We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Ormond at Tetbuty is a charming little place - full of old world charm but with modern comfort. The staff were very helpful and friendly - just ask if you want something and they get onto it straight away. They genuinely do their best to make your stay perfect.

The bedrooms are comfortable and stylish with lots of character The bar, resteraunt and lounge are very comfy. The breakfasts are great - lots of choice - all freshly prepared. We had dinner in the bar on the first night - very good indeed. Excellent quality and reasonable prices.

It's located in the centre of old Tetbury so there are lots of places to sightsee. It is fun to walk around and have a look at the market, the shops and little tearooms. All in all it is a perfect place for a minibreak.

Room Tip: It's an old coaching inn so no lift and some floors are quite high up - if you are elderly or in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    164
    65
    33
    29
See reviews for
62
265
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed here for one night around new year while visiting friends. The hotel is right on the lovely main street and a short walk from the carpark (you might want to drop large bags at the hotel before parking your car). Reception wasn't permanently manned (as it seemed fairly quiet when we went) so you may need to go across to the bar (which has some good ales on tap!) to get someone to check you in. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were really nice. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice, and the waitress was really efficient and gave good recommendations! Checkout was smooth in the morning. I couldn't find any information in the room what the checkout time was, and when I called reception from the room there was no answer, so check this when you get there.

The only slight problem we encountered was that the lights in a couple of the corridors were not working, and since there were no windows it was a little tricky getting back to the room (we had to use our phone lights to find our way). When we mentioned this to reception they said it was supposed to have been fixed, so someone was at least looking into it.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed just one night in the Ormond last weekend. The staff were very welcoming, the room quaint and cosy, and the food excellent. Definitely recommended. If you've got lots of bags, or heavy bags, best unload first before parking as the long stay car park is a bit of a walk from the hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Visited the Ormond last evening with family for a meal. A really friendly and inviting place. The bar and restaurant are really atmospheric and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Enjoyed a good meal with an excellent bottle of wine. We will be going again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clitheroe
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I have stayed in The Ormond over the last 4 weeks on business. It's a great place, the staff are really helpful, the food is excellent. I have stayed in a number of different rooms over my various stays. Each is unique in its setting and decoration. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms well appointed. The bathrooms have also all been well appointed. One or two of the rooms I have stayed in have been on the cooler side of room temperature, but that is down to the fact that it is a period building.

Real ale is on pull behind the bar, together with a good choice of wines. The bar restaurant is always buzzing as it serves as a local for some, and a place to met and eat for others. It has a welcoming feel.

Parking is on the street or on a car park a short walk away. I have nearly always been able to find a space on the street to park safely.

I will be staying again in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I have stayed several times at the Ormond and found it such a warm and welcoming hotel. The staff can't do enough for you,
The rooms are all different and furnished to a really high standard. The food is always excellent, great choice and local produce. There is a warm atmosphere, and the locals drink and eat here which is always a good sign.

The small town of Tetbury is a really pretty place full of quaint antique shop's, pub's and cafe's. Prince Charles shop Highgrove is opposite the hotel. I look forward to staying here again!

Elaine.

Room Tip: The stable room is the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eelaine245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Lovely helpful staff made me feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The people here make this place and I can't wait for an excuse to go back! The dinner menu was great and food well prepared.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koolyanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Property: The Ormond at Tetbury
Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing