We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last days of honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lords of the Manor

Lords of the Manor
Reserve with OpenTable
Lords of the Manor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$90 - US$105
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Last days of honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for two days at the end on our honeymoon following 10 nights in the Maldives. We had a lovely stay overall. The room was a little small but very comfortable with nice touches like elderflower cordial by the bed. We had tea on our first day which was amazing - and we had it just early enough that I wasn't too full for dinner. We had dinner both nights - one a la carte and one tasting menu. I thought the food was excellent but I felt queasy after the tasting menu as I'd eaten way too much (obviously my fault, not theirs!)

We slept really well as the hotel was really quiet. There were lots of nice corners to have a drink and a chat or do the crossword puzzle and at least one of the rooms downstairs had an open fire.

Very nice stay and suitably romantic!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    40
    26
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“a bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

4 adults and a small child stayed this weekend, staff very friendly and helpful, rooms very pricey and unfortunately tired and in need if some tlc, we went out for evening meal but had breakfast , disappointing for a mitchlin star restaurant, 2 breakfasted asked for runny fried eggs but they were well done, 1 scrabbled egg almost inedible toooo buttery, staff very friendly but needs attention to detail especially at these prices....its not up to the customer to point out the problems the staff should be more on the ball to these details, kitchen being refurbished maybe additional staff training should be undertaken

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rewecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“It could have been great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A great location and an equally splendid setting. The food was nice but not great. The staff, although each individually lovely, didn't seem to communicate and we were ignored at first (because each member of staff thought somebody else was dealing with us), we were asked for our drinks order three times, we were left waiting for our drinks which only arrived shortly before we went to take our table and then we were led off to eat in a tatty side room where we had to ask for clean forks as they were all dirty. All rather underwhelming which is a great shame; it had all the ingredients to be a great meal but it lacked co-ordination, management and 'leadership'.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 904TravellingChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
405 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent food which definitely lives up to it's Michelin star rating, every plate looks and tastes wonderful, I would highly recommend the tasting menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank No1Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea......Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a delightful and relaxing time here. We arrived for Afternoon tea as we walked in it was very welcoming. A gentleman took our coat and showed us into a lovely room where there was a coal fire as it was October when we visited and freezing outside. We were asked what drink we would like with our Afternoon tea and when the Afternoon tea arrived it was lovely ( How it should be ) Finger sandwiches with the crusts cut off. Salmon, Egg and then there were cheese one's. Then the next tier had scones, Jam and clotted cream.etc... then the top tier had homemade cakes, chocolates, Macaroons etc....really beautiful, Delicate food but also very filling. Lovely surrounding inside and outside, lovely staff. I can't say a bad word about our experience here I will definitely be returning here again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lords of the Manor also viewed

 
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds
 
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds
Lower Slaughter, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lords of the Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing