We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable, friendly hotel with atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable, friendly hotel with atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We were given two days in this hotel as a Christmas present by our Son and his wife. What a good present it turned out to be! The owner, Iain greeted us warmly and showed us to our room which was very clean, comfortable and although not large, was functional. We decided to eat in the hotel that evening after a recce round some of the other hotels and restaurants in Tetbury. We made an excellent choice. Iain, a keen cyclist was hosting a group of his cycling friends in the bar and the atmosphere was great, very lively and we felt at home. The cyclists ate in the restaurant and we ate in the warm, cosy bar. I ordered the Thai Red Curry and it was one of the best I have eaten. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the generous portion of duck she was given. The service was excellent, friendly,chatty and attentive.
The breakfast next morning, gave a very wide choice and the standard was first class.
I would have no hesitation in recommending The Ormond as a friendly, comfortable hotel in Tetbury with food of a very high standard.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    164
    65
    33
    29
See reviews for
62
265
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed for two nights. Bathroom was very small, but had everything we needed. Restaurant food was very good and the staff very friendly. I left my diamond earrings behind the day we left - and they were quickly returned to me by recorded delivery - very honest people! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaBrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We used a KGB deal for a 2 night break and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The room was quiet, fairly small but newly decorated with a good shower room. . Breakfast was good and we ate in the restaurant on both nights. The menu was extensive, not cheap but good value.
Only downside is the lack of parking. It is best to go first to the hotel and unload your luggage and take their directions to the free car park and then about 6/7 minutes walk back up a very steep hill. We visited Coventry from there to visit the Cathedral.
The staff were particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Looking to get out of the city, my girlfriend and I spent a very comfortable and quiet night in a ‘superior’ room at the Ormond.

Across-street parking is available, although limited to one hour. We found this to be beneficial in checking in and dropping off our bags before relocating the car to the long-stay car park less than a three minute walk from the hotel.

We received a professional and informative welcome from a member of staff, who offered to take our bags before showing us to our room. Be aware that the hotel reception is on the right of a central outdoor passageway and the hotel bar is on the left, and it would appear as though staff share responsibilities between the two. If there is no-one at reception at your time of arrival you may want to pop over to the bar to make yourself known?

Tucked away in the loft our spacious and decorous room featured an ample king size bed with ornate bed stead and corresponding furnishings, a correctly-tuned digital television, telephone with easy access to reception, a decent hair dryer, a generous provision of tea and coffee making facilities, and a view over the multitude of the sixteenth and seventeenth century rooftops of Tetbury town centre.

Like the bedroom our bathroom was clean, tidy and spacious. The shower was of a high standard and we appreciated the inclusion of a bathtub. Mini bottles of shower gel and shampoo were provided, along with ample towels.

Our overall sleep quality was good, although we found the duck feather pillows were not as firm as we prefer and although not impossible, it was difficult to find immediate comfort. We were concerned that our evening may be interrupted by noise from the hotel bar courtyard, but we actually enjoyed a very peaceful stay.

Breakfast was available up until 10am and could be found in the hotel restaurant, situated behind the bar area. In addition to cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt, and hot drinks, the extensive menu presented options to cater for almost all tastes and palates. The French toast with bacon and maple syrup, and the eggs benedict were particularly enjoyable. We couldn’t help but feel for the solitary member of staff who appeared to be responsible for running the entire breakfast sitting, providing bar service, and dealing with hotel guests. Despite an obvious strain on this member of staff’s behalf, we were quickly served and dealt with in an entirely professional manner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew85UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at The Ormond for 2 nights for a cycling week end with a friend.
Iain and his team were amazingly friendly, helping us with the bikes, the GPS and the maps.
The hotel and the restaurant are definitely high standards. The family room is massive, warm, comfortable, with a large bathroom. The bar is very nice with the fireplace, and the restaurant serves some very nice meals.
Perfect place to relax and enjoy a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed at the Ormond for a cycling break with my wife, I am a pretty keen cyclist Shelley less so.
THe hotel is wonderfully homely, a lovely bar with open fire, a great selection of beers and wine to compliment an excellent bar a restaurant menu.
The full English was excellent the scrambled eggs, I think the best I have ever had
The room was equally impressive, unique and creative in style with all mod cons, and a lovely comfortable bed.
Ian and his team have worked out some great rides for all ability's , nothing was to much trouble, we ran through the rides and the use of the Garmin next to fire with Ian focusing on every detail trying to find what was right for us. The bikes stored easily by Ian in the evening.
The rides themselves were wonderful thru glorious countryside, along lanes in which we rarely saw a car, and passing thru picture postcard villages, with wonderful little pubs.
Both the Ormond team and the local in the Bar were warm and welcoming.
In short " simply excellent"

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay with a KGB Deal. We had very OTT, quirky but comfy room which made us smile. Black furniture and black wallpaper with huge white roses on one wall and an amazing mirror. The service was really good, friendly and attentive. We enjoyed a light meal on the first night and a more substantial two course meal on night two. The food was very good. The Ormond has a cosy bar with a fire and there is a pleasant dining room. I would recommend it and I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Property: The Ormond at Tetbury
Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing