. (There's no air-con).

The bathroom was tiny, a tight squeeze! It wasn't the nicest bathroom either, the shower curtain was grotty.

The website made the play area inside sound fantastic. However, there were some dated toys in there and very little else. There was no outside play area or any gates so you couldn't fully relax as the little one was off in a shot.

The pizza was good but the breakfast was very disappointing.

They were accommodating to the kids with small plastic cutlery but that could do with being updated too!

Expensive for what it is.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank DogZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

HOTEL OVERBOOKED & I HAD TO BE MOVED - The hotel stated to my travel provider that as I was the last person to check in I had been selected as the person that had to be moved. My response to this is that the business traveller is almost always the last person to check in (usually after having completed a full day at work). Therefore this hotel is not suitable for the business traveller if this is how they are prioritised. I have worked in this area for over 2 years visiting and staying overnight in hotels at least once a month. This has NEVER happened to me. There are much better hotels in the area - try The Close Hotel instead!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I popped into the Priory Inn, just for a drink, initially. However, the sight and smells of the food being served to other guests tempted us to order lunch. We were it disappointed. The food and the service were both excellent. I was very impressed by the "30 mile zone", indicating that everything sold there comes from within a 30 mile radius. Allelujah - a restaurant serving good, local, seasonal food, well cooked and served with a ready smile, and all at very reasonable prices - a very winning combination. We will definitely visit The Priory Inn when we are in the area again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CathOWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came across the priory by chance and decided to have an evening meal, which was really a good choice the food was served quickly , we had goats cheese tart, and the name, well it was supposed to be name, but they had run out of hake but substituted haddock which was in my mind a better choice. The food was well cooked and presented , good staff and abience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 180southcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Priory sells itself as a family friendly hotel, we feel more could be done to make the hotel suitable for families (especially those with small children).

It would certainly benefit from an outside play area, but even accepting the lack of space they could make the exterior front area better. It is beautifully maintained, but perhaps installing gates it would allow children to play a little more freely.

The inside play area / conference room is tired, limited and the toys could certainly do with revision. An internal area away from the bar and a secure area to leave buggies would be valuable.

Although only two stories, a lift would be useful or even the offer of assistance in carrying luggage upstairs (families rarely travel light)

Bedrooms are good, clean & well maintained. The travel cot had seen better days and personally I didn't like the half-used toiletries and battered bath toys left in the bathroom, but appreciate that this is a good idea that could be improved.

We stayed during a very hot week-end, the rooms were very stuffy & hot. Despite opening the windows and having a fan running throughout we were unable to adequately ventilate the room. Admittedly it is perhaps too much to expect air conditioning in a three star hotel, but the proprietors should be aware how uncomfortable a night we had.

We ate at the Priory in the evening; the quality of food, the choice of drinks and the service was exceptional. Whilst the food remained great at breakfast, service was slow and the buffet was irregularly topped up. Breakfast was only offered from 8-9am, again not very family friendly (especially at the week-end)

The restaurant is where The Priory wins (it is as good as anywhere 'family friendly' in the UK that we have visited), with a few improvements and further thought the hotel could match.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank RandLStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.2 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
522 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.2 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
430 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
11.4 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Inn

Address: London Road, Tetbury GL8 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £58 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Priory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Tetbury
The Priory Inn Tetbury, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing