We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“familly orientated place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zensa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zensa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“familly orientated place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place is a family before being a Bed and Breakfast I was surprised to see than some guest are staying here like they will be at home, it's making you feeling part of the familly, I really enjoyed that. We been lucky enough to have a private concert and a Cd of it, that's was the highlight of the week end.
The food was good and made with love, for Sunday we been treated with fresh pancake, nice surprise, and the supper was simple but really good ( We forgot how a roasted chicken can be nice ;)
Our room was not the nicest one but I was having a balcony as requested so I cannot really complain, they was some flaws but easily corrected when I've asked ( ie no rooibos on the room).
I think that I've fall in love with this place, I will come back again ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belegaer_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    34
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
34
120
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We contact the manager of Zenza lodge at the last minute for our last night before returning to UK and he made us a booking (for six people) as well as finding us a place to eat in Scarborough. Management were helpful and friendly all along, providing us with internet and printing facilities for our check in and boarding passes etc. The long swimming pool is perfect for doing energetic lengths and the plunge pool with its sheltered sunbathing area is ideal for lounging and reading. We definitely intend to spend a great deal more time there next time we go to Cape Town as we love Scarborough and Zenza provides us with a welcome home.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are very well placed and of similar quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I absolutely adored our stay at Zensa and didn't want to leave. The rooms are beautifully decorated and pristine yet cozy. Dinners were excellent and prepared with love. The whole place is really a labour of love. Heijn and Cyrille are so wonderful and attended to our needs while respecting our privacy as well. We will most definitely return and this time stay for more than a week!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aylash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Zenza Lodge as part of a three week tour of the Western Cape. We were made to feel very welcome and were shown around the delightful property to our clean and comfortable accommodation. The public areas of the Lodge were a bit more relaxed than some of the pristine accommodation we had stayed in on our trip, but we enjoyed the experience.
My only small criticism is that no "shot" prices were displayed for the honesty bar (although prices were displayed for bottles of wine). We had three small shots and were quite surprised by the cost, but this would not stop us returning.

Room Tip: We had first floor accommodation that had a side sea view. Very restful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

A lot more bohemian and less 'polished' than we remember from our last stay at Zensa Lodge. However, the vibe was much better which encouraged you to overlook the cracks in the wall, the broken doorknob (we got locked out of the room) and the slightly lower level of service. Barking dogs were also quite disruptive to our toddlers sleep/naps. Very friendly owners and staff who tried their best to accommodate any questions or problems. We love Scarborough and are very glad to have this friendly, warm place to stay. Very child-friendly too and breakfasts were lovely! A lovely communal feel - perfect for a large family vacation or retreat.

Room Tip: Ikaya 1 had no A/C but roomy for a couple and a toddler. Needs a bit of 'sprucing up', every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Ikaya 1 for three nights & on arrival we were welcomed by Hein and shown around the property and facilities.

This property is very laid back, perhaps a little too much for our taste, however the owners who live on the property have created a specific environment which will suit a lot of people. It seems to be very child friendly at least during our visit which in return made it noisy, but this is not intended as a criticism just an observation during our stay.

Evening meals are available taken in a communal area likewise breakfast and there is an honesty bar system for drinks.

Ikaya 1 was simply but nicely decorated and as it is part of Ikaya House also has a small pool which can be reserved for your own use if you are occupying this room, however this is done by means of a rope and therefore does not make it exclusively private.
The main property also has a larger pool.

The room also has a fireplace but no air conditioning, fan, television or fridge however there is a communal area within this house with seating and kitchen were you can leave items in the refrigerator.
There was a kettle with some sachets of coffee in the room but no cups provided however these were available from the communal area.

The bathroom with separate shower and bath was rather "open plan". Whilst we do not dislike this concept, we would have appreciated some more window coverings on the outside door to the pool and the window between the bedroom and bathroom as we felt quite exposed.

The property is within very easy walking distance to the beach. The town of Scarborough itself did not seem to have too many facilities, however there are one or two other options to eat should that be your preference.

When considering a stay here I would certainly review all different types of rooms as they likely all offer a different experience and some may be more private than others.

Overall a nice few days, staff were pleasant, garden surroundings very nice with chickens and various pets running around which made it all feel very homely.

The owners are kind sincere people and we wish them much success with this venture.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

First trip to Zensa this november, stayed a month, will return in january. Warm welcome, fabulous place, simply adored Scarborough, in fact I am tempted to move there! The room was lovely, as was the superb house at Beach Road. Hein and Cyrille make a marvellous team, dinners were superb, with impromptu jazz concerts of world class quality, I felt completely spoiled by all, even zensa the dog! Look forward to more languid days by the pool, and warm balmy nights on the terrace…
Simply can't wait to return!

Room Tip: They are all different! Go regularly and stay in them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isfahan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
10.6 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zensa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zensa Lodge

Property: Zensa Lodge
Address: 534 Egret Street, Scarborough 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zensa Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the border of Cape Point National Reserve and a one minute walk from the beach, Zensa Lodge in Scarborough is the ultimate hideaway around Cape Town. It's a place of relaxation, surrounded by beauty and nature, mountains and oceans. Zensa's 7 guest rooms, all in calming white, are models of simplicity, reflecting the unspoiled nature of the Cape Peninsula. With design furniture on pure white floors, crisp white bed linen, they are suffused with a feeling of comfort and style. Each room features an en-suite bathroom with bath, separate shower and walk-in wardrobe. Watch the sunset from your private terrace or patio. Have an early morning stroll on the pristine beach, take a hike up the mountain or in the National Reserve or cycle along the breathtaking coastline of the Cape. Scarborough and its surrounding beaches are world renowned for wave, wind and kite surfing. Hein Van de Geyn and Cyrille Carreon are happy to welcome you to their little haven and aim to make your stay with them an unforgettable one. The large private garden gives Zensa Lodge a feel of spaciousness and tranquility. The pools, jacuzzi and sauna are there to give you all the opportunities to forget about life's hustle and bustle and get in touch with your inner peace. Music is never far away since Hein and Cyrille are both musicians at heart. Great food and a good glass of wine all add to a pure sense of well being. Children are more than welcome at Zensa Lodge. The trampoline, tree hut and of course the close proximity to the beach make Zensa an ideal spot for children of all ages. Zensa Lodge, an oasis in one of the most special areas in the world. We would love to welcome you and share our wonderful place with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zensa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zensa Lodge Scarborough, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing