We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Oxon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

You will have to travel a long way to experience a warmer welcome. The owner was lovely and informative. Had a super room (room 2) with a very comfortable bed. We had requested a room with a bath and got an immediate email agreement that it would be no trouble.
Food was very good - must try the twice baked souffle. Had a drink in the bar afterwards and it was buzzing with a great atmosphere of locals. Being 23 Dec, it was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Very central in this lovely town. Agreed there is no parking but it's just a short walk around the corner and there are bays opposite to drop your luggage if you have lots.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    164
    65
    33
    29
See reviews for
62
265
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I'll be quick. An inn - no matter how charming and well decorated - that lets stag parties stay at the same time as guests seeking a weekend break in charming Tetbury, is either too greedy or too stupid to expect good reviews. The place is lovely, the staff are superb, and the breakfast is top notch. But listening to rugby songs from the downstairs bar until 2am did not exactly place me in the best of spirits for the next day, and an administrative error in their original email (quoted for two nights "total" rather than their intended "cost per night") meant that I paid twice as much as I had been quoted for broken sleep in a well furnished (if somewhat hot) room. Next time I'll go to a chain hotel for less money, and leave the olde-worlde charms to the boys from the RFC.

Room Tip: Avoid room overlooking courtyard if you want a lie-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEntertainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theormondhotel, Owner at The Ormond at Tetbury, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Lovely people, good rooms is where we would like to start with this review and we are delighted that this reviewer appreciated the informal comfort and hospitality that we offer. However, we would like to assure potential guests that in eight years we have never knowingly hosted a stag party and never would. Tetbury isn't a stag party location and the Ormond would have no appeal to this kind of group. This reviewer stayed in September on their own and we have tried to work out which party could possibly have been the issue with this stay, but after such a long time, it is quite difficult to know. We don't allow singing in the Ormond at any time and aside from groups of golfers, who tend to be quite senior, we rarely have groups of men staying with us. As the bar closes at 11pm during the week and midnight at the weekend, we can't understand how the noise continued until 2am. We are obviously sorry that this guest’s sleep was disturbed but we have no knowledge of whether any complaint was received at the time, but if there had been we would have done something about it straight away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here once again for our Xmas shop in Tetbury. we love the friendliness and homely pub of this hotel. The locals and shop owners all drink here so it is buzzy and has a good atmosphere. the manageress has been there for a few years now and is always smiling. Breakfast was first class again. See you soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotlander62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed at The Ormond for one night as they had an excellent offer on. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the food was excellent, especially the venison. Overall this was an enjoyable stay and I will definitely stay again when I am back in the area next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Always difficult for me to sleep well when away from home but The Ormond provided a good nights sleep in a clean spacious room. Excellent breakfast in the morning and good value overall. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights while visiting friends in Tetbury, I was greated with great staff and a warm welcome. I stayed in room 7 and loved the decor, best night sleep ion a hotel for a long time. We ate in the bar both nights as we loved the atmosphere in there and the bar staff and locals were incrediably friendly and helpful. The food was an added bonus I can recomend the Ormond burger. All in all worth every penny and will definatly stay there again when im next in tetbury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We visited Tetbury for a family celebration. I grew up in the town and this b & b is a great place. We stayed Sat night in the top floor family room. A great double bed for us and a nice single for my daughter. The staff were excellent. It was originally a pub I used to go to. The pub is very cosy and well decorated for Christmas. I really loved walking through town in the evening, coming back to the Ormonds to get changed feeled very homely and set up my evening. Great breakfast in the morning. I will stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Property: The Ormond at Tetbury
Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing