We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream like”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scarborough Beach

Scarborough Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Cape of Good Hope and Cape Winelands Day Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dream like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We came out here from Cape Town by car. The closer you get the more beautiful and mystical the landscape gets. Perfect place to refill your energy

Helpful?
1 Thank jalogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scarborough is faire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This eclectic village is worth visting and staying in if you want to get away form the big city. Last year dolphins and seals were surfing the waves into the beach while we were staying there. They were chasing schools of fish and trapping them in between the sand bar and the beach. They had a feeding frenzy for about 30 hrs. The whole community was out - guys catching fish by throwing nets. Black/white - kids. everyone had a great time. My kids caught fish with their bare hands. The seals were swimming between our legs too. A wild sight of nature, will never forget it and the spirit of everyone on the beach that day. Too cool!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank halifaxenergyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect place to pick mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I just love picking mussels each time I am in this beach. Mingling with other people who are also gathering is almost therapeutic. The air is so clean, and you can either take a dip or just sit and marvel at such unspoilt beauty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
363 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“A real gem of a beach - you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

An absolutely lovely, quiet and unspoilt beach that is probably missed by many tourists to Cape Town to their detriment, because of distance but it is well worth a visit. From south Cape Town it is just over an hour and about 40 kms.

An ideal time to visit would be if you had been to Cape Point. On leaving the National Park, turn left on to the M65 and you will come to Scarborough. There is a good sized car park and toilets but no café. It is a wonderful place to relax for a few hours and quietly admire the stunning views with crashing waves and foam.

To the right is Misty Cliffs where literally mist comes down from the cliffs and gives the impression of mist over the beach. On a nice sunny day it is in my view one off the loveliest beach views anywhere in the world.

If you are in the area then do visit - it is well worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We passed by the beach en route to a location shoot. This place and the grand sea view is just awesome in so many levels if you're the type who likes movies, books, cinematography. Make sure to bring wide angle lens for this area. Truly amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Rainchild09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough Beach also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Scarborough Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing