We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The service here is great, the staff are very friendly and the food good.
Our room (7) was the superior room in the brochure and is very quaint with boutique furniture & comfortable beds.
You must accept that this is an old building and can be noisy, we were above the kitchen and could smell cooking late into the night, you can also hear people passing in the corridor and on the stairs, but it's not excessive.
If you are driving, we found the long stay car park convenient @ £3.40 per day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face into the courtyard, it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at the Ormond Hotel completely by chance as we were looking to get away for a break and didn't have a destination in mind. The Ormond caught our attention with the lovely photographs and didn't disappoint. It's on the main street in Tetbury, quite unassuming from the outside but with lots of character and they've clearly tried to make the entrance as welcoming as possible. On one side is the bar/pub and on the other the reception/lounge with a long courtyard garden running between the buildings which then opens out to a much bigger space. It's all very Cotswoldy and quaint but with modern wicker furniture and a lot of flowers that were slightly past their best in late October, but easy to imagine how nice it must look in high summer. We stayed in the four poster room which is overlooking the main street and I was worried that it may be noisy, but the town is completely silent during the night although the windows did have double glazing but i don\t think this is really needed. The room had an traditional four poster and was nicely decorated, everything looked fairly new, it was clean and the bathroom was a good size. We had booked a set package which included a bottle of prosecco in our room but we soon headed to the bar which was buzzing on a Friday night. It seemed to have a lot of locals in the beginning although that changed to diners after a while. We enjoyed the atmosphere but decided to try the restaurant as the menu looked delicious and our meal really was fantastic, far better than we had expected and it made our trip. We had to pay a supplement on two items but as they were fois gras and scallops we weren't surprised and we could have chosen other things without a supplement. The service was friendly and although they were busy they all seemed very good humoured which is so refreshing. Breakfast the next day was very good, I had eggs benedict which is always a good barometer of a kitchen and they were perfect. All in all I would recommend this hotel, it's friendly and relaxing, we had a great value deal, the food was exceptional and Tetbury is fun for a day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The Ormond is a small family run hotel on the high street of a pretty Cotswold town. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the owners go out of their way to ensure that guests are well looked after. The bar, dining room and reception are interestingly and individually decorated, the antithesis of the blandness of many 'chain's, and the kitchen serves up a great range of really well-cooked dishes, many made from local ingredients. The building is a former coaching inn, so is right on the road but there is a pretty courtyard garden with a safe playarea for children at the back. A great find and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLT_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I don't normally write reviews, but I just had to say what a very pleasant stay we had at The Ormond. The hotel has a warm and friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. It is tastefully decorated and our bedroom was perfect. The menu is very appealing with a good variety, and as a result we ate all our meals at the hotel over our 2 day stay and were not disappointed. It was excellent. We also had a peep at the hotel's function room which was very nice, and which we would definitely consider if we were planning a party. I will certainly be recommending The Ormond to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

If first impressions count for much then this hotel fails miserably. There is no parking facility at the hotel, not even a dedicated area for dropping off bags, so you have to obstruct traffic by stopping on the main road (A433), unload bags as speedily as possible, and then move the car to a pay and display car park in the town. It is free from 8pm to 8am we were cheerily told by the receptionist, so if you arrive late and leave early you get free parking, but not sufficiently close to lug baggage.
Reception was not staffed when we arrived at 7pm so we had to interrupt the lady serving in the busy and noisy bar to check in. We were led up a staircase with a threadbare and dirty carpet, and then along a corridor with another threadbare and dirty carpet, to our room. We were allocated room 6, a superior double, on the first floor. It was obvious that the room had not been thoroughly cleaned for a long time. The ceiling light fitting was broken and harboured cobwebs although the light still worked, the black bedspread was soiled with white marks of dubious provenance (the bedspread was changed after the first night without us requesting it), greasy fingermarks and a hand print were apparent on the glass surface by the television (again this was cleaned off after the first night), there were hairs from a previous occupant in the bathroom, the toilet seat was loose discoloured and broken, and a thick layer of dust coated several surfaces in the bathroom. I had not expected such a slipshod attitude towards basic housekeeping in a hotel with a 3 star rating.
There were three items of disrepair in the room which I brought to the attention of the staff. Firstly the toilet cistern was continually running water, secondly the television did not work without picture break up, and thirdly the mechanical ventilation in the bathroom did not work. As there were no windows in the bathroom it was not possible to ventilate without an operational extractor fan resulting in a very hot humid and unpleasant bathroom and bedroom. To the credit of the hotel staff they dealt with all three issues by calling in a plumber to fix the toilet cistern, an electrician to fit a new extractor fan, and by taking a television from another room. They had plenty of empty rooms to choose from at the time of our out of season visit.
I could mention the bed, the mean hospitality tray, only one chair in the room so someone had to sit on the bed .......... but you probably get the picture by now. The only positive comments are that the staff that I had contact with were attentive and helpfulI, and the food was ok. These plus points were not sufficient to compensate for the lax cleaning and maintenance regime so, at over £200 for a two night out of season stay, I will not be coming back.

Room Tip: We had a superior room over the dining & kitchen area -- be prepared for the rattle of pots and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theormondhotel, Owner at The Ormond at Tetbury, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

We are always grateful for feedback and to this end we put "comments" sheets in the bedrooms rating our performance across all areas of the hotel from 1 being poor and 5 excellent. This guest rated us with two 3s, two 4s and one 5. He did mention the maintenance issues raised in his trip advisor review, we apologised profusely, the issues were dealt with immediately and a bottle of wine was given to him with our compliments. On his comment sheet he mentioned that the bed was very comfortable, the staff exceptionally polite and helpful, the food very good, the shower very good - plenty of hot water and generally a pleasant stay.

In addition he said that he wouldn't normally bother to make these comments because he didn't think most hotels would want to know but he felt that we would be genuinely interested in his comments and take note of them. Finally adding that their stay was very pleasant and they wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great little hotel, privately run so a nice personal touch that you dont get with the "chains". Arrived too late for dinner so can't comment on quality but the menu looked good. Breakfast was great, with selection of cereals and juice and cooked breakfast of your choice with mix and match if you want. selection of the mornings papers to read over breakfast.

Nice location with a car park just around the corner as the hotel does not have its own car park which in old towns like this, not unusual and pretty clear from the website. car [ark was free from 6 pm saturday and all day sunday. Tetbury is a lovely town with a nice selection of shops etc but I was suprised that some were not open on a Sunday but perhaps thats the way life should be !

This is an old building so dont expect the rooms to look brand new and if thats what you want, go to a travel lodge. The nice things about this place is the fact that it has its old charm including sash windows and creaky floor boards. The family room we had had a nice little area for the kids that was seperated by a curtain so they could go to sleep with the telly turned down.

The only critisism was the short cable on the kettle as it was perched on the table top very close to the edge and so we had to move the telly to make sure little hands couldnt get at it and the room backed onto the courtyard where you can hear the bar downstairs and this might keep some people awake.

Room Tip: If its a warm night and you need the windows open you may want to ask for a room away from the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Beautiful modern room, great service and fantastic food on the main street in Tetbury

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
584 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
695 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing