We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here - rip off !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't stay here - rip off !”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived at the Ormond, it looks very good from the outside, lots of kerb appeal. The pictures on the website look good also - don't be fooled! There is no parking at this hotel. You can park for free on the local streets for a max of 1hour then you have to move to a local pay and display. A total hassle which we didn't expect.

We were greeted on arrival by a young man who seemed to be in charge. he was rather abrupt and told us in no uncertain terms that check in was not until 3pm. He instructed us to leave our bags (unattended) in the public lounge area. When we did finally come back to check in a young waitress in the bar took us to our room, this was after we had to sign a disclaimer stating that loss of room key would be charged at the cost of £35.

The room itself was meant to be a superior double at a cost of £140 per night. A bit steep we knew but we had expected something special - NOT. The room was situated over the kitchen, overlooking a noisy courtyard/bar area. Noise and smells were pretty bad overall. The room itself was small, shabby with a stained carpet. The bathroom was large but had cracked floor tiles, dirty grout/sealant around the bath and the shower (over the bath) only ran warm water, never hot. The room was compLetely overpriced! We couldn't ask to move because we knew the hotel was full.

Breakfast next morning was chaos, with one member of staff trying to do everything because another member of staff had not turned in. Service was inefficient, we had to keep asking for tea and toast. there was no yoghurt or fruit on offer, glasses and tea pot were dirty. tea and toast eventually arrived cold. Cooked breakfast was okay but nothing seemed to come together to make it a relaxed and pleasant start to the day.

The place appeared to be understaffed. there was never any sign of the owners or any person in charge. The staff were very pleasant and tried to help but always seemed rushed and disorganised.

We had booked for 4 nights but after the first night we managed to book a room across the road at the Close Hotel. We cancelled the Ormond and moved. The Close was half the price. We had a fabulous, spacious, clean room. The decor was contemporary and far superior, the staff were really professional. our room overlooked beautiful gardens - heaven.

Please don't be fooled, the Ormond is overpriced and not up to standard. Despite our experience, we really enjoyed Tetbury. It is a lovely town.

Room Tip: Room 7 was over the kitchen, noisy and smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegolfholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    164
    69
    33
    30
See reviews for
65
268
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I have just come back from the Ormond after a three night stay over the bank holiday weekend. First appearances are good, there is a comfortable reception/ lounge area, not your standard hotel reception. The bar is comfortable with a selection of sofa`s, tables and chairs and a seperate dining area. The bar serves a good range of lagers, cask ales and fine selection of wines. Outside there is plenty of tables and chairs when the weather allows.
We had a superior room with a comfortable bed, plenty of room, wardrobe space and a small en suite.
We ate in the restaurent one night and had an excellent meal. This was supported by a few locals we spoke to when out and about in Tetbury who claim they serve the best food in Tetbury.
Most importantly the staff were very friendly and efficient which makes all the difference.
Only slight negative is that after offloading the car there is no on site parking, so your car has to be left in a public car park 5 minutes walk away at the old station, this is free of charge.

Martyn

Room Tip: Worthwhile paying for a superior room at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a lovely place to stay, it has real English charm. This is right in the middle of the cute little village Tetbury so you're ideally placed for the antique shops and the restaurants. The staff are great, really friendly and helpful - Ian (the owner?) was very very generous with his knowledge of the local area and really friendly, we felt very welcome. The room was clean and cute. Yes the bathroom was a bit old and could do with a renovation but it was fine and charming and we enjoyed staying there. The bar is fabulous, full of locals and with a great atmosphere and the courtyard was fantastic on sunny days. Would we come back? Yes absolutely.

Ps. it is true, as some other reviewers have stated, that there's a funny smell in the hallway... some sort of incense maybe? It adds character really :-)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard have quite a lot of noise in the evenings because smokers from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Skylark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at the Ormond in Tetbury for 3 nights.
The staff were very friendly and excellent to deal with. also I had the opportunity to meet the owner and his wife who clearly know how to run a great hotel, bar and restaurant.
The food here was amazing and the atmosphere in the bar was special.
My room was very clean, tidy and suited my needs.
All and all, I had a great 4 days in Tetbury and will stay in the Ormond next time i'm in town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights last week and it met all my expectations. The room was nice and decorated in a fun and interesting way. The staff were absolutely great, both fun and helpful. It was obvious that they wanted us to enjoy our stay in every possible way. The food was good, both the breakfast as the dinner we had there. The bar is good and it was obvious that the locals think that too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaejaOsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel has standard, standard plus and superior. We paid a little more for the superior, what we expected would be a larger room/bathroom. It was not, it was lovely decorated but small, the bathroom was windowless - and in my opinion overall, no more than standard at its best. Stayed in 3 different hotels this week (on business) and this one was reasonable in regards as staff friendliness and cleanliness with a fairly decent breakfast. But certainly the poorest in regards value for money and comfort.

Room Tip: Check & at time of booking the type of room you prefer or need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishCriag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights following our wedding. The staff were absolutely amazing so friendly and helpful. Recommended local places to eat and visit and nothing seemed too much. On arrival we enjoyed a cream tea and bottle of champagne and then enjoyed the chocolates they had arranged for us in our room. The food was some of the best we have had, all fresh and made on site, the menu changes weekly but if they have the lemon meringue you have to try it! There are some small things that could be improved as mentioned in other reviews but they did not affect the overall enjoyment of staying here. Tetbury itself is a lovely village with several antique shops to potter about in. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKnight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
645 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
554 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
700 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Property: The Ormond at Tetbury
Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing