We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ormond at Tetbury
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We had booked for 2 nights, but unfortunately not well treated and decided to leave after first night when we were then still charged for the second night despite having been led to believe by Mr. Bailey this would not happen. Not advised on booking that restaurant was not available for the second night and clothes had to be hung in the bathroom as no wardrobe. Not a pleasant experience and would not recommend to others, neither will we be looking to return in the future!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBrewer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theormondhotel, Iain Bailey Owner at The Ormond at Tetbury, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
We are sorry to learn that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, as the review wasn't posted until two months afterwards we are trying to establish exactly when you stayed and what the problem was that meant you felt you had to leave.

We know that you stayed in room 7 which is one of the best rooms in the hotel, newly refurbished, beautifully decorated with a huge gold bed, large bathroom and sash windows looking out onto our pretty courtyard. The room is definitely one of the best available in Tetbury and our prices are fair so we are confident that these were not the problem. It is unfortunate that you were unable to eat in the restaurant on the second night, we are very busy for food but we do always prioritise hotel guests, so we must have had a function on that night. We never usually find that this is a problem as many of our guests and local customers prefer to eat in the bar and the menu and service are exactly the same so I'm sorry that this wasn't an acceptable alternative.

You have mentioned in your review that I promised you a refund, but reading your review was the first I knew of this. We are keen to resolve any issues with guests who aren't happy and we know that we offer good rooms, service and food, the 3 cornerstones of an enjoyable hotel experience so we are very disappointed that we didn't get the opportuntiy to address your concerns during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    164
    65
    33
    29
See reviews for
62
265
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

The Ormond was booked by my partner for my 24th birthday retreat. Based right in the middle of Tetbury and 10 mins drive from the Enchaunted Forest. Room was gorgeous (no.9) but COLD even though the radiator was on full blast all night! I could see my own breath!
Price was reasonable, staff very helpful and polite, breakfast was fab and i even got 2nd for free (FE Brekkie!) Large TV and HUGE bed that was mega comfy! Shower only in bathroom (which was on the small side!) but was ok for our 1 nights stay.
Outside gravelled garden area was lovely, cosy busy bar and cute small restaurant was clean and very good for choice of foods. We also went to the local chinese at night and it was FAB!
I was definetly recommend this hotel as a old fashion retreat with all the modern amminities
The Bad Points: Cold Room, Smelt of Damp Throughout the Hotel, Only 1 Local Pub thats Rough!!! Parking was dodgey..you can park outside till 9am then you have to move it to the P&D round the corner
The Good Points: Lovely Bed/Service/Food/Reasonable Prices

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sljordan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My wife & I & friends stayed in 2 superior bedrooms as part of a 2 day New Year package.
The bedrooms were nicely furnished with big bathrooms but ours had the only wardrobe as an open rail in the bathroom, covering the full length mirror.
We enjoyed some good, well presented food, served by friendly and well organized staff.
We were disappointed with the reception / lounge which was cold & smelt, the big open fireplace was devoid of an open fire or anything.
The Hotel is well situated in the centre of Tetbury but with no parking, nearest parking is Pay & Display, free parking 10 mins down a steep hill.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We booked the Ormand in preference to the neighbouring hotel which clearly lives up to its name !
By contrast the hotel made our group very welcome; valet parking the cars whilst we unloaded our luggage into reception following our early arrival. Later that day we returned to find all luggage transfered to our rooms and that upon departure, the next day, the same luggage management was applied in reverse.
The rooms were very nicely furnished with comtempoary art and pictures amd flat screen TVs.
Dinner was excellent, compiled of fresh local produce and breakfast too.
We had two dogs as part of the party which were made welcome and for which the hotel applied a small charge.
A credit to British Tourism well done
Oh by the way we paid nearly half of the rate offered by the "other" hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivertheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2009

Good location right in the centre of Tetbury - handy for Westonbirt, Badminton etc.
Pets were genuinely welcome - well behaved, of course, and were allowed everywhere except the restaurant. I took my dog as I was on a walking tour with a group of friends.
My room was very comfortable and adequately sized, but the bathroom could have used a few improvements - another towel rail and the shower screen leaked, making the floor wet.
No parking at the hotel, but staff were very helpful in finding parking for cars - even offering a valet service !
Food was excellent - good choice and good value, and has recently won several awards.
The hotel was still undergoing some minor renovation, but this did not interfere with the enjoyment of our stay.
Lively bar frequented by locals and visitors alike, made especially busy at lunch time by an "Express Lunch" offer of 2 courses for £10.
Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good base in the area without having to take out a second mortgage.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2009

we stayed here with our two children to visit Westonbirt Arboretum . The hotel is right in the centre of the town which is great and we were welcomed by the owner who couldn't have been more charming, he really went out of his way to settle us in and they had put a box of toys out for the youngest. The room was large with a gorgeous sleigh bed and fantastic wallpaper with flamingoes! All very tastefully decorated with big tv and very generous modern bathroom. Great biscuits too.

We ate on both nights and really enjoyed the food, the menu changed on the second night which we liked, the kids menu wasn't very extensive but the homemade cottage pie was delicious. The very friendly waitress Slyvia was fantastic , so helpful and attentive, she told us that they had just won another award for their food and I can certainly see why. We also had a cream tea which came as part of our package, I wouldn't normally order that but what a treat it was.

Overall I would certainly recommend this place to other travellers, they were so attentive and it's obviously popular as it was busy all through our stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaMOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Hotel room badly in need of redecoration. No towel rail in one! Noisy party outside in courtyard keeping us awake until 1am which ruined our whole weekend.
Definitely would not return and not worth the money.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tetbury
0.1 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory Inn
The Priory Inn
#4 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ormond at Tetbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ormond at Tetbury

Property: The Ormond at Tetbury
Address: 23 Long Street, Tetbury GL8 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tetbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tetbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ormond at Tetbury 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tetbury, The Ormond is a stylish, Cotswold inn within easy reach of Westonbirt Arboretum, Highgrove and the market towns of Cirencester and Stroud, providing an ideal base for discovering this area of outstanding natural beauty with its many picturesque villages. Tetbury, with its array of old buildings and independent boutiques and galleries, is made for exploring, or we can arrange other activities for you. From hiring a classic car to 18 holes of golf, flying lessons or clay pigeon shooting there is plenty to occupy you for a few days away. Dating from the 16th Century, the hotel is a comfortable blend of old and new, creating an atmosphere which is relaxed, informal and individual. With elegant rooms, delicious award-winning food, a friendly bar and exceptional service, the Ormond is the perfect location for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ormond at Tetbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ormond At Tetbury Hotel Tetbury
The Ormond At Tetbury Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing