We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Ormond in Tetbury from Wednesday 21st for three nights.We stayed in room15 a superior room with a sofa,nice and quiet. A fantastic room,truly romantic with great decor. A wonderful and charming hotel with a brilliant atmosphere and great food in the restaurant/bar, Starter, Duck pancake roll (£6.95) i had the best beef burger ever (£10.95) my husbands pheasant (£15.95) on a rosti was out of this world. At breakfast, my husband had eggs benedict/royale and they where perfect (fantastic chef).
Service was impeccable,staff very friendly and hardworking.
They have a great outdoor area which i am sure would be buzzing in good weather and a place where i could image my self settling there all night with the wine flowing after a good meal.
Great location for Cotswolds and Bath, no on site parking but free (safe) parking 5 mins away, no problem.

Room Tip: Room 15 very nice and quiet with sofa and fantastic power shower in very modern bathroom, no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakleyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was my second stay at the Ormond in the last 6 months. I have business in that area of England and had stayed first at another hotel in Tetbury, but returned to the Ormond this time because of a great experience there on my last trip (from Boston). Everything about the Ormond made my business trip feel like a vacation. It is located right in the middle of winding, picturesque Long Street, surrounded by interesting shops. The hotel buildings date from the 1600's and my room, a renovated stable block, was beautiful and well-appointed, with a sitting area and all modern conveniences (there is free WiFi). The owner and staff are outgoing and very friendly. As an example of how helpful they are, the manager loaned me an iPhone charger when my U.S. one wouldn't fit the U.K. outlet. I also want to single out the Ormond's food as a highlight of my stay-- it's excellent. High points included the rib-eye, a local cheeseboard, a great sticky toffee dessert, and the best, most tender venison I've ever had.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

As a member of a group of 6 septuagenarian golfers we chose the Ormond in Tetbury as our headquarters. It was an ideal choice and central to numerous first class courses.
We found the bedrooms comfortable,clean and full of character. Food was well prepared with a particularly good dinner menu.
Most importantly the staff were both efficient and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I am a regular visitor to the Ormond and I appreciate the genuine and friendly service I get there. The menu is varied and caters for a wide range of budgets, starting from a 2-course lunch for £10. Food can be eaten in the (often buzzing) bar or the more civilised dining room. There is a good range of beers, lagers and ciders (counting towards your 5 a day!). Most importantly, service is efficient and genuine thanks to "proper" bar staff who approach their jobs with professionalism. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My partner and myself stayed at the Ormond in Tetbury this saturday.We stayed in the stable room,Oh my god,it was exquisite,A fantastic room,truly romantic with great decor.Wonderful and charming.Brilliant food in the restaurant in the evening,and a fantastic breakfast,I had eggs benedict and it was perfect.
Service was impeccable,very friendly,in fact we were able to check in near enough as soon as we arrived at lunchtime.
The only tiny grumble I have is not having a fire on in the wonderful fire place in the reception and/or the bar.That was a real shame.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durrant1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here at the Ormond as a surprise for me before I go into hospital. The hotel is on the main street with no parking but there is parking nearby which was not really a problem for us, although being a boutique hotel some may find this an issue. A tip would be to drop off your bags and then go and park. Our room was room 11, a superior room, and although a little small, was beautifully appointed. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and lovely and warm. The bathroom a good size too. We ate an evening meal in the dining room and the food was beautifully cooked. All options around the menu were carefully explained and the food presented really well. Breakfast was lovely........a good range to choose from and again beautifully cooked. The central location is a real bonus as it is good to explore the town of Tetbury. We did not find any problems with the staff as others have mentioned..in fact they went out of their way to be of help when we required it. Everywhere in the hotel was beautifully clean and there was great attention to detail. We would certainley stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit this part of the country.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely and quiet overlooking the courtyard. However this was October so there was no-on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I ate at the Ormond for the first time yesterday. The bar area is really lovely, comfortable and warm with a good atmosphere. The food and the service however, were not great. The staff forgot to bring our nibbles (which we ordered because we were going to have to eat later than anticipated), which was a little annoying. Once we had ordered our mains, the (unfortunately) inevitable happened - the food arrived before the cutlery. A bit of attention to detail wouldn't go amiss. The food was OK, but could have been presented bit better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 7 in Tetbury
680 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 7 in Tetbury
600 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
724 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range: £66 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing