We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely at Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely at Christmas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my parents and young baby for my fathers birthday - many hotels in the area I had rang did not allow a baby in the restaurant in the early evening.

I spoke to the manager when I booked this stay and he was very friendly and welcoming - quite charming.

Our rooms were large and sumptuously decorated, but could do with a bit of TLC on the maintenance side (but of peeling wallpaper, marks on the carpet & scuffs on the walls etc, not a deal breaker) The bar area looked great and very festive and the restaurant food was delicious and had a lovely intimate atmosphere - my daughter slept the whole evening in her pram!

There was a couple of staff that seemed a bit off and they didn't seem to 'suit' the friendly style if the hotel which let the stay down a bit but all in all a really lovely festive break!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HailieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    163
    64
    32
    29
See reviews for
62
261
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We are writing this review having stayed at the hotel using a voucher deal, unfortunately more often than not you are not put in the best rooms when you use these deals. I would say this was the case on this occasion, even though we paid an extra charge each night to get a Friday and Saturday night, the superior room we were given was in a part of the hotel that could do with a lick of paint. The room only had skylights in both bedroom and bathroom overlooking the roof tops. The room was not unpleasant but if we had of paid full price for our "superior" room we would have not been best pleased. Have to add the bed was very comfortable which was great.

The plumbing made some very strange noises in our room when people in the next room must have been using the toilet or shower, the taps were loose on the sink and the tiles round the bath could have done with a good clean.

Breakfast was good each morning, I tried eggs benedict one morning and an omelette the next, hubby stuck with a traditional breakfast both mornings, a good selection was available from the menu, just one suggestion, warm the plates up!

Although the staff were very friendly they sermed a bit stretched, when we arrived the girl covering the bar area had to come across and check us in, this is after our approximate 10 minute trek up a big hill from the free car park. If you are staying please note this as we were not told when we booked the hotel.

We do not want this review to sound too negative, the hotel has a fantastic location and our overall experience was not too bad. We have not been put off staying again but would definitely ask for a different room than room10, which was on the top floor and requires going up and down a number of stairs to reach it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBroons62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for a few days at the end of January. Very relaxed atmosphere, I collected my keys from the bar/restaurant and was shown to my room by the barmaid. Tetbury is an old medieval market town, full of antique and other boutique type shops and a good selection of quality pubs and restaurants. The Ormond is in keeping with the theme and oozes character. It’s not a modern chain-hotel, rather an old coach-house style hotel complete with squeaky floorboards and a slightly squeaky bed! My room overlooked the main street, but had secondary double glazing so didn’t hear any road noise, not that there would be much in such a sleepy little town! The room was quite spacious and clean, again with furniture in keeping with the surroundings. The bathroom was more modern with a full-size bath and shower and loads of hot water. The bedroom block adjoins a traditional English pub with a good selection of real-ale and the usual lagers. There is a nice courtyard to sit outside (not that I could in January!). You can have food in the bar or got to the more formal restaurant in the adjoining room. I had dinner there a couple of times and the choice and the food was very good. Breakfast is served in the restaurant, not the usual self-serve as found in the big chains but by a waitress. The staff were very pleasant and up for a chat but never in-your-face. I enjoyed my stay there, 100 times nice than a chain hotel, wouldn’t hesitate to return if in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed for a wedding nearby. I didn't really make full use of the hotel, it was really somewhere just to sleep. It's pretty and the room are quite quaint, but my room wasn't the cleanest - perhaps other people wouldn't notice as I am a bit paranoid about these things, but the radiator had splashes of something nasty on it and the lavatory and surrounds similar - it just needs a little attention to detail! It made me feel a bit uncomfortable. Other than that the staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Questaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theormondhotel, Owner at The Ormond at Tetbury, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
We are a little concerned by this review as the reviewer stayed in the hotel in March 2012 but has only just posted comments making it difficult follow up, something we would automatically prioritise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Ormond at Tetbuty is a charming little place - full of old world charm but with modern comfort. The staff were very helpful and friendly - just ask if you want something and they get onto it straight away. They genuinely do their best to make your stay perfect.

The bedrooms are comfortable and stylish with lots of character The bar, resteraunt and lounge are very comfy. The breakfasts are great - lots of choice - all freshly prepared. We had dinner in the bar on the first night - very good indeed. Excellent quality and reasonable prices.

It's located in the centre of old Tetbury so there are lots of places to sightsee. It is fun to walk around and have a look at the market, the shops and little tearooms. All in all it is a perfect place for a minibreak.

Room Tip: It's an old coaching inn so no lift and some floors are quite high up - if you are elderly or in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Stayed here for one night around new year while visiting friends. The hotel is right on the lovely main street and a short walk from the carpark (you might want to drop large bags at the hotel before parking your car). Reception wasn't permanently manned (as it seemed fairly quiet when we went) so you may need to go across to the bar (which has some good ales on tap!) to get someone to check you in. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were really nice. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice, and the waitress was really efficient and gave good recommendations! Checkout was smooth in the morning. I couldn't find any information in the room what the checkout time was, and when I called reception from the room there was no answer, so check this when you get there.

The only slight problem we encountered was that the lights in a couple of the corridors were not working, and since there were no windows it was a little tricky getting back to the room (we had to use our phone lights to find our way). When we mentioned this to reception they said it was supposed to have been fixed, so someone was at least looking into it.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed just one night in the Ormond last weekend. The staff were very welcoming, the room quaint and cosy, and the food excellent. Definitely recommended. If you've got lots of bags, or heavy bags, best unload first before parking as the long stay car park is a bit of a walk from the hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Property: The Ormond at Tetbury
Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing